2003 Lincoln LS Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2003 Lincoln LS LS 3.4 V6? from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6? Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance57000 miles

Summary:

Sexy car that is always broken

Faults:

Oil pan leak 55000 miles, with a strong smell of burning oil when running car.

Back of drivers seat fell off, now just hangs there.

Navigation would read CD error, and not eject, or even close face. lights in navigation dim, then brighten, then dim again, making it really distracting. Navigation replaced, 48000 miles, as well as wires and lights. dimming and brightening occuring 54000 miles.

Console air covers pop off when using the air that blows at your face. just falls off.

At 42000 miles, car DROPS into drive. Throws itself into other gears.

General Comments:

Great looking car. But the construction is very poor. This being a Lincoln, I feel it should be put together better, the parts put together better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th November, 2007

2003 Lincoln LS 3.9L V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.9L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Excellent value for the money!!

Faults:

Reprogram transmission for harsh shifting. Replace solenoid pack.

Drivers side rear window regulator.

Both fixed under factory warranty.

Wife stuck a home made CD with a label in the in-dash changer and got it stuck. Lincoln gave us a brand new stereo and 3 weeks later returned our Cd's that were left in the changer!

General Comments:

Super driving car!!! The suspension is first rate yet it is very smooth! Love the A/C seats and I thought they were a gimmick when we first got the car! 6 disc changer in dash is also a first rate idea! Much better gas mileage than I expected. Overall for the last 25K miles it is 23.4 MPG. Highway mileage is always 25.5 or better. Downside is you must use premium gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2007

2003 Lincoln LS V6 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired7000 miles
Most recent distance53500 miles
Previous carLincoln Mercury Sable

Faults:

This is an FYI for other considering an LS. Also, same fault as from another owner.

Right Rear wheel bearing failed (3,000 miles after warranty). Dealer wanted $730 to replace (included wheel hub). Being repaired by another service center for $230. FYI - Had two other problems that occurred under warranty.

General Comments:

None.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th October, 2006

2003 Lincoln LS V8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

It's a lemon

Faults:

My transimission went out at 35,000 miles.

I have had the rear rotors replaced.

The brakes have been worked on about 5 times.

The heated seats have stopped working in the passenger and drivers seat.

The headliner has fallen down.

The car doesn't want to start periodically and they can't find anything wrong with it.

General Comments:

I would never buy another Lincoln LS!

The Puyallup Lincoln Service Department has not been that helpful to fix my problems.

I don't want the car anymore.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

12th Apr 2005, 17:58

You got a junker, it happens.

16th May 2005, 19:25

Our 2004 is also a lemon! Dealership has not been that helpful!

27th May 2005, 11:16

Can I have it then? It's a great car. Brakes are not a big issue. I have a 2000, sure it has problems, but what domestic car doesn't. I'm looking to get an '03 for the improvements made on it.

2003 Lincoln LS V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance5700 miles

Summary:

Lovely car when it performs as intended

Faults:

My car had just 4,300 miles on it when the electronic parking brake came on while the car was traveling at over 70 miles per hour. This resulted in the brakes locking up causing a loss of control of the vehicle, resulting in a crash.

General Comments:

I loved driving my car until this accident. I have now lost confidence in the safety of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th May, 2004

30th Oct 2007, 10:27

Oh my God!! I'm sorry to hear that happened to you...that's one of my worst fears!

2003 Lincoln LS LSE 3.9 Liter V8 DOHC from Spain

Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.9 Liter V8 DOHC Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carChrysler 300

Summary:

A High Performance Bargain from North America

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I really love this car. It fits me so perfectly and I have gotten many complements. The select shift automatic transmission works great on the uphill and downhill roads in Spain. (That's where I live.) I've even raced a few bimmers and mercedes and left them in the dust a few times.

The performance and handling are outstanding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2003

12th Jan 2006, 20:19

Wow, a Lincoln LS in Spain! That's really thinking outside the box! I agree that the car is much more individual than a BMW, even in America, BMWs outnumber newer Lincolns by a significant margin, so an LS does stand out a bit better in a crowd. Great car, and at that price, nothing from Germany comes close.

Average review marks: 5.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews