1986 Lincoln Mark VII Reviews

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Scottsdale

Summary:

A powerful, sport handling, luxury car

Faults:

Electrical short among the many relays left me scratching my head for a while. Window motor replaced at 120k.

Water pump went at 115k.

Front struts replaced at 120k.

Rear suspension airbag replaced at 125k.

General Comments:

Car was well thought out, and put together for an 86 model. Contains many amenities that were a pipe dream on other cars.

Runs strong, even today.

Handles incredibly well.

The vehicle has aged with grace.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2003

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0LHO from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0LHO Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 miles
Most recent distance507558 miles
Previous carCadillac Fleetwood

Summary:

A bargain in any case!

Faults:

I have not replaced any drive-train components as yet, not even a u-joint.

That said,

I have replaced all the air ride bags recently.

I replaced the right front suspension sensor after an incident involving an animal.

I have replaced the air pump two or three times, I don't remember which.

I replaced the cooling system a couple of years ago (radiator, water pump, and hoses.)

The air conditioning has been converted to R134a.

The seats (leather) have been replaced twice, the last time (about a year ago) I had cloth inserts put in for comfort.

I can't remember how many times I have replaced the brake pads.

I had to replace the anti-lock module last December, it worked fine, but leaked badly.

The factory AM/FM/Cassette Premium Sound unit worked fine, but I have just replaced it with an AM/FM/Cassette/CD unit.

General Comments:

I purchased this car for the tow bill ($75.00) when it was brought in to my shop as a light rollover. I had originally intended it as a donor parts vehicle for a classic I have.

However, after about a year's spare time of work and lots of trips to wrecking and u-pull yards, this car went back on the road with a shiny new pearl white paint job and blue rag-top.

It does ride a bit stiff, but this also makes it handle better.

The seats are comfortable, but the back is difficult to get into for large people.

This is a really fun car to drive. My wife and I will keep it until it quits and then probably rebuild it...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0 HO V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles

Summary:

Luxury, style, and performance

Faults:

Replaced all four air suspension bags.

Replaced both power window motors.

Sway bar bushings were also replaced.

General Comments:

Fast, roomy (in the front), comfortable.

The car was well taken care of (it was given to me when my grandfather died), and the interior looks very good. I have been driving it for three years and the leather still looks great.

I would definitely recommend buying a low-mileage Mark VII.

Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC V8 5.0L High Output from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 5.0L High Output Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles

Summary:

Luxury with muscle

Faults:

The ONLY one MAJOR problem was when the ABS pump failed (when I was driving, thankfully at a slow speed, I built up enough back pressure to stop the car). Cost of repair: $1500.

Otherwise, last year when the car turned 15, I replaced all the hoses and lines as a preventative measure.

General Comments:

This is a great car, the Mark series by Lincoln are by far some of the best cars I have ever driven (I even test drove the Mark VIII, and she handles like a dream). I was given this car as a hand-me-down from my parents when (they purchased it in 86), and even today I would chose this car over any other.

The car may seem big and bulky, but the handling is actually very responsive.

I will probably do some performance upgrades, like change the exhaust system to make it breathe better.

Otherwise I say again, this is a great all around car, a luxury car with muscle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2002

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

I can't believe I own this car, but I won't sell it either

Faults:

Replace both the front and rear air bags. Did the rear ones myself. Took 45 minutes. I recommend Bagmaster in TX for rebuilt bags. Dealers are outrageous.

Distributer problem "fixed" by dealer. Think it was a known electronic module problem that Ford has been fighting in court. Had to take the car to another repair shop to have fixed correctly as the dealer left the car out of time and wouldn't admit to it.

Alternator replaced three times. I bought the lifetime warranty from Pep Boys so this was no big deal. I think the problem came from Pep Boys "clocking" the alternator to have the correct alignment for this car. I think they damage the leads if they are not carful.

Leaked oil from the valve covers, replaced the gasket.

Lifetime mufflers from Midas, they hate to see me coming now.

And of course the radio antennae does not work. Fixed once broke again. At least it was up at the time of its departure. I notice most Lincolns of this vintage have the same problem.

General Comments:

I can't believe I have put 60,000 miles on this car. I bought the car because it was an excellent deal. I didn't even like the car when I bought it. Of course I was going from a super-charged MR2 to the Lincoln. Since then I have grown to respect the car if nothing else. It isn't the fastest or best looking car but it has been solid, quiet, comfortable and secure.

I did drive it to the west coast several years ago. It was great in the mountains but not comfortable enough to do it again. I decided several years ago that I would drive this car until "the wheels fell off". I'm still waiting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2001

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired191000 miles
Most recent distance467000 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

My wife thinks it's HER car..

Faults:

Had to replace valve cover gaskets.

Had to replace top.

Had to replace radiator.

Had to replace window regulator.

Had to repair air suspension wiring.

Had to convert air to R134a.

Replaced seats last year.

Repainted pearl white last year.

General Comments:

This car is fun, quick, still turns heads.

I will keep it until it dies, which will be a while as it still runs very good.

Gets decent mileage for it's size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th July, 2001

1986 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 302 H.O. EFi from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 302 H.O. EFi Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired114000 miles
Most recent distance121000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Pick up '80

Summary:

A great car

Faults:

Passenger side window and sunroof motors are out.

Rear suspension can't hold up to any weight.

Mufflers were bad.

General Comments:

It is a real performer for its year and miles, but has electrical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd January, 2001

20th Jul 2001, 21:25

What kind of sunroof does it have? Sliding steel, sliding glass, or tilting glass?

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 7 reviews