Lancia Thema Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1989 Lancia Thema IE 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired195000 kilometres
Most recent distance210000 kilometres
Previous carLancia Thema

Summary:

Fun

Faults:

Car was badlyneglected motor wise and was completely reconditioned and parts were easily accessible

Otherwise no problems

Great availability of bits here in NZ.

General Comments:

Handles well with new shocks

Lovely to drive and few know what it is

Getting nicer to look at by the year.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2006

1991 Lancia Thema SE 2.0 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired65498 miles
Most recent distance166000 miles
Previous carLancia Thema

Summary:

A future classic

Faults:

Rear calipers needed replacement at 155,000 miles (not bad).

Cam belt snapped due to incompetent mechanics damaging a pulley (not the car's fault).

Intermittent setting on wipers stopped at 103K, but a replacement motor only cost £10 from Thema Consortium (www.lancia-tdc.co.uk).

Nothing else other than wear and tear on suspension bushes, but after 166K miles, you would expect that!!!

General Comments:

I've done 100,000 miles in my car, and it still looks as if it could be less than 3 years old. I love this car and have no desire to sell it. The car is great to drive at 95mph on motorways, and can still be hustled along country roads at similar speeds. The steering is perfectly weighted for my tastes, but drivers of Japanese executive cars may prefer something more assisted.

The interior style is one of the car's strongest points, with the Grey Alcantara and Dark Rosewood creating a really luxurious cabin that's always a pleasure to sit in. Be sure to put a cover on the driver's seat though, as the Alcantara can wear out otherwise.

Throttle response is crisp, steering precise, ride smooth, and the exhaust note makes you roll down the windows every time you are driving down a lane with brick walls. This car has character and charm, which is so often lacking in other cars these days.

People have for too long ignored Lancias because of "some bloke down the pub" who told them that they're unreliable and rusty. My advice is try to drive one, or speak to someone who has actually owned one. And as for the criticisms of unreliability, can I suggest you look at the Carsurvey comments for the VW Polo!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2006

8th Jan 2006, 04:45

Absolutely true, especially the remarks about their reputation. All of this talk about Lancias and rust is basically down to a problem with the Betas in the 70's. A problem which, incidentally, Lancia owned up to and cured while Ford and Rover just kept churning out cars which rotted away, but never admitted to it.

16th Oct 2006, 16:42

Talking about great automotive cover ups, have you ever wondered how Mercedes managed to getaway with making such scandalously rusty cars in the 1990's. I've seen T reg Mercs S-Classes with rust on panels that you could stick a finger through!

1993 Lancia Thema i.e. 2.0 16 V from Netherlands

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 16 V Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Superb!

Faults:

Seats start to wear badly.

Engine is completely revised.

General Comments:

The car is quick, comfortable and has an excellent design. A car of great standing!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2005

1994 Lancia Thema LS 2.0 turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFiat Bravo

Summary:

A fast, safe, luxury car that probably won't get stolen!

Faults:

When I got the car the suspension had been lowered and a stainless exhaust system had been added. This I did not like. I had a non Turbo Thema previously (which caught fire because of the AA negligence) and found it to be quieter and smoother, thus the car is currently in the garage having the original exhaust and suspension put back on. Although I must admit the extra power development and sharp handling were fun for a while.

General Comments:

The vehicle is very complex to work on. For example to change the radiator it is at least a 4 hour job (if you can get a mechanic brave enough). The car has 4 radiators! (air con, engine cooling x 2, turbo oil cooler).

The interior is beautiful, the quality, comfort and driving pleasure is superb. On a long journey you arrive refreshed and awake.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2002

9th Jan 2003, 19:06

Just to let everyone how I'm getting on with the car.

Well firstly I love it to bits with a passion, it's a beauty. Why do I love it well it's so fast, the engine makes the most beautiful sounds with a stunning grunt of turbo rasp! (same engine as the Integrale Evo - 205 BHP) Yummy!

Its very rare - apparently there are only 15 phase three Thema Turbos left on the road in the UK, and mine was one of the last, April 1994 L reg. And the colour, I just love it, midnight metallic blue with the greatest cream alcantara interior. I'm just out to check on it now before I go to bed... only messing :)

21st Feb 2003, 12:41

Thema Turbo LS - Feb 2003 Entry.

All is going well; I just had all of my brake lines changed at the cost of £500. It's a dual circuit braking system, and while driving one sunny day, both circuits failed; luckily I had predicted the problem and managed to stop the car safe!

Another common problem with the Thema is the rear bumper bows in the middle, so I am soon to have another bumper fitted (it was kindly donated to me from a Series 3 station wagon from Germany) - my previous Mk 3 Thema (which unfortunately caught fire) had the same problem.

Until my next entry - goodbye!

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 15 reviews