1994 Lexus GS 300 3.0 inline six from UK and Ireland


Smooth, quiet and refined motoring for a couple of grand


Nothing major at all.

When warming up temperature gauge goes slightly past the middle line. After 10 minutes it is on the middle line, presume thermostat replacing.

Vibration/steering wheel shimmy at 60-100mph. Believe this to be brake related, not wheel balance.

Boot is very heavy to lift - perhaps the gas struts are past their best.

Original wheels a bit corroded. Goes through brake discs quickly.

General Comments:

For a couple of grand and a loyalty card at your local petrol station, you can't go wrong really.

Good looking (in my opinion, especially with the 18" sport wheels), refined and fun to drive.

0-60 in the high 8's, which although I believe, would imagine the petrol gauge to move as quickly as the tachometer needle if you tried it. The 3.0 engine (detuned version as found in the NA Toyota Supra) is a very smooth and quiet engine, but it still makes a nice growl above 4000rpm.

The automatic transmission shifts smoothly and seems to listen to the throttle pedal a lot more than certain other automatics I have driven do.. if that makes sense.

Insurance for a 24 year old was very reasonable, perhaps due to the old man image?

Not exactly a family car which is what I bought it to be - the boot is tiny when you consider the size of the rest of the car.

Interior wise, the heated seats are of high quality leather and are very comfortable. The climate control/radio are excellent, but they look a bit 'Toyota'... which figures, I suppose. They have a green display whereas the instruments are white/red. Doesn't really match!

Steering is very light, this is an extremely easy car to drive once you get used to parking it. Absolutely in its element cruising down the motorway with the cruise control on.

Returns around 30mpg on a run, if you keep the speed down. Late teens around town, ouch.

These cars really are bargains. If you can get a well looked after one, it'll serve you well. Nobody believes that mine is almost onto its third time around the clock!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2004

22nd Apr 2005, 18:57

That was an awesome review, I have been thinking about a lexus for awhile and I guess I decided now.

11th May 2005, 09:24

Thanks, glad it was useful.

Beware about the resale on a 10 year old luxury car though, I lost out badly when trying to sell this on as I needed something more economical.

18th Mar 2006, 20:19

I just got 12 years old GS300. Everyone I know think it is 5-6 years old car. Buy used luxury is the best deal, specialty when it is well kept. I love this car. You should see the sound system. That is alone cost 5-6k!

18th Mar 2010, 15:16

I have a 1994 black Lexus GS300, and it has 200,000 miles on it, and I just replaced all things included in this document. And it's not only beautiful on its 20 inch wheels, but it runs as it did when I purchased it in 1996, if not better.

I've found that this car's life is determined by the owner; if you keep it, it will keep you.

1994 Lexus GS 300 3.0 24v 6 cylinder from UK and Ireland


Great value, good solid buy, a lot of car for a reasonable price


The car had a dashboard light that had blown when I collected it. This was replaced by Lexus for no charge.

General Comments:

Car is seven years old and still drives as new. There isn't a single cabin rattle or squeak. Once the engine is on you can barely hear it.

The car has electric everything, seats, windows, sunroof, steering column, 12 CD changer, full leather seats and dash, illuminated dashboard, the only thing I think it lacks is a fuel computer (which you need). The leather is of a high quality - mine is still in excellent condition after seven years.

Driving experience is smooth and refined, the car is a bit of a pussycat in economy mode, but once you switch to power mode, and let the variable valve timing have a go it flies - the car just will continue to go and go.

Fuel economy is OK, you don't own a car like this and worry about the costs of petrol, just enjoy all the glasses you will collect from the privilege points you amass at the petrol station.

I bought this car as an approved used car from Lexus, even at this age and miles they will approve them, the warranty is the same as any new Lexus, it is to manufacturers standard so if anything goes wrong that isn't a consumable and they will fix it. Even once I had bought the car, in the pre-delivery check they decided that the car needed two new tyres (they weren't illegal by any means). At £150 a piece I was more than happy. With the exhaust being stainless steel I'm only expecting bills for brakes and tyres.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2001

9th Feb 2004, 05:15

Well, three years on from writing this review, and I still own the car. Mileage is now 120000K, and I've only paid for one set of tyres and new brake pads in this time, plus a mandatory timing belt at the last service. The car is now almost ten years old, and is still in excellent condition, still drives and feels the same since I bought it. If anything I wish the car would give me a big bill sometime, so I have a good excuse to change it and try something different... but in all honesty I don't really want to, it does everything I need in a car, behaves flawlessly, and I'm going to drive it until it drops.

10th Mar 2005, 04:32

The GS300 MK1 does not have variable valve timing.

They do come 'on cam' around 4000RPM which may explain the slight 'push' in the higher rev range.

1994 Lexus GS 300 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


Heated front seat matrix needed attention at 30,000m. Front suspension rod damp and brake caliper sticking at 27,000m.

General Comments:

Easy to drive fast, even round the twisties. Auto gearbox nowhere near as refined as M-B, BMW or Jaguar; clunky and rough when cold. Supposedly this has been addressed in the latest version of the GS.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 1999

14th Apr 2013, 13:51

The automatic gearbox is much better in the Lexus GS300 than any Jaguar, Mercedes or even BMW. I speak with many years experience of all of the above marques.

My 1996 GS300 has done 170k miles and is still driving sweet. The down side is it's a guzzler, but we all know that when we get one.

1994 Lexus GS 300 3.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


When new the indicator ticking used to come out of a rear speaker, but the dealer fixed this.

It once cut out in traffic but restarted immediately.

That's it.

General Comments:

With 73,000 miles in 4 years this 94 Lexus was magnificent except for sluggish performance below 60mph, the stereo and air conditioning were the best I have ever encountered. No matter how far I drove I always felt as fresh and relaxed as when I got in.

Just purchased the 1998 model, which sorts out the main flaws in the car. It has a 5 speed auto box, a practically sized boot and better headlights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 1998