1986 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.0 from UK and Ireland


The perfect car, if you have small rear passengers and get fuel injection


General wear and tear, eg exhaust, sensors for coolant and screenwash.

Recurrent carburettor trouble (see below).

Leak at rear window into boot - fixed using silicone sealant around rubber seal.

Lock for boot and ignition switch.

General Comments:

The 190 has the best seats I have ever had in a car. Sadly, the rear legroom is limited.

The boot is enormous.

It is extremely easy to drive and park, and has a tiny turning circle.

It feels very well put together, it runs quietly and smoothly, like a much larger car, and generally is a delight to own and use.

There has been one niggling problem, though. Some early 190s had a Pierburg carburettor. This requires a lot of expert adjustment, and needs to be kept topped up with oil if the car is to run properly. Not all mechanics, even those specializing in Mercs, seem able to adjust them correctly. If you can find one who knows (and cares) what he's doing, the car will run like a dream, otherwise, it will seem strangely underpowered. Significantly, Mercedes switched to fuel injection early on in the 190's history, and also used an alternative carburettor, the Stromberg.

I avoid the franchised dealers, as they are expensive, and use independent Merc specialists who, apart from apparent unfamiliarity with the Pierburg carburettor at one, have been excellent.

The number of old 190s and 190Es on the roads suggests that these are very robust, good value cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2003

20th Feb 2012, 13:09

I just saw a Mercedes 190 with a carburetor. The dealer told it was Solex or something like that. Honestly, I don't know if that will create the same problems like the ones you had, or will be better or worse. Please, can you give me any advice on how to check if it's worth the price and the purchase?

Price: $3500.00 (negotiable).

Model: Mercedes Benz 190 saloon 1986.

Mileage: Around 104,000.

Gearbox: Manual.

Engine: I was told it is 1.9. I don't know if it is the same as the 2.0 you are talking about.

Thanks for your help.

1986 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3 Gasoline from North America


Great performing bargain


-Small leak of oil that I don't know where from.

-The air conditioning doesn't hold a charge for more than a week (need new hoses).

-Master cylinder finally went around 150000 miles.

-Bottom of the front doors are rusted out badly and starting so show very little on the front passanger door.

+I have changed the rest just because I wanted to.

-Added a cold air induction kit from a 2002 Ford Focus with K&N filter (custom lathing needed to fit).

-Newer shocks because the old ones were too stiff.

-Changed wood interior to brushed aluminum. (custom milled)

-Newer AMG high chrome 15" Rims.

General Comments:

This is a great kid car. With me being only 16 Years old I can say that its not a very expensive car.

It is a great performing car, but still not big enough to attract attention from the cops.

Very modern looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2002

12th Dec 2008, 18:35

That's awesome to hear that it's a good car. I am 19 years old and currently looking for an inexpensive 1st car, and am looking at an 86 190e with 274,000kms, and also an 88 190e with 120,000kms on them. Both are 2.3 litre engines. I was just wondering how much insurance would be for one of these? I have been driving for 3 yrs and have a clean record with no accidents or speeding tickets. Thanks.

1986 Mercedes-Benz 190 E Daimler 2.0 (chipped) from UK and Ireland


Exxellent car. Youngsters max em out


My own fault:

Left the water cap off and blew the head gasket, but found out after 8 months (£795). Once they repaired it they never polished the head properly so they had to change it again.

Not my fault:

In four years failed only one MOT because the 50mm lowering springs were broken (£150).

Heater matrix went and cost £460.

General Comments:

I recommend this car for the youngsters, especially because you can do them out to the max. On mine I have got: Evo 2 wide arch bodykit with an Evo spoiler, Mongoose full stainless steel exhaust, 18" Khan wheels, sec look grille and many other extras.

Interior wise I have got full cream bucket seat leather (seats 4 people only), wooden gear knob and wheel. The whole dash and doors are wooden, but my insurance is a bomb!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

1986 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.0 from UK and Ireland


Engineering of the highest quality


Exhaust needs welding on the join of a downpipe.

Sun visor loose.

Otherwise everything works like new on a 14 year old car - incredible.

General Comments:

Never driven anything like it, comfort is in a complete class of its own, roadholding superb, power steering to die for.

Nice alloys on mine, polished up she turns heads every day.

Proud to own one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th November, 2000

1986 Mercedes-Benz 190 E Cosworth 2.3 16V petrol from UK and Ireland


Cold start relay (£122).

Water pump (£200).

Rear door window motor.

Radiator (Twice).

General Comments:

Good car, but main dealers don't seem to know too much about this model.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 1999

23rd May 2001, 16:06

I have the same car. What price range would you recommend selling it at?


18th Jul 2006, 08:57

Good car, but years doing their bad things...

22nd Nov 2009, 00:25

You're right about main dealers..

We had our Cosworth-Benz in for service and it came out thoroughly neutered.

I phoned long-distance and had a heated debate with Service Manager and Mechanic. I TOLD them that they had retarded the ignition timing, and was informed this was preset so changing it was impossible.

FINALLY after my insistence the mechanic conceded that there were 4 "clicks" on the computer for different grades of petrol. They had set the wrong "click".

I took the car back (3 hours' drive, each way, we were up-country) and got charged another 2 hours' labour to fix THEIR mistake!

Also the BIG chief told me how little my car was worth (in dollars, not usefulness/transport/fun etc) when I complained.

TaTa! to this outfit!

Sadly written in New Zealand..

1986 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.3 16v from UK and Ireland


In thirteen years:

Exhausts - 2

Batteries - 2

Rear shock absorbers

Ignition barrel

General Comments:

High performance, enjoyable drivers car.

For its age, still elegant, luxurious and desirable apart from the rear seating which some find uncomfortable but as I am the driver I'm not worried about this....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 1999