1993 Mazda 121 Reviews

1993 Mazda 121 1.3 Manual from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 kilometres
Most recent distance78500 kilometres

Summary:

Great Run Around with good performance

Faults:

Clutch is starting to wear out, shouldn't be expensive to replace.

Reverse is hard to engage, doesn't always go into reverse, you need to put it into first then try again to get reverse.

Bit of a bad smell coming though Air Con.

That's It!!

General Comments:

Great little car with pretty good performance (when the air conditioner is off!!!)

Good handling, sticks to the road quite well except not in the wet! (like most front wheel drives) Can feel a bit dodgy to steer.

Nice big roomy interior, steering wheel may sit a bit low and tight for larger people, but I'm real skinny and its nice and comfortable. Back seat has heaps more room then other small cars, about a 15cm gap between seats when the front is far back.

Cheap to service, common little car that has cheap parts and easy to get.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2005

1993 Mazda 121 LX 1.2 from UK and Ireland

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance79000 miles
Previous carLand Rover Series 3

Summary:

Excellent small car, recomended

Faults:

Clutch was gone when I bought it. Wasn't too expensive to replace in a backstreet garage.

Alternator went at 73,000 miles. Bought a secondhand one from a scrap dealer for 30 euros. Was a bit of a pain to fit.

Door locks a bit sticky.

Reverse gear a bit hard to engage

General Comments:

This car is surprisingly fast for its size (and "old mans car" appearance).

Reasonably economical.

Interior leaves a lot to be desired, very plain and unpractical.

Surprisingly big boot.

Decent handling.

Good original speakers.

Comfortable seats for long distances.

Great paintwork. I've seen a lot of 93 models around and they all look brand new.

I would not even consider getting rid of this car yet if my girlfriend hadn't left the handbrake off on a hill and let it demolish someone's front door (and my left wing, bonnet, headlight, bumper etc)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2005

1993 Mazda 121 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Summary:

Good 1st buy, do not regret it. (Neither does my wife)

Faults:

- The clutch is worn out

- The shaft of the axle is worn out.

General Comments:

The fact that things are worn out does not make this car a bad choice, everything is worn out with time and usage.

In general I am very happy with the car for this price and it does not look bad either. When I go to another country again this could be my choice again.

Its cheap, reliable and is NOT ugly at all. Good buy and would consider buying it again if I would have to spend the same amount of money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2003

1993 Mazda 121 Sedan 1.3 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 kilometres
Most recent distance105000 kilometres

Summary:

A surprisingly zippy and reliable compact

General Comments:

I had always though the Mazda 121 would not perform particularly well and handle like a cheap small car. I was quite wrong. It handles superbly for a car of its type and has good acceleration provided the air condition is off.

For a larger person like me, the front seats are a tad too small, but my wife finds them comfortable.

The boot is surprisingly roomy and can fit a lot more in than you would expect for such a small car. In addition, it has split-fold rear seats for when you need even more room.

This car runs on the smell of an oily rag. I estimate about 5.5-6 Litres per 100 km.

On the down-side, the car does not feel very stable above 100km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

1993 Mazda 121 1.3litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 kilometres
Most recent distance88500 kilometres

Summary:

Cute, cheap and wonderful

Faults:

The leaver to pull the back seats down were broken when I bought the car.

The manifold got a large crack, which cost about $400 for a second hand replacement part, plus labour.

The right squirter for the windscreen hasn't worked since I bought the car.

The bumper bar, which is made of plastic has started to get cracks in it, even though there has not been any damage to the car itself, such as from an accident.

The paint on the roof of the car is starting to crack in appearance from not being garaged.

General Comments:

This car is my first car and I bought it because I have always loved the shape it.

It is very economical.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2002

1993 Mazda 121 1.2 litre fuel injected from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.2 litre fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 kilometres
Most recent distance74000 kilometres

Summary:

Absolutely gorgeous!

Faults:

The lever that is used to pull the back seats down has previously been broken.

The right hand side wind washer does not squirt water.

General Comments:

The car has an unbelievable amount of interior space.

This is my very first car and it has so far proven cheap, and reliable.

The air conditioner is a very handy extra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th December, 2001

1993 Mazda 121 LX 1.3 from Israel

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carMithubishi Lancer

Summary:

We bought it because of its funny shape, we keep it for its excellence

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

It goes and goes and goes...

Great value for money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2000

16th Jan 2001, 08:51

I am so desperate for a 121. Are they hard to come by in 2001? I live in Australia and don't see a whole lot of them around. HELP!

2nd Jul 2001, 03:27

I just bought a used 121 LX 1994.

The clutch need to be replaced, but I don't know if it's the car's problem or the bad driving style of the previous owner.

I also saw in the car's book that the axles were changed once. Besides that - nothing. In 7 years!!

23rd Jul 2001, 07:03

I have a 1994 Mazda 121. Also had clutch problem and had to change it for a little amount of money. Never had any other problems.

25th Jul 2001, 10:30

The cutest little car in town!!! I just own an automatic one, a 1994 model. I love this little girl and won't sell it, though many offered me much more than I payed for her when bought it. 121 fan!!

1st May 2010, 06:22

I just brought a Mazda 121 bubble 1993 for 2 thousand AU, and I hope I get the same out of it as everyone else, it sounds like I got a good buy. I'll let ya know how I go.

1993 Mazda 121 1.3 from Hong Kong

Year of manufacture1993
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10

Faults:

Brake light failure.

Nothing else at all.

General Comments:

Drives like the Mini should have, has the comfort and looks that the 2CV should have had. Japanese reengineering at its best.

Opening canvas roof is great. A/C works a dream.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 1999

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews