2007 Kia Spectra Reviews

2007 Kia Spectra 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance52000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good so far

Faults:

A piece of plastic from the seat assembly under the driver seat broke off. Didn't effect the moving of the seat in anyway, but I took it to the dealership and they replaced it.

General Comments:

Good reliable car thus far.

Good on gas, although not as good as my Civic, but it has a nicer interior.

Tires are so so, would recommend replacing them when you get the chance.

If you're a taller person like myself, you might find your legs cramping up on a long road trip. I have the driver seat as far back as it goes, but I could use a little more leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2009

2007 Kia Spectra EX from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

Great little commuter car

Faults:

The only issues this car has had was a piece of weatherstripping came loose and the door pull cracked. The dealer fixed these without a question under warranty.

General Comments:

Overall it's a nice little car. It's not up to the level of Honda or Toyota, but if you factor in price I'd say they were about equal.

If you want a cheap reliable car to drive, you should check it out, you might like it.

The factory tires are awful, so look into replacing them soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2008

14th Jan 2009, 08:34

I'm the original poster and wanted to clarify some of the low marks. The comfort level is good according to the wife, but I'm 6'2", around 240 pounds with a bad back and messed up leg. I was just looking at it from my point of view.

The more that this car gets broken in, the more I like it.

2007 Kia Spectra 4.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired24 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Breeze

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Light colored seats show the littlest bit of dirt. The fabric seems to attract it.

General Comments:

This car is very reliable and a smooth ride. The back seat is bigger than it looks. Three little ones easily sit in the back. A spectra is also great on gas although it doesn't have much power to it. So if you're looking to pass someone make sure you have plenty of distance. Otherwise except for that and the seats being slightly uncomfortable on a long ride, it's a great little car. Oh, and fyi my husband is 6'3" and can drive it comfortably!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2008

2007 Kia Spectra LX 2.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance2037 miles
Previous carDodge Magnum

Summary:

So far, this is a low cost, competitive vehicle for your everyday driver

Faults:

The only complaint that I have about the car is that when I am driving on the interstate at speeds above 65 or 70 there is a vibration in the steering wheel.

General Comments:

This car I purchased Labor Day weekend 2007. I went to the dealership and was looking at the KIA Rio. For a thousand or so more dollars I was really interested in the Spectra. I took the vehicle for a test drive and was highly impressed with the way the vehicle handled and how much power the little four cylinder really had. In my previous civics the mountain I climb for work everyday I always needed to downshift... in this Spectra I can just keep it in fifth gear and it just keeps on going like a tank.

At first glance of the car I figured it would feel cramped or small on the inside. I was awfully surprised on how roomy the interior actually is. This four door sedan is very roomy (for a smaller vehicle) and has some nice features. The driver seat does have a six way adjust which is very nice. It does come with a tilt steering wheel, but I would have liked a telescopic wheel instead. CD player is standard with the auxiliary port ready to hook up a Zune or Ipod to play. The six speaker stereo sounds good, but to me could always be better.

Trunk space is a decent size, the bad part is the vehicle does not have gas shocks to raise the trunk. It has those big hinges that crush items if they are packed too tightly in the car. To me personally, this is not a problem.

Underneath the hood it is very easy to see all items and work on later after the 100,000 mile warranty expires. I went ahead and opted for the 10 year 100,000 mile bumper to bumper warranty for very little extra. I believe this will be well worth it.

All in all I think this is a great vehicle for what it is. I compared the Nissan Versa, Chevrolet Aveo, Toyota Corolla, Dodge Caliber, and the Hyundai Accent. Even though the KIA name brand is not as well known as these others, I could not see a reason to pay more for the name. You can talk about resale value, but I am looking at this as a long term investment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th September, 2007

11th Mar 2008, 16:16

The Spectra just turned 15,000 miles. I have not had to do anything to the car at all. I have been doing synthetic oil changes every five thousand miles and that has been it. Car runs just as good as it did brand new!

15th May 2008, 07:29

I have a 2008 Kia spectra with only 400miles on it and the steering shakes at 60-70 mph. Dealer said they can't feel it.

4th Jun 2008, 11:29

I have an 08 KIA Spectra as well, and I love the thing! Amazing mileage for the performance. I haven't noticed any wheel shake at all, maybe your tires are just out of balance or something. It's something the dealer could easily have forgotten, and a couple of grams of weight makes all the difference on the interstate. :) Also, the factory tires suck. Bad. That might have something to do with it too. I don't expect to get more than 30,000 miles out of these tires, they just seem so cheap... but, given the price and the quality of the car, I guess it's forgivable.

4th Nov 2009, 13:05

The car now has 72,000 miles on the it. The original tires wore out at 40,000 and were replaced with BF Goodrich. The steering wheel vibration has not changed. Tires are rotated and balanced every other oil change. Other than that, the car runs flawlessly.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 4 reviews