1998 Kia Sephia Reviews - Page 3 of 10

1998 Kia Sephia 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

The only major things that happened to my car were that one of my windows broke and my brake line is messed up. Other than that, for the price I got it, it's runs O.K..

General Comments:

This is perfect car for a new driver. It's nothing great or exciting, but it's a alright car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th January, 2006

1998 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.6 / 10
Distance when acquired43600 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles

Summary:

I will never buy KIA anymore!Ever!

Faults:

Transmission got broken at 44, 000 miles.

Seats are not that comfortable.

Wheels not aligned well.

General Comments:

Since I was on tight budget and I'm a new driver, I figured a used car, but reliable one would be nice... but I was wrong on this car... it was a hell driving this car!!Bought the car at 43, 600 miles and transmission got broken (as per mechanic) at 44000 miles.. with really bad noise. It was good at the first week, then the rest was hell. And never drive on the rain, because brakes are of totally no use, wheels slip so bad...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

12th Jul 2006, 17:22

I agree. I will never buy another Kia again. I also bought a 1998 Sephia, brand new. The rack and pinion steering busted in half. (never heard of that before.) Short in the starting wiring system. Brakes were of no use when I hit a car going 25 mile per hour in the rain. The front end did hold up pretty well in the accident though. Does not start in cold weather. When it does, it takes 2 or 3 times to crank the engine. The engine sounds like is is going to crack and the whole car shakes. Put more money into this car over the years than carter has pills. Piece of junk!!!

1998 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

My KIA rocks!

Faults:

I have had a few minor problems with my Sephia, but they are not problems I would not expect from a 'better' car.

General Comments:

I love my KIA. People give them a bad rep because they are cheap cars. My KIA is 7 years old and runs like new.

People apparently don't realize that they have to take care of their car! You need to take it to a mechanic, whether it is a KIA or a BMW!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2005

1998 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10

Faults:

My best friend owns a Kia Sephia 98. She is forever having problems with this car. As I speak, the car is parked in front of her apartment with a bad clutch. Literally, every month something goes wrong with this car, and it's not always major problem. For instance, her glove compartment door fell off, her passenger door jambs often, and she has to get in her car through the passenger door. The passenger door window will not stay up, so she has stuffed cardboard around the window to keep it from sliding down. She can't afford to fix these problems because of limited funds, which is why she bought an inexpensive car in the first place. So I guess the saying is right that sometimes you get what you pay for! The next time I buy a car, I will definitely speed by the dealer who specializes in selling this make and model car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th April, 2005

1998 Kia Sephia from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Money Pit

Faults:

Transmission dropped before 60,000 miles. Various recalls. Left rear wheel broke off (luckily while parked) at 85,000. Timing slipped (without any break in the timing belt) at 98,000, destroying the entire engine. Parts would break off the car seemingly every five thousand miles, starting with the plastic interior.

General Comments:

Although cheap, and decent mileage, you will more than pay for the car in repair costs. Should have had the 100K warranty a year earlier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th March, 2005

20th Nov 2009, 09:13

My 98 Kia Sephia may have slipped timing, but hey it's my second car, and I find it to be a good car...

1998 Kia Sephia Base 1.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance188000 miles
Previous carMazda Protege

Summary:

Deserves a better reputation

Faults:

Check engine light came on several times, It would stay for few days and goes alone, The mechanic failed to identify the problem.

Noisy, limited Comfort.

General Comments:

I needed an expensve car badly, and the price was very attractive. I thought that this car will not live more than few months, but now I feel that I was wrong,

The car is reliable, started every day in below zero temperature,

Economic: gas mileage and maintenance are very reasonable

Good acceleration.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th February, 2005

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews