Lexus Soarer Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1993 Lexus Soarer sc300 3.0 liter inline 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 liter inline 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance133000 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

Great exhaust rumble -- finicky beauty

Faults:

Had to replace the antenna, all 4 struts, 1 brake caliper, valve cover gaskets, spark plugs and wires, 2 tires.

General Comments:

Car is reasonably reliable for a 13 year old car.

The car's design however does not lend itself to the do it yourselfer working in the garage at home. I tried changing the struts myself - something I have done before on my other car and it was a disaster. I had to have the car towed to pep boys and they changed the struts for me.. I was however able to change the valve cover gaskets; but putting the intake back together took 2 weeks and a lot of trial and error.

The dashboard lights-needles are prone to burn out. I have had to turn down the intensity in order to make them last a little bit longer.

Car still looks beautiful today - but like all great beauties can be a little demanding. This is the first Lexus I have ever been in where the interior is so noisy.. The exhaust sounds great though - just like a sporting car should sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2006

2005 Lexus Soarer SC430 4.3 Litre Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2005
Engine and transmission 4.3 Litre Gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.7 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance108000 kilometres
Previous carLexus SC400

Summary:

A great Luxury Convertible roadster

Faults:

Installed new Brakes and rotors when I first bought it. Installed new Toyo Proxes T1-S when new as well. Improved ride over the runflats that were on it before.

General Comments:

Nicest car I ever owned. Exceeded all expectations. Added Luxlink which is a remote top down option. Love driving in the summer with the retractable top down. Really good Mark Levinson Car stereo, sounds like a band in your car. Back seat is not usable unless you need a spot for a couple bags of groceries. But hey that's why are other vehicle is a Toyota Highlander. Highly recommend the Toyota build quality!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

27th Feb 2007, 17:46

This review should not be under Lexus Soarer. Needs to be put under a new category SC430 under Lexus. Thanks.

1993 Lexus Soarer 2.5 GT-T 2.5 twin-turbo from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 twin-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Fast, comfortable, stylish coupe. Recommended

Faults:

Oil level sender unit gone on the blink, Lexus dealer wanted £300 but £50 bought a good secondhand one.

Build quality not up to modern Lexus levels... but it is a 1993 car.

General Comments:

A little slow off the mark (relative to my friends Audi S4) due to the auto. transmission, but flies after the first second or so. Gyrometer testing ran a best of 5.71s to 60mph, average was around 5.9s.

Surprisingly good fuel economy, averages 20mpg around town and 30mpg on a long motorway run at 75-80mph.

Has no traction control etc. and there's no grip at all from the back wheels under power in the wet. Will wheelspin and slither around at 50mph if kickdown engaged even if travelling in a straight line... quite unnerving!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

5th Apr 2007, 03:38

Hello all.

I am Considering buying gtt. Does any one know if they have or come with a slip diff. Whats the biggest problem with them cost wise? I Never delayed so much about buying a car.

8th Sep 2007, 20:48

Hi there..

The GT-T is an amazing car. I managed to find a manual 1999 model in Japan and ended up importing here to NZ. Cost wise I was expecting it to be worst, but in the 60k zone I get around 8km/l which is pretty good I think. Even my 1992 2.2 V-tec Prelude did only about 9..so 8-8.5 is quite good for a big car like the Soarer.. but then again I'm talking about driving it easy without letting the turbos kick in too often. I tend to keep revs down about 2000 most of the time. I think it's got slip diff/traction control as well cos when it's slippery an orange 'SNOW' sign comes up on the dash..

1999 Lexus Soarer 2.5 twin turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.5 twin turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance179000 kilometres
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Power and comfort

Faults:

Digital dashboard had to be fixed.

Condensation in headlights.

Boot struts replaced.

General Comments:

Very very very fast, very very very comfortable. Turns heads on the street.

All cars should be like this one.

Air conditioning, cruise control, power transmission settings, turbo timer, alloys, electric seats and a lot more. Power and comfort.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2003

12th Apr 2005, 04:38

I agree...

I've not driven one for a long time, only when my mate's dad let me drive his car home from the pub when he'd been drinking. Damn is that fast, comfortable and a very sexy car.

I'm buying one in July!!!

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 7 reviews