Lada 2105 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1974 Lada 2105 1500 S 1.5 from Finland

Year of manufacture1974
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired300000 kilometres
Most recent distance550000 kilometres

Summary:

King of the streets in its own class ;)

Faults:

Engine had been repaired 2-3 times before me. Ex Russian/Soviet block embassy car (no fancy stuff).

- repair of the engine.

- later on front end of the exhaust pipe

- mechanical voltage regulator "worn out"

-front lights (long) changed to western version.

-repair to some of the bearings in gear box.

General Comments:

After the major job was done (engine) it run very reliably. Gear box had only 4 gears, so fuel was spend more (8,4-9,8 l/100 km).

Fast starter, easy to burn rubber, uncomfortable on long tracks, nice fake leather benches. Black beast ;).

Windows got frozen on very cold weathers, but main window was always open.

It was like driving a limousine or something - all eyes looked at it. Maybe because it was black, looked like rat car and had REAL iron/chrome front.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th April, 2003

3rd Jan 2007, 05:10

Actually, there was no Lada 2105 in 1974. Because VAZ started to build 2105 from 1980. Probably your car was Lada 2103.

1982 Lada 2105 1.2 super gasoline from Greece

Year of manufacture1982
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 super gasoline Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance380000 kilometres

Summary:

It;s a tool for work, not a car for a ride

Faults:

The first thing that has gone wrong was the fuel pump, which failed at 120,000 due too bad quality fuel, common to the Greek market.

The second thing that caused extra cost was the exhaust that got a bit rusty, but has never been a problem since it got repaired.

General Comments:

This car is not for comfort or for performance, it's a tool for the one who wants to drive every were, anytime, at low cost. After all the worst damage cost $300,the value of the whole car.

I would describe it as an all terrain tool rather than a car.

I am totaly satisfied from the work it has done for me as a tool, and it has worked really hard. If there was an organization for car rights I would have been arrested.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th January, 2003

21st Jun 2006, 15:24

My Lada had the first change of suspension rubbers after 24 years, and the new rubbers only last 3 months! well, our roads are very, very bad, I had two change of rubbers until I was tired and made the rubbers from old tires, they are working fine!!!

1989 Lada 2105 1200 classic 1.2 from Denmark

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired47042 kilometres
Most recent distance59051 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Cheap and reliable transportation

Faults:

Electric system had a "Meltdown"

Then the passenger seat came loose of its frame.

All the door handles are broken from the holdings

The mirrow are vibrating a lot under driving.

General Comments:

This car is a good buy if your are looking for a cheap means of transportation.

However it has quite a high fuel consumption

(it drives approx 8-12 km per liter 95 octane petrol)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2002

1986 Lada 2105 Combi 1.5 from Finland

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14000 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres

Summary:

Basic beast of burden

Faults:

Radiator had to be replaced a while ago.

Starting motor broke down at 95000km.

Clutch working cylinder had corroded and was replaced at 110000km.

Plus some small things.

General Comments:

The car is fun to drive, of course it's not as good as today's cars, but very good anyway.

I really enjoy the rear-wheel drive, too bad hardly any car has it anymore these days.

When I got the car, I made perfect rust-protection to it.

There's hardly any rust in the car, despite the fact that I use the car in winter too, and here in Finland the roads REALLY are full of de-icing salt...

The engine is very good, except that it's too lazy sometimes, specially with trailer.

But if that is ignored, the engine is great! Ignites superb no matter how much frost and is reliable.

Lada is too little appreciated, at least in here... too bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2002

1st Oct 2002, 15:50

Isn't the Combi version of the 2105 called the 2104??

15th Jan 2006, 16:46

Yes, 2104 is a "combo" of 2105.

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews