1997 Mazda 323 Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1997 Mazda 323 LXI 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Good looking car. Well worth the money

Faults:

Spark plug blew out of the head on a long journey.

General Comments:

This car is spot on handles well and good on fuel for a V6.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th October, 2006

1997 Mazda 323 Executive 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired121000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Very sexy car, especially inside

Faults:

None yet.

Just tyres.

General Comments:

Very nice car, has alloys, very nice inside, all black, nice dash, very nice bucket seats.

The only problem I find is that the indicators are on the wrong side (on the right), which gets confusing.

Good speed, and acceleration, very nice smooth gear changes and brakes.

Visibility is a bit reduced at the rear, but the car feels like you're sitting in a pilot seat, very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2006

1997 Mazda 323 ZXi 2.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired102000 miles
Most recent distance106000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Fast and underrated practical car

Faults:

Front anti roll bar links started knocking soon after buying, cheap to replace though.

Rocker cover gaskets have started to weep, but is a common problem apparently.

General Comments:

Is a comfortable car to drive, with lots of toys to play with including air con and sun roof.

Engine has to be worked to get the most of it, not much really happens below 4000rpm then it takes off with lots of smooth power!

The car handles well, but has a slightly hard ride, but this is to be expected on a sport model.

Normally returns about 30mpg if driven normally it will suffer if driven enthusiastically though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th March, 2006

1997 Mazda 323 GXI Innsbruk 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

Reliable - good build quality - cross continents no problem

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Best car I have owned in 30 years of driving different vehicles.

Totally reliable - reasonably economical and comfortable.

Bodywork is in good condition and even though it is now "getting on a bit" the design still looks good.

Fuel - average 37mpg

Tyres - Front 13k (195/55/15)

Exhaust - Rear Box replaced after 5 years

Front Pads - 25k.

Recommend 100%

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th October, 2005

1997 Mazda 323 Venetian 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired46000 miles
Most recent distance46900 miles
Previous carRenault Clio

Summary:

Different, but very enjoyable

Faults:

Only had the car 3 months so no real problems yet apart from when warm/hot it tends to nearly cut out when coming to a halt.

Couple of lamps have blown.

Passenger electric window stopped working.

General Comments:

A nice, quickish car to drive.

Good looking and a sporty feel to it.

Good handling and comfort.

Reliable so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th October, 2005

1997 Mazda 323 Zxi 2.0 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

The best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Alloys need refurbishing. That's it!

General Comments:

I can't tell you how much I rate this car. Before owning the 2.0 V6 I had the 1.8 Executive. The only fault I had with that was a window wiper arm going. I've had no problems with the Zxi though.

I regularly service the car at the main dealer which is a bit pricier than a local mechanic, but worth it in my opinion. I now need to get the alloy wheels refurbished, but this is the only thing other than the brakes (new pads) I will have had to get done since buying it. No mechanical faults during my two years of ownership and I've driven it into the ground!

A very forgiving car, reliable to a fault with lots of poke. The V6 engine makes a wonderful throaty grunt when pulling away and when overtaking. A definite wolf in sheeps clothing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2004

1997 Mazda 323 Astina hatch 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Faults:

Absolutely 100 percent reliable. Other than regular servicing the car never cost me anything. Can't fault this car in this respect.

The brakes are poor in my opinion, and the engine gutless.

Also you get a lot of road noise depending on the tires you run.

General Comments:

I had no problems whatsoever with this car. My problem is with the dealer and Mazda Australia.

The sales guy that I did the deal with went on holidays, so a week later when I came to pick up the car the sale had been handed to another salesman (salesperson?). I guess this guy was not getting any of the commission from the deal so he was not interested in me. After he made me wait forever he then basically threw me the keys and said see you later. At the same time I could see other customers picking up their cars and getting the red carpet treatment, including a a full run down of their car... I got none of this. Very poor service I thought.

My other complaint was that 6 months later the new model came out and Mazda dropped the price nearly $10,000!

Great for my resale value...NOT! How could they charge $32000 for my car, and then drop it down to nearly $22,000 for a newer and better model?

For this reason Mazda have blown it with me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th September, 2004

28th Feb 2007, 23:40

I love my Mazda 323 97 hatch astina.

No problems what so ever with the car, drives smooth very economical and reliable.

Interior is very impressive, the car looks great in and out.

An affordable sports car, definitely a head-turner.

You can't go wrong buying a Mazda astina, these cars can last a decade with no issues and you won't regret buying one.

My only 3 problems are:

- No cup holders

- No Cruise control and,

- No Remote Boot hatch release.

Minor issues that can be resolved, i've added these features to my car and now all i can say is 'perfect'.

Check out the body kits you can modify on this car, unique and sexy...

29th Mar 2007, 01:07

Funny you mention no cup holder etc...

I have all these features in my sexy astina and more.

I have a very rare limited edition 97 astina in charcoal grey metallic.

It has:-

Cup holders, boot hatch release, cruise control, coin tray, over ride key, "leather seats", amazing unusual fully electric spoiler sunroof (vent & open) & all electric etc... & way more features.

My astina 97 is worth at least $15,000 + I will modify the car, I'll get a nice kit & rims added to it.

I wonder how much it will be worth then?

Best of all It's mine and it runs superb, not a single problem.

So damn sexy in top condition in & out.

I've added sexy chrome tail lights at the back, it's even hotter.

I'll buy another Mazda car this year, but I won't sell this sexy astina. It's that damn good!!!

5th Nov 2007, 19:44

Yeah you must have the import version; only 200 came from japan sold around the world, you're very lucky.

I was actually looking for one, where did you get yours may I ask???

It has higher torque and kilo WATTS, and extra features & better built.

I have a standard bright rich red Mazda 323 Astina, but I've modified it; 17inch chrome rims, lowered, chrome tail lights, full body kit, neon lights exterior and interior.

Overall good very attractive, mechanically perfect, strong motor and worth every cent.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 19 reviews