1985 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1985 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance720000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz Mercedes

Summary:

The best $20,000 I ever spent perfect

Faults:

Air conditioning compressor had to replaced.

Water pump Replaced.

General Comments:

A very smart compact car. Build quality exceptional looks very nice. Reliability unbelievable, parts easy to obtain.

Customer service outstanding.

Very smooth quite car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2004

17th Sep 2004, 17:08

I just purchased a 1985 190E used with 113,000 miles on it-original owner and she had every mile accounted for in service record.

So far, only problem is with air conditioning. Considering its age-it still looks very nice, and the body and interior are immaculate. I have never owned a Mercedes before-I hope I get my 2000 dollars worth!

10th Jun 2009, 12:53

I love the 1985 Mercedes Benz 190e 2.3 8 valve engine. It's a great engine to work on... But because it's a Mercedes, there is a LOT of work to do. I'm rebuilding one myself to high performance. I'm 17, and this is my first car and I love it very much. I'm hoping to make this car real fast when I'm through.

If you want to make one high performance, you must get all your internal parts custom made, like a forged camshaft, forged crankshaft, forged pistons and forged rocker arms. You also need racing bearings.

This Mercedes has a two piece drive shaft, which isn't bad, but if you're wanting to make it go over 180 mph, you must make it a one piece or you'll twist it.

Also, increase the brake caliper size, rotors, and pads. A rebuilt tranny is a must-and a bigger torque converter (if it's an automatic like mine). The cylinder head is aluminium. You must get it refabricated... And there's much more, but for it to stay stock - it's wonderful and a beast of its own.

1985 Mercedes-Benz 190 190E 2.3 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 kilometres
Most recent distance235000 kilometres
Previous carAudi 90

Summary:

All you NEED form Mercedes!

Faults:

The car is a very solid ride. However, it needs to be babied (Hence the nick name Baby Benz.)

My Timing Chain blew at 230,000 km.

Upper Strut mounts blew 232,000 km.

Window Motor (4) regulators went 200,000km.

General Comments:

The 1985 190e is a very reliable and do it your self maintenance vehicle.

A Great car and a pleasure to work on.

A excellent everyday car, even though it is old!

Not good for passengers in the rear, however makes a good two seater!

The best of the best from Mercedes in its class.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2004

1985 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired105628 miles
Most recent distance105628 miles
Previous carJeep Comanche

Summary:

A nice ride

Faults:

A week after I bought the car the transmission went out. I had it rebuilt.

$1,100.00.

The alternator froze about two weeks later.

$75.00 (used)

When the alternator froze the car got a little hot and the radiator cracked where the top hose is.

$100.00 (used)

And, of course,

The A/C doesn't work,

The power antenna doesn't work,

The right rear window doesn't work.

The odometer is broken.

All relatively minor things you would expect out of a 17 year old car.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable to drive.

The handling is better than I had expected for a car this old.

It gets awesome fuel mileage.

The back seat is a little cramped for taller people, but I'm 5'5" so it doesn't bother me a bit. And I'm always driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th July, 2003

1985 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

A Baby, but a real Benz

Faults:

Valve job at 120k miles, was leaking 1 quart of oil per 750 miles. After the $850 repair, the car leaked zero oil until she died from a collision at 152k.

Rebuilt M-B tranny at 130k miles for $1800.

Replaced control arm and stabilizer bushings at 110k. Easy job, cheap rubber.

Needed engine mounts and tranny mounts at 150k.

Vacuum pump (for locks) died at 135k.

A/C system died at 145k miles.

General Comments:

This car was underpowered for a M-B, but makes a good starter Mercedes. She drove like a dream and kept me alive in a head-on collision with an oil truck at 152k miles.

Interior never faded; Dashboard never cracked, M-B Tex interior never cracked or was damaged. Exterior paint never chipped, cracked, faded or even lost her luster. In all, a solid, solid little car.

I am 6'2" and 260lbs; she was under-sized for me. I still drove her as a daily driver for 4 years, but she was a little small.

Many of the problems and woes from critics of the earlier models (the '83 Euro and the '84 US 190Es) WERE fixed in this first correction iteration.

Knowing what I know now, I would still buy another 190E, but would look for the 2.6L and 1987 or later (for the airbags).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2003

10th Jan 2005, 08:42

I also own a gray market 1985 Mercedes 190E, 5 speed manual trans. I've found it to be a superbly built, comfortable, reliable, and actually sporty car for daily commuting. (Lowered 1.5", silver paint, late model Mercedes wheels look great on it) The heater blower only works occasionally. Loose connection I'm sure, but what do you want from a 20 year old car with over 220,000 miles on it? That's the only problem with the car. I'm very pleased with it overall!

10th Feb 2010, 13:48

My dad and mother crashed 3 years ago their 190E 1987 against a parked truck by the middle of the night at 80kms per hour. They survive well, my mother just got a minor hit at the forehead.

This little tank accomplished what we expected from a Mercedes.

Now, we only drive Mercedes.

18th Feb 2010, 02:07

I bought my Mercedes Benz E190 1985 model in 2001 as a used vehicle.

To date I have not opened the engine, not even the top cylinder.

I have not parked it for more than a month. Use it an average of 6 days a week. Service it every three months.

I don't want to drive another car, other than Benz.

17th May 2010, 18:21

I have an 85 190 and it's an awesome car. THE BIGGEST PROBLEM WITH IT, and I have had it since 1985, I am the original owner, and ever since it came from the factory, the windows have always sucked. I've gotten them fixed at the dealer, but they still keep breaking. That is my only issue with this car.

23rd May 2010, 13:47

I bought my 1985 190-e new. I have 79,000 miles and it drives like a new car, quiet and a super ride. No rust and in showroom condition. This little Benz rides and drives like the big ones.

1985 Mercedes-Benz 190 D 2.0 diesel from Germany

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired117000 kilometres
Most recent distance130000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

It's kind of a couch on wheels

Faults:

Just some small problems I could solve with a screwdriver. e.g. the back lights didn't work properly.

Once I've had a strange noise that just disappeared a few days later. It came from the belt in front of the engine, so I didn't care much about it.

General Comments:

The car isn't very strong. Just around 75PS out of 2.0l diesel. That could be better, but when you're not in a hurry, it is enough. I went 170 km/h, specified value for maximum speed is 160.

It's very economic, when I go 120 on the highway, I need less than 6l on 100km.

And this car is incredibly comfortable. The seats are great, even after 17 years, the handling is smooth, but nevertheless feels safe.

Just a 5th gear would be nice, so I could go faster without wasting fuel.

After all, I think my next car will be a Mercedes again, I hope the newer models also feel that good and comfortable and smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2003

4th May 2004, 18:37

I have a 2.2L 1985 190D and it gets about 41mpg doing about 55mph. When it comes to pickup most of the time it's very fast, but sometimes it's very slow like it won't move. I do not understand it because the engine and transmission is in perfect condition. It's funny how this car is supposed to be slow, yet I can outrun everyone when the light turns green.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews