1999 Lincoln Town Car Touring Sedan 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Best car for the money

Faults:

I had to replace several front end parts at about 125000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is unbelievably reliable. At 148000 miles it still runs and drives like new; no rattles or squeaks, and the leather is like new.

Not quite as comfortable as my previous 89 Town Car, but what it loses in comfort it gains in handling.

The Touring package is well worth the extra money; it's a shame they no longer offer that option.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2008

1999 Lincoln Town Car Executive 4.6L from North America

Summary:

American luxury and feel at its best

Faults:

Rear windows stopped going down.

Wet floor in rear passenger compartment.

Front brakes needed new pads.

General Comments:

This car is yank tank dream boat. I always matched this car with a bunch of old guys, but it is true about the story of "once you drive a Town-Car, there is nothing else on the road that even comes close to its comfort level".

Mechanically, it has been flawless. We drove to San Francisco from Seattle and back, and averaged 27.3 mpg. More importantly, we arrived feeling refreshed.

The seats are extremely comfortable (leather), the controls are easy to use. My only beef would be to have this vehicle a little higher off the ground (but I guess this would make it a SUV).

I would buy another Lincoln Town car. Overall, just a nice piece of American Luxury. It's a nice ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th January, 2008

16th Jan 2008, 19:39

I have driven my grandparents '99 Town Car (also an Executive Series) and I prefer my '99 Buick Park Avenue. The Buick is smaller by a bit, which is not really a great thing in my book; however the Buick is better looking in my opinion. The Buick's V6 is a lot more frugal than the Lincoln V8 though. I also really like front wheel drive in Northern Indiana. The Town Car is a very nice car, and unfortunately about the last of it's kind, but I love my Buick and won't buy anything else from now on. To be fair, the Town Car outlived the Park Avenue, but I really don't know why. It was a better deal and a nicer car as far as I'm concerned.

14th Jan 2012, 13:17

I think the Town Car is better than Buick, but I see where you're coming from. Ford's V8 could outdo your Buick's V6, but Ford made the mistake of shackling that proven powerhouse. I don't know why, but they do this with all 3 of their Panther platform cars, they almost want their cars to not pack enough punch. Seriously, Ford needs to step us its game with that Modular engine, it can do so much.

1999 Lincoln Town Car Executive 4.6L from North America

Summary:

Best luxury bargain available

Faults:

I have the complete history of this car since new and it has required nothing except routine maintenance items such as brake pads and battery.

General Comments:

I've owned six Lincolns in my life and this is head and shoulders above the earlier models.

The power, handling and monster 4 wheel disk brakes make it a joy to drive.

The build quality is outstanding, all Lincoln are manufactured at the Wixom plant and quality truly is job one for those folks.

Resale is terrible on these fine cars which makes it easier for me to own a nice used one! :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2004

19th Feb 2008, 01:36

Go head..it'll be the best automobile investment you'll ever make. Perfect combination of luxury, reliability, style, and comfort.

1999 Lincoln Town Car Cartier 4.6 litre from North America

Summary:

This car is not really a luxury car, except for price

Faults:

External temperature readout has gone bad twice. The sheet metal is easily dented. The CD player has broken down once.

General Comments:

My real complaint about this car is that the seats are very uncomfortable. The rear seats don't have correct contour or leg room. My 1991 was far more comfortable.

It is impossible to see where the corners of the car are when you back up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 18th June, 2003

19th Sep 2004, 09:22

I am very pleased with my 1999 Lincoln "Cartier" Town Car. Performance is superb. The ride is superb. The mechanics of this vehicle perform beautifully. I have been buying Lincolns since 1984 and I have enjoyed each and everyone. However, most long time owners have not adjusted to the all new style and ride give to the town car when it was redesigned for 1998. I have the 2003 but kept my 1999 because of it's style and comfort.

I will continue to enjoy the 1999 model (at 186,000 miles) other than a few sets of tires, no major repairs other than what would be expected............ normally!

7th Jul 2005, 20:58

To the above review, he's not a new owner, his previous car was a Town Car. Also, I can understand where he's coming from the the seat comfort. While they are big, thick, plush seats, they have virtually no support which makes it uncomfortable over time. Sit in most Euro cars, Audi, MB, VW, BMW, and when you first sit in the seats they feel too hard, but the longer you sit in them you understand why they are that way. They are build for long term durability and long distance comfort.

3rd Mar 2007, 22:05

The Cartier is too stylish and is not for the tastes of everybody.