2005 Kia Picanto Reviews

2005 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Distance when acquired6000 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Value for money

Faults:

Crankshaft pulley replaced at 12000 miles under warranty after loud vibration and power loss.

General Comments:

Sharp brakes take getting used to.

Reversed light / washer stalks confusing vs. our other car.

Petrol consumption disappointing as mentioned by others - 42-43 mpg average (used for commuting by 2 adults, 60% on exposed, hilly, fast Scottish dual carriageway.)

Accidental operation of key fob is a nuisance! Operates from pocket inside house.

Otherwise happy.

Use other car for large shopping!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th January, 2007

2005 Kia Picanto GS 999cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 999cc Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance5666 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Excellent car for small family, safe, spacious and fun!

Faults:

The seat belt fastening light failed to go out for a day. Seemed to be because I left the windows open overnight while we had a heavy frost and was caused by condensation. Just took the car for a drive for a couple of hours with the heater on.

Standard tyres handled badly and only lasted 4000 miles.

General Comments:

The picanto has excellent space for two adults in the front and three children or adults in the back.

Very economical around town, not so much on the motorways.

Excellent level of equipment, certainly beats my friends £11,000 Fiesta.

I found the paintwork marks very easily, seeming a little soft when I got the car.

Standard 165, 60 R14 Hancock tyres were cr@p and only lasted 4000 miles on the front. Bought Midrange Kum-ho Solus tyres, improved Handling and Performance.

The best brakes I have ever had on over 50 different makes and models!

I love this car and want to tune that little engine for everything its got.

Top speed on my standard (for now) 999cc engine is 106mph which beats the book speed of 93mph.

Discovered that Super unleaded (99 Octane) fuels greatly improved performance and mpg. Its worth paying extra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2006

2005 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 Gasoline from Singapore

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Gasoline Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance30100 kilometres

Summary:

I probably expected too much in a 1.1 litre car

Faults:

Auto door locking mechanism failed. at 5200km ODO.

General Comments:

This car cannot make it in terms of acceleration throughout the whole operating RPM range.

Handling is terrible. Cornering speed is at 50kph on the max to negotiate a 80deg turn else the car felt like flipping over.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th November, 2006

2005 Kia Picanto LX 1.0 from Finland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Most recent distance13000 kilometres

Summary:

Cheap, cheerful and reliable

Faults:

Occassionally after braking and the car comes to a stand-still, the gearstick needs to go into another gear before selecting first. I'm not 100% sure that it's actually the car at fault here, as it may also be because I tend to change down gear rather lately (if at all) when braking.

This is my only complaint about this car, and for the car's low price I can live with this.

General Comments:

Fantastic brakes.

Plenty of storage room when the rear seats are lowered.

Fuel economy figures are roughly what the manufacturer states, despite some other negative reviews that I've read.

Plenty of inside room.

I drive roughly 110Km per weekday and have had no major problems.

At the time of buying the Picanto, it had only been available in Finland for roughly nine months and I hadn't seen any on the roads, which I was a little cautious about. But, after test driving it, I was quite pleased.

At the time of writing, I have been driving this car through three months of severe winter weather (average temperature -7c) and have had no problems whatsoever. However, I do have an engine block warmer installed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

9th Jan 2006, 06:55

I have found the gearbox to be a bit stiff too, and also have to try to slot into another gear, particularly when going for reverse. I think its just because it's a new gearbox (my car has only covered about 1000 miles so far) but will no doubt loosen up.

2005 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance175 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

I think this is an excellent town car

Faults:

Nothing as of yet, it is brand new after all. It is a new purchase, mainly for my wife as it is purely for city work which so far its perfect for.

General Comments:

The first thing you notice is the dash layout is very conventional and easy to use. A lot of modern city cars have quite futuristic cabins (Aygo, C1, etc) but the Kia interior looks like one from a "normal" car from a standard european manufacturer.

Cabin is quite roomy for two adults and two children, but boot space is non existent. It fits a standard fold up pushchair though which is all we need it for. Seats are comfortable, and you seem to sit quite high up which actually makes you feel quite safe, as if you are in a much larger vehicle which appeals to me.

Seats good, visibility excellent, interior well assembled (although some trims do feel a bit cheap) but I can't fault the external finish.

Some reviews do state that this car struggles on the motorway, but I drove it 120 miles on the motorway and it didn't feel particularly weak or slow. Quite stable too, although heavy crosswinds moved it around a little as you'd expect from a tall, narrow vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2005

8th Aug 2006, 06:30

Me again. Had the car for 9 months now, still performing well. It has picked up a few scratches, but luckily they aren't deep so they should polish out or hopefully respond to some colour magic wax. One thing though - many people have commented on not being able to get anywhere near Kia's fuel economy figures. I have managed to break 40mpg (just) on one occasion, but the usual is closer to 34mpg which is poor. I have found though that if you run the car on super unleaded (97 octane or higher) you get better performance and economy so its worth hunting it down. Tesco 99 octane is just superb. Other than that, the rest of the car is just fine, nothing has fallen off or broken and the air con has been absolutely brilliant in the recent hot weather we have had in the UK. Still more than happy to thoroughly recommend this car.

2005 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles

Summary:

Excellent car

Faults:

On one occassion the indicators stopped working all together, no sound or function, but corrected its self when I turned the engine off and started again.

General Comments:

Overall a great little car and having driven many other makes the Kia Picanto is in a class of its own, shame about the front grill, but the overall shape is far more modern than previous models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2005

2005 Kia Picanto Deluxe 1.1 cc from Indonesia

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 cc Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres

Summary:

Great and excellent car

General Comments:

I supposed to write this review before I wrote on the "Spark".

As from my previous comment on spark I mentioned about the place in Indonesia that I lived where the street is quite narrow so I did purchased my "Spark" selling this away.

Picanto gives great value for money and it is an extremely reliable car. I used this car for approx 4 months WITHOUT any fault with the engine and the car itself.

The shape of the exterior is fine, but only the back of the car is too wide and too short for the length.

If they upgrade this car again I probably will be thinking of buying this one again, but with the same price if possible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2005

2005 Kia Picanto LX 1.1 from Ecuador

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance200 kilometres

Summary:

Great car, very attractive look

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Great car. Good quality interior, it does not look as plastic as you might have thought of, for the price you paid. Great handling engine, strong and reliable in step hills. Fuel consumption 11.4 KM per galon... not impressive, but OK considering I would usually drive with AC.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2005

1st May 2005, 12:19

Surely the petrol consumption shown is incorrect. Even a Rolls Royce will give beeter than 11.4 km per gallon.

Dev.

2nd May 2005, 11:53

I think maybe they meant litre not gallon. Am I right?

17th May 2005, 01:06

I hope the Korea side will expedite in the delivery as I understand from my dealers there are very long queue for this car.

5th Sep 2005, 17:53

The fuel consumption of my picanto is 16km per liter.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews