2001 Lexus IS Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2001 Lexus IS 200 SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21 miles
Most recent distance21000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

A touch of class

Faults:

Front brakes had to be replaced at 20,000 miles.

All four tyres needed replacement at 20,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a fantastic motorway cruiser, very smooth and quiet and after adjusting to the seats, can be quite comfortable.

There's a little extra bit of luxury with the baby Lexus which just isn't present with BMW 3 series or Audi A4s. Hard to define, but highly noticeable.

On board equipment is superb, although the climate control is a bit unpredictable. Personally I prefer manual control, as it either gets too hot or too cold, and the fans seem to settle on too high a setting.

Economy wise, for a 6 cylinder engine its quite good, with around 32mpg on a run, and 27 around town.

I'm surprised that the tyres and brakes have needed doing so quickly though, as 60 % of my journeys are on decent motorways, although the 40% spent in traffic in London probably explains the brakes wearing so soon. The front tyres have worn quicker than the rears, but even so, for the cost of replacements I'd have expected at least another 5,000 out of them.

Apart from that, I would highly recommend the IS200 to anyone thinking of buying a compact exec car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2002

8th Sep 2002, 18:31

I've had a manual SE model now for 2 years, covering approx 28K miles in that time and I am finding a problem with tyre wear also, although admittedly my route to work takes me over some 'interesting' A roads across the Peak District in the UK. I am finding that front tyre wear is extremely excessive (on my 3rd set already) particularly on the inner edges. 2 Lexus dealers have stated that there is not a problem with the car, but other independent tyre fitters contradict this, saying that they see this pattern all the time. Apart from this, the car is excellent and everything I expected it to be.

2001 Lexus IS 200 2.0 six from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 six Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired300 kilometres
Most recent distance3000 kilometres
Previous carToyota 4x4

Summary:

A small luxury sports treat

Faults:

Absolutely nothing. The car was delivered new and has totally exceeded my expectations.

General Comments:

The Lexus has been an experience from the minute I stepped into the dealership.

The car is a joy. Fun to drive, great handling, willing engine and yet maintaining an atmosphere of luxury.

Having compared it to the Passat, BMW, X type Jag and small Mercedes the Lexus became my obvious choice.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2002

2001 Lexus IS 200 SE 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

A quality alternative to a BMW or Audi

Faults:

An annoying rattle in the dashboard somewhere.

Dealer will sort it, when I get around to it.

General Comments:

Nice car, looks good, smooth, quiet, every possible extra including the excellent Sat Nav guidance.

Dealer service to date, excellent. Very customer focussed. No problem too small for them.

Would definitely recommend it as a more individual alternative to an Audi A4 or BMW 3 series.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2001

2001 Lexus IS 300 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired22 miles
Most recent distance122 miles
Previous carMercury Mountaineer

Summary:

This car is phenomenal!

Faults:

Wrong? Nothing wrong. If loving this car is wrong, I don't want to be right. This car is everything any other car could be, including the Americans. I usually bought American until my Mountaineer started its anticipated descent into garbage. This is my second Lexus and fully anticipate it to be as incredible as my first. Also my wife insisted on the IS300 while I leaned towards the Acura TL as better value. I am happy to say that I finally listened to my wife. She does know something about cars. Go figure.

General Comments:

Love the car. Love the deal. Love the service. Wanted a free Lexus watch in the deal but didn't get it. Didn't love that.

As for handling, I think it handles better than my late 80' Mustangs. This car cooks. My wife even said that I look good in this car. Maybe I'll get lucky with that threesome, now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2001

2001 Lexus IS 200 SE 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carLexus IS200

Summary:

Great compact executive

Faults:

I've owned two IS200's over two years, and nothing has gone wrong with either.

General Comments:

Owned an IS200 S previously, and liked it so much bought a new SE in Silver this year.

Was thinking about a BMW 320CI which has same list price but would cost upto 3500 UK pounds more for equivalent specification. The 320 is a great car but the Lexus is far more unique and BMW 3 Series are very common on UK roads.

The specification is huge with full electrics, leather, and gorgeous 17 inch alloys. It also has great build quality, not a rattle over two years. It makes it an extremely comfortable car to drive over long or short distances.

It handles great with its rear wheel drive chassis, but my only reservation is that it could do with a bit more power, probably 20 horses. It is also quite frugal for a six cylinder engine, something you have bear in mind because of the price of fuel in the UK.

Looking forward to the IS300 when it comes to the UK this year, with 230 horses it should be seriously quick. Hopefully I'll get a pay rise, and I'll be trading in for an IS300!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

2001 Lexus IS 200 Sport 2.0 straight 6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 straight 6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired9 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Great overall package

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

What a great car...

Looks good.

Performs quite well, it's not a Ferrari but has more than adequate performance.

Huge specification list.

Masses cheaper than rival cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th April, 2001

8th May 2001, 04:05

Picked my IS200 Sport up last Thursday and have already put 500 miles on it. It is a joy to drive... a true drivers car without a BMW price tag. For the same price I could have got an entry 318! The build, the top notch standard spec everything makes this package brilliant value. Also how many people look at BMW's now? They're two to a penny. With regards to performance... if you want to do 7 seconds 0-60's off the lights and drive at 130 then you shouldn't be on the road anyway...

22nd May 2001, 11:02

Had my baby (IS200 Sport with fitted body kit and other nice extras - but NOT sat/nav) 10 days - and I'm afraid to take it out! It's THAT nice a car. Looks, performance, drive, comfort - just about the lot. But with under 200 miles on the clock, I can't say about economy - yet! It turns heads and I don't care WHAT they say about the dash styling, I think the retro look compliments the car completely! I was thinking of a TT about a year ago. Now, there are SO many of them about, I'm glad I didn't do anything more than think about one...

14th Nov 2006, 04:09

I agree. Lexus IS was not a sales success. BMW are popular, but for a very good reason - they are very good cars. I don't think given how popular they are that there is any real badge snobbery.

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 15 reviews