1998 Kia Sephia Reviews - Page 10 of 10

1998 Kia Sephia Sedan Base model from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Base model Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired2000 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This is the worst car I have ever owned and would not recommend it

Faults:

Timing belt before maintenance requirements.

Tensioner.

Exhaust front to back once.

Flange gasket.

Valve gasket three times.

Muffler, separate from previous exhaust repairs.

Catalytic converter, also separate from previous exhaust repairs.

Cam shaft gasket.

Brake pads and rotors at 4000 miles.

Heater.

Interior light.

Alternator.

Starter.

Battery.

Plugs and wires at just 10,000 miles.

Right rear door switch.

Steering lock.

Constant oil leaks due to oil filter expansion in cold weather.

Dash has broken in three places.

General Comments:

This car is a genuine lemon, and as I have read from many reviews... most Kias are.

I would not recommend this car to anyone.

If you are having Kia problems, please contact me immediately at rsampson@mtaonline.com

I am just frustrated to tears with this vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

1998 Kia Sephia LS with Power Package 1.8 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired210 miles
Most recent distance25777 miles
Previous carGeo Prizm

Summary:

A low priced car with low rate quality

Faults:

I have had lots and lots of recalls on my 1998 Kia Sephia.

The power window switches in the rear do not work at all, can only be downed by driver.

The transmission slips at high speeds and can't find the right gear.

The seats are thinning and the carpet is just trash.

General Comments:

This car is not a good value.

Lots, if not too many recalls.

The lowest price, means lowest quality.

The cabin is cavernous.

The revy engine is fun too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th April, 2001

28th Aug 2001, 10:03

I just bought a Kia Sephia LS, and it seems to be working fine.

After reading these comments, I would like to know why you people didn't get a warranty with your car and why you didn't do any research about the car before you bought one.

The internet has lemon checks. You could have done a lemon check before you bought the car, plus you could have gotten a warranty.

STOP COMPLAINING!! IT IS YOUR OWN FAULT.

1998 Kia Sephia Base from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance37000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Kia is a piece of worthless lemon

Faults:

Fuel Tank does not read gas correctly. Did not allow you to fill up tank.

Seats are sewn real bad.

Brakes have to be changed every 6 months... and the rotors have to be worked on as well and have been replaced twice in two years.

Air conditioning works on occasions... whenever the hell it feels like.

The car just runs horrible!!

Air conditioning vents are falling behind the dashboard on their own.

The car leaks when it rains.

The car depreciates reaaalll fast.

General Comments:

This car is a piece of junk... do not waste your time, money or energy on any Kia's and spend 2 thousand more on a Toyota or Honda, and get your money monies worth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

13th Mar 2001, 08:48

Daughter has this Kia Sephia 2000... has constantly been in the shop.

Fuel part replaced 3 times... I am seeking a lawyer for her at this time.

Crown Motors in Tyler Texas refuses to reimburse us for our loss of 15,000 dollars and told us we had to get it from KIA... they treat her like nobody... that is until I GET ON THE PHONE with them... then they replace a part, pat her on her head and send her on her way... the part never works and she is back in the shop in 2 weeks... when we bought the car they said she could get a loner should we have to take the car in for repair... when the time came... within 3 months of purchase I might add... they refused to give her a loaner saying she is too young... although 2 weeks prior the salesman... who is no longer with them... gave her a loaner car for a day... while she was getting her first service in... they are incompetent dealers and the car itself is a piece of crap! Idles poorly... stalls... loses fuel... runs terrible... makes terrible noises... poor performance... just a bad lemon all around!!

7th Jun 2001, 02:11

I don't blame Kia or Daewoo or any other crap makers. I was on a budget when I was looking for my first vehicle. I got myself a Chevy S-10 with some options. I paid $10,000 back in the day. It would be $12000 now. You people wanted good quality, good price and good value. If that was all possible, other companies would be making it too. Toast them, collect the insurance and get a real car.

1998 Kia Sephia LS 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Never, ever buy one!!!!!

Faults:

Rear main seal has gone out twice.

Brake pads, shoes and rotors have had to be replaced every 3-5 thousand miles.

Relay switch went out.

All power windows went out.

Radio and CD player stay hot to touch.

Battery died within the first year.

Has just quit running for no apparent reason six times.

General Comments:

This is the biggest lemon that I have ever owned... My first new car and it is a piece of crap...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd December, 2000

Average review marks: 5.3 / 10, based on 40 reviews