2000 Lincoln Navigator Reviews

2000 Lincoln Navigator Intech 32v V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
Engine and transmission Intech 32v V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired210000 miles

Summary:

Nice

Faults:

Not sure. Not my car, but it seems well built.

General Comments:

Well I don't drive very often (only 15), but I recently had a chance to drive this big black beauty. When asked to drive it, I was thinking in the back of my mind, can I actually drive this thing? I mean our 1975 Chevy Truck you have to turn the steering 4 times to make a 20 degree truck.

So yes, this was the largest vehicle I had ever driven, and boy was it awesome.

The handling is very disappointing, but the view and interior refinements are great. Acceleration is okay but could be better. The 3 spd transmission is sorta clunky and is always gear hunting.

Seats are sportive and it doesn't have many blind spots.

I don't know what kind of steering system, but it adjusts your steering inputs around curves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th August, 2008

2000 Lincoln Navigator Kenne Bell Lightning Superchar 5.4L from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.4L Automatic
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

Baddest thing on 4 wheels when it's running

Faults:

Problem is if the truck starts up. I can drive it for a while and all of a sudden where the lucent display once showed a digital readout of my current mileage... it then shows a line of digital dashes, stalls, then the theft light continues to flash. If I wait long enough it will start again as though nothing was wrong, but still stalls eventually.

General Comments:

Rebuilt Transmission.

Replaced Rear Wheel Sensor.

Replaced Throttle position Sensor.

Had all keys repogrammed.

Even replaced the oil pressure sensor that accommodates the supercharger.

Bought New computer.

FORD doesn't have a clue. And I am at a lost. Please help.

Thanks

PapaJune.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th January, 2008

24th Jul 2008, 22:04

Check your wiring harness / bundle as it goes through the firewall.

We had Pontiac GP that did the same stuff, turned out one of the alarm trigger wires had rubbed through, upon juuuust right acceleration it pulled the wire, shorted on the firewall, kicking off the alarm which killed ignition. 20 minutes later the alarm would reset, car started normally until you hit the magic acceleration point and the wire moved, over and over, sometimes once a day, sometimes 15...

Replaced a stretch of wire, and put a chunk of rubber hose around that section, voila, never again..

2000 Lincoln Navigator V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.6 / 10
Previous carDodge Durango

Summary:

It is junk on wheels

Faults:

The day I got it, the CD player was broken.

At 24,000 miles, it started to leak oil.

At 27,000 miles, the A/C did not work.

It's a rough ride, and I traded my Dodge Durango for it.

General Comments:

My 1998 Dodge Durango drove and worked better than this 2000 Navigator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2005

2000 Lincoln Navigator V8 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

Great Ride, Looks impressive on the road

Faults:

The defroster fan and the heater panel lights kick off and on after the ignition is off and the key is out. They run until the battery is dead.

The vehicle sets lower on the passenger side by about 2 inches when it is parked and empty.

General Comments:

I am in love with the Navigator. It looks and handles good at all times. There is plenty of room for everything, people or cargo. I will definitely trade it in for a 2005 one day. I like the fact that the 2005 had self storage for the third row seat when you need cargo space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2005

2000 Lincoln Navigator 5.4 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles

Summary:

Luxury ride that is bar none

Faults:

None So far.

General Comments:

My wife and I recently purchased a used 2000 model. So far it has not given us any issues or problems. As far as fuel consumption is concern it was no different than my 2000 Mercury Mountaineer V8. However, I did do some things that may help though such as replacing the air-filter with K&N, changing the oil to Mobil-1 full synthetic, modifying the air-box so that more air volume is taken and adding Redline fuel system cleaner. I did the same thing on my Mountaineer and the results were better gas mileage. I was very impressed with the ride quality. It's like a leather reclining chair on wheels. Smooth, hardly any bumps felt. Now going on long trips will much more enjoyable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th July, 2004

2000 Lincoln Navigator V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Galant

Summary:

The most comfortable and luxurious vehicle you'll ever own

Faults:

This is a wonderful vehicle with lots of luxuries! The only problem I have endured, is the sporadic sound that seems to radiate from the passenger side of the vehicle, near the engine. It sound somewhat like a jackhammer, but with a much lower pitch. I have never noticed a physical problem associated with the noise, but it is bothersome.

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable and luxurious vehicle you'll ever own - it makes riding in a Yukon similar to riding in a block-wheeled wagon! You can actually steer with 1 finger, because it handles so smoothly.

The ONLY drawback is the TERRIBLE gas mileage. I get approximately 12mpg in the city - which is usually where I reside. If the gas is not an issue - buy a Navigator - you'll be hooked!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th May, 2003

22nd Oct 2003, 07:37

I also drive a 2000 navigator. The hammerlike sound isn't as bad as the rumbling sound that the engine makes when you put the vehicle in drive. What is that sound and how can I get it fixed?

15th Nov 2004, 20:05

We have 62,000 miles on our '01 Navigator and just found out that #7 Cylinder Exhaust Valve is broken and will have to be replaced. We don't tow anything and can't imagine what would have put pressure on this to break. Dealer advises replacement valve is $1300 + other parts with labor comes to about $3K. Shouldn't we replace whole engine for little more than that. Have others had this problem? Should this happen at 62K miles???

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 6 reviews