1996 Kia Pride Reviews

1996 Kia Pride LX 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired69183 miles
Most recent distance69690 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

A fantastic little car, and I definitely would buy another one

Faults:

So far nothing major. Just flew through its MOT.

General Comments:

For a cheap car, it's been the best car I've ever owned. Better than my 1995 Clio. It's got a very powerful 1.3 multipoint injection engine and is extremely roomy inside. The steering is extremely light considering no power steering.

Overall it's a fantastic little car. Would recommend to anyone!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2009

1996 Kia Pride LX 1.3 petrol from Philippines

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance644389 kilometres

Summary:

Have a pride and you will find it's better side

Faults:

Radiator cap.

Air filter.

Suspension.

Brake pads.

Clutch.

Timing belt.

Exhaust. I have replaced all three parts twice.

Insulations.

General Comments:

For the class of this car, it is powerful.

Too light. You will feel your are flying especially at high speeds and its suspension is too soft.

The dashboard is noisy when at high speed.

The engine roars loud enough for this class.

Air-con is strong, but eats the power for revolving tires.

Comfortable to ride; just volume up your radio.

It is still functioning after being stocked for 4 yrs. I have just replaced the spark plug.

It is fuel economical; I've just spent 2,450 Philippine peso for a full tank.

I've just replaced the brake lights, headlights, grilles in GTX version just for looks.

If you have Borla exhaust, you will have additional 10 hp. Before, it was 65; after, it was 73-75.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2007

28th Sep 2008, 08:00

Just curious, what is a BORLA exhaust? Tnx.

18th Apr 2011, 05:33

I have a Kia Pride Beta 2003. I am the 3rd owner.

My problem right now is that the engine went off every time I change gear. Before the condition was so smooth, but as the clutch was readjusted, trouble come along affecting the acceleration, going so high and when running and stopping in a crossing the engine went off.

The air con is functioning. My biggest problem is the timing and clutch. It has newly changed oil, the carburetor is newly clean but still high minor. Any idea to solve my problem?

23rd Jul 2011, 18:20

Check your fuel filter system. Fuel pump, filters, lines, EGR on TBI. The timing belt could have jumped or slid; that makes the timing off when shifting gears. It starts and runs though, but is rough and dies when load is present. Hope this helps

1996 Kia Pride LX 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles

Summary:

A fantastic first car - thoroughly recommended

Faults:

No known problems with the car whilst I have owned it, generally few problems in its history - passed it's MOT on February 1st with a clean sweep at 11 years old!

General Comments:

Excellent all round view, for example whilst parking.

Slow to accelerate, but once it gets going it's quite a nippy little car.

Steering quite light despite lack of power steering.

Overall a lovely little car - I've certainly fallen in love with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2007

1996 Kia Pride 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7500 miles
Most recent distance8100 miles
Previous carDaihatsu Charade

Summary:

A perfect reliable first car

Faults:

The car has been more or less completely faultless, but then again I've only had it a few months, so I'll just have to see if it develops any faults. Doubt it though.

General Comments:

The KIA Pride is hardly built for power or speed, but nevertheless it is economical and extremely reliable.

It's also great fun to drive and you'd be surprised at how much space it has for a small car.

In general I'd recommend the KIA Pride to anybody who needs a fun small car that's as durable as pre-cast concrete.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th August, 2004

6th Sep 2004, 04:08

I test-drove a KIA Pride today. Not knowing too much about any type of vehicle, I was amazed to find out that the vehicle I was driving was a 13.00 without power steering. The steering was so easy and I would've thought that I was driving a 16.00 instead of a 13.00. Thumbs up for anybody thinking of buying a KIA!!

10th Dec 2004, 15:27

I agree about the amount of space this car has, I'm a 25 stone 6 foot tall weight lifter and compared to my old VW Polo this car is a limousine.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 4 reviews