2002 Lincoln Town Car Reviews

2002 Lincoln Town Car Signature 4.6L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired67100 miles
Most recent distance67300 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

So far... outstanding!

Faults:

None so far.

General Comments:

I've only had it a weekend, and it's outstanding. Roomy and super comfortable ride.

I spent the last two months looking at Cadillacs and Lincolns. After much research, I learned that even though I have always had and loved Cadillacs, that they just have too many issues/problems. The Lincolns, no matter what year, seem to have no major issues other than regular maintenance.

I finally found a 2002 TC with low miles (67K) and the right price. Thanks to all for posting on this site, and helping me make my decision easier.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2011

18th Jan 2011, 09:52

Excellent choice!!! I'm 22 and own a 98' Crown Victoria and a 95' Grand Marquis, which are in superb condition. If I had the money, there would be a 2011 Town Car Signature L in my driveway. There are NO cars currently built today that are as reliable as the Panther cars. The last cars to share the reliability of these were the Caprices and other body on frame cars that were discontinued in 1996. Best of luck with your intelligent choice, and you can check out my Crown Vic' review under the 1998 reviews. It's the LX one with 511 words. Congratulations!

31st Jan 2011, 12:31

Update: Just had a full tune-up done. Drove perfectly for a couple of weeks for about 700 miles. Noticed the spark plugs misfiring over the weekend and dropped it off. No biggie.

Every American car needs one in their lifetime.

2002 Lincoln Town Car Signature Series 4-Door Premiu 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired87000 miles
Most recent distance87500 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

One of the best riding and driving cars on the American Road

Faults:

Upon purchase, the brakes were replaced due to the mileage of the car.

No other problems noted.

General Comments:

Car drives very well, and handles well for a large car.

This Town Car is almost a duplicate of the Marquis, but somewhat quieter.

The Air Conditioning system on the full size Ford sedans don't seem to put out as cold of air as some of their mid-size models with regular A/C. This vehicle has automatic climate control.

The car is equipped with Memory Seats which I would prefer it didn't have - seems to be an extra that could go wrong later in years.

The car has a power moon-roof, and this is another option that I wouldn't purchase on a new car. I feel this takes a lot of the A/C out of the vehicle in cracks & crevices of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2006

2002 Lincoln Town Car Cartier 4.6 V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

The Lexus LS alternative in American fashion!

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

This is our second Town Car Cartier. We had a 1997 version that we traded in for the 2002 model. My wife and I really liked the 1997 a lot. It had 49000 miles on it when we traded it in. It was an ivory colored one.

As for the 2002 model that we still own? Well, we love it to death. This one is also ivory colored, but it's extremely more comfortable than the 1997 version. It's so much quieter inside, too! It's perfect for long pleasure trips, especially to the Atlantic City casinos like how we use ours sometimes. It'll get you to your pleasure trip safely, comfortably, quietly, and in pure Lincoln style and luxury.

So, if you are in the market for a car that blends American luxury, safety, quietness, comfort, and style, look no further! The Town Car Cartier has all of that, and is the perfect alternative to the Lexus LS model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th March, 2006

2002 Lincoln Town Car Signature from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carLincoln Continental

Summary:

One of the top luxury cars available today

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong - no problems.

General Comments:

This is my third Lincoln; the previous two were Continentals. Obviously, my satisfaction level with the Continentals was high and the same is true, so far, with the Town Car.

The added dimensions of the Town Car take some getting used to, especially parallel parking and negotiating narrow spaces.

I gave the Town Car an "8" for comfort, but this applies to the driver's seat only. I understand the front passenger seat and the rear seat are a "10" and considered the most comfortable ride available among cars today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

31st Jul 2003, 15:46

Town Car seems an odd name for a car which is awkward to parallel park and squeeze through gaps. The two things you do most in a town or city.

9th Sep 2004, 13:46

They aren't akward if you can drive. I have a 1978 and I have no problem getting around and parallel parking. The 1978 Continental Town Car is bigger than a 2002. Don't not buy a Town Car because of size.

30th Nov 2004, 03:03

I am a chauffeur with a limousine company that heavily relies on Town Cars for executive sedans to ten foot stretched cars. They aren't hard to park (I should know, driving a Datsun hatch). Harder than my Datsun yes, harder than most, no way. Even more so if you opt for the 'backing assist' or whatever they named it. Rear bumper sensors detect anything behind you when backing and sound 'beeps' via the stereo speakers that become more and more frequent as you approach what's behind you, then a solid tone when there's less than 6 inches...

28th Jul 2006, 20:26

The 2002 Lincoln (98 through '06) are a nice size car to be honest - much easier to handle than the big 70's models, and much improved over my 80's model Lincolns I owned. You need to try out some of the older ones in a parking lot!

Average review marks: 9.4 / 10, based on 4 reviews