2006 Kia Sorento Reviews

2006 Kia Sorento EX from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 kilometres
Most recent distance96000 kilometres
Previous carAcura 1.7 EL

Summary:

Excellent!

Faults:

There was no problem at in 4 years, except it indicates a door is open when turning corners at outside temperatures below -20C.

General Comments:

Never owned Kia before, we tried it and loved it.

Service is quick and cheap.

I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2010

2006 Kia Sorento LX from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123 miles
Most recent distance19000 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

The best vehicle a single parent could get

Faults:

The only problems I've had is there is a pull out arm rest in the back seat that has a piece of cloth that you use to pull it out, and that broke 1 week after I got the truck. Had it fixed at the dealership - they had to replace that whole section to fix it. It broke again about 3 months ago, and I haven't had the time to get it fixed again.

The other thing is a popping noise on the outside of the truck when I take off or go around corners. I took it to the dealership, and they said the running boards had to be adjusted, but they only cover that adjustment up until 12,000 miles, and it was at 17,000 so they wanted to charge me $45 to "adjust" the running boards. I told them no thanks.

General Comments:

I love everything about this truck, and would buy another one for sure!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2007

2006 Kia Sorento LX from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carKia Sorento

Faults:

This is my second KIA we have owned. Both were Sorentos. My first one was bought in 2003. We were totally happy with the performance and comfort of the 2003 Sorento.

However we did have problems with burned out lights... i.e. head lights, tail lights... we were constantly changing these bulbs out for some reason.

The second Sorento was bought just last year (2006)... So far we had no problems with this model. I am personally amazed with the quickness and agility of the Sorento.

Will I own another KIA? Definitely yes... in fact we have given some thought to buying an Amanti as a second vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2007

2006 Kia Sorento EX 2.5 TDI from Turkey

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 TDI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance25000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Pathfinder

Summary:

It's a great car and SUV to own

Faults:

There are no problems or faults with the car so far.

General Comments:

The KIA is a scary move after Pathfinder. But there has been nothing wrong so far with it. Only the beige seats and the beige front console got a bit dirty. So get the gray interior if you will get one of these Sorentos. The squeks of the front chairs can get on my nerves sometimes. But I realised that it only does it when all the seats are emptly. Driving the car in mud, snow and on the field is cool.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2007

2006 Kia Sorento LX 3.5 Liter V6 3.5 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.5 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance4000 miles
Previous carFord station wagon - don't even want to know

Summary:

LX vehicle with many features

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Spent about 400 dollars in performance items, bought Secret R air intake, throttle body spacer and a metal piece that goes inside the tubing that creates a vortec (Not tornado). In all, I was getting about 20 to the gallon before, now with all the upgrades, I am ranging 24 to almost 27 a gallon. I also noticed an increase power and better throttle response. The annoying thing is I hear a whistle, swirling sound- mainly because of the throttle body Spacer that is creating a swirling wind motion. Though, when it comes to stepping on the gas pedal to the floor and having the upgrades, you have one nasty, angry, mad, furious, loud engine wanting to rip through anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2007

19th Feb 2007, 13:14

Same thing, though I bought the K&N air intake kit instead. I am getting about 28 MPG with a flow master exhaust system that was also added. Thinking about getting a body throttle body spacer. Was it hard to install?

6th Mar 2007, 13:05

I find it hard to believe your getting 28 MPG for a SUV with a V6 engine. I put in a KN filter back in 06 of July, and I range 20 to 22 MPG.

Average review marks: 9.4 / 10, based on 5 reviews