1998 Lexus ES Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1998 Lexus ES 300 3.0 Liter V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired92000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles

Summary:

The best vehicle I have ever owned

Faults:

The driver side turn signal light went out at 109,000 miles.

The driver side seat belt return spring retrieves the seat belt slow.

General Comments:

This car is remarkably very reliable. It handles very well and has enough power to settle everyones taste. Nothing has broken on it. It still drives as if it were a new car. Lexus dealer maintenance is pretty pricey, but if you go to a Toyota dealer it is a little more affordable. The interior is very lively and the controls are easy to operate.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2006

1998 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

The pursuit of Excellence

Faults:

None so far. Just general maintenance.

General Comments:

I am the second owner of this beautiful automobile. When picked up from a Toyota dealer, I instructed them not to wash the car and that I would take it as is. the only thing I asked the dealer was to remove the sticker on the window.

This 1998 Lexus ES300 was immaculate the first time I laid eyes on it. Since acquiring this car last year, I have performed your daily maintenance, oil change every 5000 miles using Royal Purple synthetic oil. At 75,000 miles, I had the transmission completely flushed and had it replaced with synthetic tranny oil from a Toyota dealership, it's cheaper. Otherwise, the car rides very very smoothly on or off the highway. Although my daily commute round trip is only 8 miles, I am very pleased with how this car drives. I have owned several cars before acquiring this Lexus. I must say that not even its age shows. As long as daily scheduled maintenance is performed, all is well. I am in the market for a station wagon. I truly wish the Lexus continued to make the IS 300 sportcross. I am looking at an Audi A4 Avant, but based on what I have read so far, it will cost me in the long run to keep an Audi. Hands down, if you can find a previously enjoyed Lexus, you will be very pleased and satisfied with your choice. Cheers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2005

13th Jul 2005, 11:23

I have a 1998 ES300 and concur with all of the above statements. This is a very, very fine car. Smooth, quiet, and very reliable. Mine has about 102K right now and keeps going. The only issue has been the CD player and radio screen. The LCD readout is fading and the CD player is not reading much of the time. Otherwise, you can't beat this car.

1998 Lexus ES 300 3.0 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

An excellent car worthy of its accolades

Faults:

Would not maintain idle rpm and would stall at 95,000. Cleaning the IAC (idle air control valve) with some carb spray completely fixed the problem.

There is some evidence of shock oil leakage from back struts.

Something in the front end has begun to rattle - first on the right, now on both sides. Has not affected performance or handling at all.

Seat memory switch has failed.

General Comments:

This car is fabulous. I think it's an excellent combination of style, comfort, and performance. I can't be happier.

It should win awards for reliability.

The interior feels a tad cramped, notably in the front where the center console devours side-to-side leg room.

As much as I like the frame-less side windows, I think it comes with a price as wind noise (but not draft) seeps in.

Factory spec'd Michelin MXV4 plus tires are awful and pricey. This car handles much much better when it's better shod.

Excellent sound system.

The warnings that come with the side air bags are a little scary. I wish the car came with the curtain kind.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2005

1st Feb 2006, 16:46

The rattling is in your front wheel bearings or something. Check them out, can be dangerous!

1998 Lexus ES 300 3.0 V6 VVT-I from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 VVT-I Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Superior quality, reliability, and value

Faults:

There have been no problems with my car.

General Comments:

This car is the best of the best. I have been shopping for a newer car, and I have come to the conclusion that I will never buy any other brand other than Lexus.

The quietness is unsurpassed, and the quality is above that of a new BMW or Mercedes. Keeping in mind that my car has 123,000 miles on it, that says something.

No rattles, no oil usage, no problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th December, 2004

1998 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired74500 miles
Most recent distance76500 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

This is luxury at its most affordable

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this wonderful, wonderful car!

General Comments:

If you want affordable luxury, buy a used Lexus. I "graduated" from a Camry. I can't imagine owning a car other than a Toyota! The Lexus ES 300 just plain feels good, and it's a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2003

1998 Lexus ES 300 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Smooth as hell, fast great car

Faults:

Best four door sedan in it's class, good price, smooth, great speakers, quick as hell, top speed 134 mph. Traction control coach edition.

LOT'S MORE.

General Comments:

Beautiful car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2001

Average review marks: 9.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews