1st Sep 2006, 18:35

Sorry, but if KIA builds some 'very high quality' vehicles, how come those vehicles rarely find their way out of the factory? Are they reserved for the KIA employees? You don't have to read too many of the KIA reviews here to get an overall impression that the quality leaves something to be desired.

17th Nov 2006, 19:59

I have to say that after working at both a Honda/Nissan/Mitsubishi/Pontiac/GM dealership and a KIA/Mazda/Cadillac/Jeep/Chrysler dealership, the standings for KIA in my opinion improved. I thought little of KIA before working and evolving myself with their product. The Sportage is an excellent entry (key word 'entry') level SUV. You get an amazing warranty, decent towing capability and the fact that it is built on a 'car' chassy vs the larger McPherson which increases the turning radius is fantastic. KIA definitely stepped up in 2005 with the re-release of the Sportage. After all the customer 'compliant' KIA revamped it. All things considered this vehicle is a winner. With two engine sizes and interior packages it is priced right.

The first few miles and so called 'imperfections' work their way out. The steering is tighter than that of the Honda Pilot, Toyota 4Runner, and GM Envoy; due to its smaller chassy. The independent suspension also has something to do with this as well. Which also gives it more ability to handle the 'rough' spots with less annoyance to those in the cab.

But to each their own opinion... Like I said I have worked for several different car companies and it is said that KIA could be the next Honda or Toyota... So for those looking to buy, don't over look this vehicle.

30th Nov 2006, 11:44

JB - BC, Canada.

I just finished extensively test driving SUVs in this class and ended up settling on the 2007 Kia Sportage (exactly the same as the 2006 - except it can play MP3s, woopie).

An important consideration: The 05-07 Sportages are COMPLETELY new vehicles, designed in part with Hyundai, and based on their very reliable Tuscon (according to consumer reports).

We had a huge dump of snow and freezing rain here during the 4 days I was test driving - perfect for testing the true capabilities of an SUV! If you want the absolute best vehicle for safety in difficult conditions, hands down, get a Subaru. Unfortunately for me, I am too long for a Subaru - so it came down to the Grand Vitara, Ford Escape, or Kia Sportage.

Both the Ford and Sportage are competitive - but the Sportage kicked the Ford's butt in features for price, and frankly, it spanked the Ford in the extreme testing (1 foot of snow, ice, potholes, gravel, etc) with its standard ESC and better suspension. When we'd punch the Escape (07 model) on ice, it would swing out, but the Sportage would go in a straight line. Same for stopping on snow and ice. The same would apply to rain, mud, gravel, etc.

With the standard 6 airbags, good safety ratings, V6 option, AWD, 5 year comprehensive warranty (you won't be using it much on the 06-07), the Kia is a no-brainer. To give you an idea, Ford dropped their price by $4,500 and they still couldn't beat the Kia in price vs. performance and features.

Any questions you can e-mail me, jwbeaton@mac.com.

11th Apr 2007, 15:47

Kia did their homework in 2005 for the year 2006 and quality has improved since then. Just took them a while. They were a little slow on technology, but they have finally caught up and have improved a lot over the other foreign auto makers.

8th Jun 2007, 21:19


I posted an above comment (JB) - and wanted to let readers know I posted a review for 2007. I've driven the Sportage for over 7 months in every condition - check out the review: http://carsurvey.org/review_101926.html


18th Feb 2008, 06:18


I think the Sportage is one of the best Kias at the market right now.

You can visit www.kia-world.net where you can share some views about your experinces with the rest of the members.

3rd Jul 2008, 09:19

I do not understand what the commentor who posted the 1 Sept. 2006 blog meant by poor quality comments. Their comment and the one about the service engine light going on and off are the only negative comments that I've read on the Sportage.

We purchased an '07 last fall and have had no problems out of it at all. 2-weeks ago we drove from Tulsa Oklahoma to Atlanta for a vacation, and were completely happy with the Sportage's comfort and performance.

This is a far cry from the Lumina that the Sportage replaced, which I barely would trust to go around the block.

I've posted a review of the Lumina experience in that category, it was a 1999, and was glad to see it go.

Until American cars improve their quality and fuel economy, I won't even look at another.

11th Dec 2008, 00:25

I own a 2006 Kia Sportage, and I love my Kia, except I don't have it very often because it is in the Kia shop, because it is always blowing a power steering hose at -25 or lower. I don't think it is made for the north. I live in a small town of 450 people and there are 3 Kia Sportages here in the community, and they are always down at the same time. Good thing for road side assistance or I would not be able to afford it. I think I have to sell pretty soon before the warranty wears off. But I still love my little Kia!!!

5th Feb 2010, 05:45

I wanna buy Kia Sportage 2006.. so what do you think?

2nd Jul 2010, 17:01

Me and my husband want to buy a Kia Sportage 2010 model, but we are still in the process of researching what is the performance of Kia in case something happens; how will we be able to buy the parts? Are they expensive?

We are living here in Dubai, so what vehicle can you suggest?