2000 Kia Shuma GS 1.8DOHC from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

This Car Represents Very Good Value for Money

Faults:

Pinch Welds on Front Muffler came apart slightly, and was replaced under warranty with no fuss.

Clutch Release Bearing was replaced as it was making small "dry" noise. This was pointed out to me by Servicing Dealer at time of service and I wasn't even aware of it!

General Comments:

This Car is a Gem, it represents Excellent value for money as it has Power Windows (all round), electric mirrors, power steering, electric aerial, central locking and Immobiliser.

I find the seats very comfortable and interior space is incredible and versatile.

The car came standard with a CD player and six Speakers (4 Front, 2 Rear) that are of very good quality.

I have added front and rear spoilers and 15" x 6 and a half inch Alloy Wheels, fitted with Bridgestone Potenza Tyres.

I have also lowered it by 1 and a half inches all round by using harder springs. This has improved the handling a good deal and feels much more stable when cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th May, 2002

14th Jun 2003, 07:19

UPDATE: June14 2003 Car has now done 43000 kms and still is trouble free. I have now fitted Custom Made Extractors and Sports Exhaust System, which has given me another 10kw in power and the pick up in engine response is noticeable. I also seem to be getting better fuel economy (when I don't put the foot down... of course!). This car seems to surprise many people at the lights, they don't realise what a sleeper this little KIA is!!

22nd Jul 2004, 06:55

UPDATE July 22 2004. Car has now done 62,300kms and nothing much to report on. One thing I may have to look into is the O2 Sensor, it may not be working quite at the right temperature (due to where it has been relocated) since I had the extractors fitted. I find the car is much happier running on Premium Unleaded now and the Engine Response is so much more noticeable. I still enjoy driving my SHUMA around as it so easy and comfortable.

2000 Kia Shuma LS 1.5 from Macau

Summary:

Good value

Faults:

Engine very noisy when cold, some knocking or tapping noise like from valves.

Right rear vision loose (the mirror itself, not the shell)

Internal plastic fitting comes off from roof.

Left rear windows rubber seal shape changed (when I got the car)

Strange noise like the sound "Add" when press the paddle in deep.

Suspension strange noise like the sound "Add" when go through uneven roads.

Instrument panel clear plastic cracked by itself in summer hot days.

Air conditioner fuse like parts (The one in the box at the engine room) out of order, needs to be replaced.

Steering wheel not straight the first day when I just got the car from the dealer.

General Comments:

Too many problems and faults, although they are not major. But still waste owners a lot of valuable time.

It's good in terms of value, but annoy by a lot of minor problems.

Hope Kia can improve the quality of parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th July, 2001

8th Jun 2005, 13:53

Kia shuma2 is a very good car to drive in the winter in sweden.

1999 Kia Shuma LS 1.5 from Malta

Summary:

Highly recommended if you are looking for a big car at a low price

Faults:

Problems in the engine electrics at 15,000 miles. Engine performance became erratic.

Rear wind screen wash jets not functioning.

General Comments:

Very comfortable interior providing the driver and passengers with ample leg-room. Seats are comfortable and provide good support.

Engine is slightly under-powered for this size of car. Lack of power is especially felt when A/C is on.

Fuel consumption is average. If driven carefully can manage up to 40 miles per gallon.

Good built quality and finishings. However, the dashboard plasic feels cheap.

Very comfortable ride and good road handling.

Huge luggage space. You have to see it to believe it!

A pity that the radio antenna is manually operated considering that even the mirrors are electrically adjusted.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

2001 Kia Shuma S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good looks, good value

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Very good value. The only drawback is reverse parking, the rear view is poor.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2001

2000 Kia Shuma SX 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I bought the car because it was cheap. I suppose I wasn't expecting much but it has been a revelation. Excellent build quality (no rattles or squeaks). A stylish and comfortable car. The auto is bit underpowered on inclines and the engine can sound unrefined if pushed. Fuel consumption is OK for a car this size with auto (35 mpg). Most people can't believe it's a Kia!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th February, 2000