2005 Kia Rio 1.6 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

Better pay more and buy something better

Faults:

Engine blew at 67000 miles. Not covered under warranty because of a second owner. Very expensive and hard to find a replacement engine. Hard to understand why the original owner has a 100000 miles warranty, but second only 60000 miles.

According to the mechanic's findings, the crank shaft broke and damaged the whole engine.

General Comments:

Manufacturer not very friendly to the car owners. Poor design or built engine. Car not worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th December, 2008

2005 Kia Rio from North America

Summary:

The car really is a disaster waiting to happen

Faults:

I have a 2005 KIA Rio that recently stalled while turning a corner at about 25 mph. Had it towed to a Kia dealership, where they tell me the timing belt broke causing the engine to seize. Apparently this is a problem for a lot of people after reading these reviews. Can't get KIA to fix it, the extended warranty won't fix it, and I can't afford the $5000 to fix it.

I owe $8600 on the car that when running was only worth about $3700, so basically, I'm screwed. I've read 100's of complaints on the Internet with this same problem, and I believe that KIA should be held accountable for this.

I am looking into a Class Action lawsuit and am looking for others to join in. If you want to join, email me at srlarse@aol.com. Let's band together and fix this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th October, 2008

19th Oct 2008, 13:45

Well I have a 2004 KIA Rio myself... and it ran great... I bought it at 59044 miles... assuming (my mistake) that all proper maintenance had been done and that it was in ready to go shape..

At 92000 miles the timing belt stretched while I was traveling at 65 on a busy freeway... three crunching bangs and the engine seized... and I barely made it to the side of the road.

The dealer won't fix it... the extended warranty won't cover it... because in California the timing belt should have been changed at 90,000 miles instead of the 60,000 that the book recommends...

I too owe more than it is worth, and I too am screwed. It would have been better if a truck had hit me; at least then the insurance company would have totaled the car.

13th Feb 2010, 16:58

Going 92000 miles on a timing belt is a accident waiting to happen any minute. Would never go past 60000 myself whatever the book says. My Skoda specs 110000 as limit. Not going to test that one...

14th Feb 2010, 12:41

What's this person planning on suing for? The timing belt should have been changed at 60,000 miles. It's entirely their fault that it broke.

2005 Kia Rio 1.4 petrol from Trinidad and Tobago

Summary:

Great little car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Adequate acceleration.

Good handling.

I am 6'3" and I have lots of room behind the wheel, and the seats are extremely comfortable.

The ride can be a little bumpy sometimes, but is otherwise very good.

The stereo is excellent, and so is the air conditioning. The ashtray is in a funny place, and one has to take one's eyes of the road to flick ash.

It appears that Kia thought out this car very carefully, because everything seems to be so convenient...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2006

2005 Kia Rio LX 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Would never buy another one

Faults:

Car would not change gear until 5,500 revs reached.

Petrol consumption - car very thirsty and did not perform to manufacturers figures.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable.

Has plenty of leg room - especially for a tall passenger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th February, 2006

2005 Kia Rio from North America

Summary:

Shop other models even if it cost a bit more...Kia warranty is misleading

Faults:

My husband noticed issues at about 11,000 miles, but was unsure if it was "typical" car noise. By 14,000 miles the clutch was gone. Much to our surprise it was not covered under the warranty, which was verbally told to us at purchase that it was "bumper to bumper" at purchase (with the exception of oil changes and brakes). $800 repair.

General Comments:

This is a bare-bones car that came with no radio, manual transmission, no air, etc. With that in mind the only real issue for me is that it does not have power steering and it is exceedingly difficult for me to shift and turn at the same time. This is not an issue for my stronger husband. It is also uncomfortable for any type of drive that involves a distance. My commute is about 50 minutes and that is about the most I can take the discomfort. That aside, we bought it for an economical commuter car and aside from the clutch issue it has served it's purpose. I would not, however, buy this vehicle again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd December, 2005

9th Jun 2006, 22:31

Does anybody read the warranty book that comes with the car? It calls out everything that is covered and not. Clutch is a normal wear item and while you may not have abused it, the dealer does not know that and has to follow the warranty outline.

I see a lot of posts here of ignorant people thinking warranties cover even normal maintenace items like brakes and oil changes and then complain they got a lemon.

As for the "verbal" that is your fault for not getting it in writing. Care salesman are like lawyers in that they will lie and tell you anything they want to make the sale.

2005 Kia Rio Cinco 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car - it's been very reliable.

General Comments:

I love this car. It drives and rides great - the quality of the interior and exterior are up to Toyota standards.

No problems with acceleration - great space in the hatch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th October, 2005

2005 Kia Rio from North America

Summary:

Very reliable for city driving

Faults:

As yet I have not experienced any difficulty with the car.

----------

The seats tend to be a little stiff for long drives (over 100km.)

--------------

General Comments:

The car is very quick off the start as it is a manual transmission. I do short distance driving to and from work and the car is very reliable for this.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2005

2005 Kia Rio Sedan from North America

Summary:

Reliable Vehicle Bumpy Ride Cheap and Good on Gas

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Reliable Vehicle Bumpy Ride Cheap and Good on Gas 10$ get your everywhere!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th June, 2005

2005 Kia Rio from North America

Summary:

Good, small budget car; does its job!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

A good budget car. I got this because I needed something to drive and I didn't have a lot of money. It's not as sound-proof as my Mercury Sable and the standard features are a slight downgrade (4 cylinder vs. 6 cylinder, etc.) But It's doing its job; getting me to and from wherever I need to go.

Living in the suburbs and commuting to city areas, it's great for squeezing into parking spaces where people over-park and still having ample room. It's also very cold here right now- 11 degrees to be exact. The car heats up quickly and has wonderful fuel economy; I filled up the tank for under $20 and went nearly 300 miles, mostly hwy.

Summary; if you're looking for the car of a lifetime, pass on this one. But! If you need a commute car and aren't extremely big or tall, want to save money- it may be a good fit. :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 21st January, 2005