1988 Lincoln Mark VII Reviews

1988 Lincoln Mark VII BB 5.0 HO from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 kilometres
Most recent distance98000 kilometres
Previous carMazda GLC

Summary:

Classy, pure and simple

Faults:

First when I bought the car, I had to replace the drivers side air spring. Soon after, all of the rest and the air compressor assembly as well, brake pads, 2 serpentine belts, factory speakers, spark plug wires, water pump, fuel pump,spark plugs, and passenger side window gear.

After 9 years of ownership, I have re-upholstered the 8 way power seats.

Smacked a curb so the original BB wheels had to be replaced with LSC ones, due to there not being many scrap 7's here.

General Comments:

When I first saw this car, it was love at first sight.

The paint was absolutely flawless. Upon closer examination it had everything a guy could want, except, the seats had wood bead covers to hide the damaged passenger and drivers front upholstery. Looked like it had never been cared for since new. When I popped the hood I was astounded to see a jewel; the 5.0 Ford HO.

I was sold. I figured I'd better take it for a test drive anyways though.

The test drive was awesome. Right away I knew it was the nicest car I had ever driven. When I took off, I wondered why the owner didn't want to come. It was because he knew there was a leak.

When I pulled back up the car was making a hissing noise and I noticed the front start to sink. I told him 2,300 and he had agreed to lower his price. Ha ha sucker is what we were both thinking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2009

28th May 2009, 16:43

Try Bakersauto.com (they deal with Lincolns only from the 50's to the 90's)

1st Jul 2009, 21:14

Ha ha yeah a four banger, nah I just thought a plain Jane ltd 5.0.

1988 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171500 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles

Summary:

Comfort, reliability, and power!

Faults:

Since I have owned this vehicle, I have replaced the front air ride suspension with replacement springs.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, reliable, good all-around vehicle.

Approaching the 200,000 mile marker and still going strong!

There are a lot of little problems that have developed with the car over time. For instance, fuel gage is inaccurate, passenger window does not roll down, defogger is broken, power antenna is broken. Mostly electrical faults that could be fixed if I had the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2003

1988 Lincoln Mark VII Bill Blass 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired146143 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carPontiac LeMans

Summary:

A high price muscle car that looks like it should be driven to church

Faults:

My transmission had gone out 5 days after I bought it.

The power locks work only to lock the car on the passenger side.

The driver side seat has a small rip in the leather.

The power mirrors switch is broke.

The stereo don't work.

General Comments:

I bought the car for $1500.00.

The car is quick.

It rides like it is on a cloud.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2003

1988 Lincoln Mark VII Bill Blass Edition 5.0 H.O. V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 H.O. V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance90500 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

An excellent automobile, that looks just as contemporary today as it did in 1984

Faults:

I replaced the power window motor gear (driver's side) at about 85,000 miles. The window motor worked fine, just the plastic cylinders inside the gear had deteriorated into little black particles. $15 and two hours of my labor and it works like new. I purchased the replacement gear in the "HELP" section of a local automotive parts store.

AT 75,000 (approx.), I replaced both of the front brake rotors. I suggest "Wagner" brand replacement rotors. The ABS ring, located on the back-side of the brake rotor, is very sensitive to it's location on the hub assembly. Rotors from manufacturers with poor quality control can result in a mis-aligned ABS ring, causing the destruction of the ABS sensor (located adjacent to the wheel spindle). It happens more often than you think, believe me!

Lastly, at 90,000 miles, my CLEAR-COAT paint was too ugly to look at any longer - thanks mostly to the Florida sun. I had the car re-painted at a local MAACO. Watch your mail for the coupons, I got $580.00 worth of paint and services for only $250.00.

General Comments:

I love this car. I had a 1984 Eldorado Touring Coupe before this. I normally keep two cars, and replace them every four years. I have kept this Lincoln from 1988 simply because I like the car, it has been no problem to me, and it still looks great (the new paint helps!). I also currently have a Chrysler convertible, so I drive the Lincoln about once or twice a week. The seats are very comfortable, and the large, adjustable pillow-style headrests are the perfect touch. The digital dash cluster is nice, although a bit more information than speed, fuel, and odometer would be nice. I understand that the Continental sedan - which used a similar cluster in 1982 and 1983, featured a temperature gauge adjacent to the odometer. They should have kept it. The LSC cluster has dial gauges, and has a temperature gauge. Speaking of the cluster, to reset the trip odometer requires a three button sequence - not very handy. I also think the wiper control would have been better placed if it was on the turn signal, which they did for the 1990 through 1992 models, and the turn signal just feels cheap anyway. It's not just mine, I've seen lots of Mark VII's, and they all have the same cheap-feeling Ford turn signal lever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th September, 2002

1988 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0 liter 302 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 liter 302 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance184000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Fast, fun and reliable to boot... What more can you ask for??

Faults:

The only real problem I have had is with radiator and that only cost me $90.00.

General Comments:

This is by far the best car I have owned yet and the only reasom that I'm selling it is because I am buying a 99 cougar.

I would definitely recommend this car to anyone, it has it all. It has speed, comfort and reliability.

The best part about it is I only paid a grand for it!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

1988 Lincoln Mark VII Bill Blass 302 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 302 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

Just simply a great car with class AND reliability

Faults:

The rear air bag suspension collapsed at 130,000 miles. Replaced with ford coil suspension & Bilstein struts.

Alternator went out at 175,000 mls.

Serious electrical non start problem at 198,000 Husband took care of it.

Starter motor and solenoid went out at 199,000 mls.

Factory anti theft alarm system occasionally goes off without any reason.

General Comments:

After a speight of problems I nearly gave the car to a vehicle donation charity... Thank god I didn't. This car is so great and after trying several cars at dealers I could not find anything that comes near my Mk VII BB.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2002

1988 Lincoln Mark VII LSC 5.0 aluminum V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 aluminum V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

Speed, comfort and reliability-what more can you ask for?

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

This car is an excellent buy, it has style, comfort and power. The best part about the car is that I got it at a great price. I am definitely sold on domestic cars, most of my others have been foreign. I would recommend this car to anyone who is looking for a fast reliable and comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2002

1988 Lincoln Mark VII Bill Blass 5.0 H.O. fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 H.O. fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville

Summary:

A high performance luxury cruiser

Faults:

Front air ride suspension, rear suspention sway bar links, automatic ride height sensor, cruise control, power seat drivers side tilts.

General Comments:

Very nice riding car with a powerful engine, great looks, and an elegant interior. Materials used in manufacture seem to be of high quality and very durable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 8 reviews