1992 Mercedes-Benz 190 Reviews - Page 3 of 5

1992 Mercedes-Benz 190 2.6L from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.6L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired274000 kilometres
Most recent distance276500 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable, funny to drive and comfortable

Faults:

Nothing big has gone wrong, since I am the second owner of the car and it has been on maintenance more often than scheduled, and every problem was solved quickly.

Only thing I should do: Brakes (4 discs + Pads), because car did run about 5000 km in the last 2 years.

I also should change a tie rod.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, has a good handling and not so bad gas mileage (if running on 91 or more octane, otherwise you will see your tank empty within a few hours...).

This is not a sport car, but always have more power to give, no matter how fast you are going.

Also very reliable, and feels heavy and safe when driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th July, 2008

1992 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.6 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.6 Automatic
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

Awesome teenage ride!

Faults:

Transmission issues, although, this could be due to all sorts of reasons;

1. I suck at driving

2. My father has a problem with buying vehicles with problems or that are known for having them.

3 Being a teenager.

AC doesn't work anymore, and only one vent works for the heater.

Blown 2 tires in 4 months. Not really the car's fault, it's just an annoying thing for me.

Changed the stereo and two front speakers. Added 2 12" subs in the trunk over the summer and LOVE the bass. Although the trunk being right behind the back seats makes the sound distorted. So it's loud, but not defined, but I'm happy with that. It's enough to make 7-11's windows shake.

General Comments:

I feel lucky to have owned this car at 18 years old. I get comments from older drivers on my car which is going on 15 years now. I bought this car from an old couple who didn't drive it all that much for a bargain! Only 2k! I even get comments from my friends on how 'pimp' my car is.

All in all: Awesome car, smooth ride, fun to ride/drive, head turner and it's a beast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2007

17th Dec 2007, 14:28

Dude, I know how it is. I'm 16 and I drive a '91 300E 4MATIC. I drive it to school every day. It is an awesome car and my girlfriend loves it. And the car has made me popular in school. Man, benzes kick ass!

21st Dec 2007, 12:49

What sort of transmission issues are you having?

I had transmission issues too when I bought it. It turned out to be a disconnected Vacuum hose that goes from the tranny to the intake manifold. Total cost of replacement 6$. And now the tranny shifts smoothly.

25th Jul 2009, 00:17

I am 17 and I have a C230 2000 (W202) that I take to school every day. I travel summer time with it a lot, I race with it LOL, A/C works no problem at all.

My friend has a 190 and his car is pretty much like mine. Everything is fine with it and it has 76 000Km.

MERCEDES IS AN AMAZING CAR on performance, reliability, comfort, easy to drive, smooth, cool, beautiful...

10th Jul 2010, 00:24

Dude, I'm 17 and have a 1992 190 2.6, it's got over 215,000 miles and it still runs like a beast. This thing is a tank.

6th May 2012, 14:11

Only the side vents give heated air on the 190. The centre ones provide fresh air only.

1992 Mercedes-Benz 190 E 2.2 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carCadillac Catera

Summary:

Slug disguised as a cheetah

Faults:

Brakes wear extremely quickly and have been replaced many times.

Engine heats up at high speeds.

Coolant tank exploded.

Automatic gear shift is dodgy at times.

Car can pull strongly to left at high speeds.

Rear electric windows are broken.

Sunroof motor is very slow.

General Comments:

This car is good looking and has an air of class about it.

The 2.2 engine is very sluggish and seems to small for the size of the car.

Very dull interior with the exception of a nice wood trim.

Not very spacious and rear passengers complain about the tight squeeze.

Good black paint job with only minor rust spots.

Top speed of 108mph is very disappointing.

Luckily managed to sell it on for a good amount and now have a far superior 1993 BMW 320i.

Mercedes service was very poor, so I used a third party.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th April, 2006

24th Apr 2006, 14:22

I also had a poor experience with my 190. Nothing major went wrong, but the top speed was unacceptable for a 2.2 petrol engine.

John UK.

24th May 2006, 18:04

I don"t get it, these 2.2 engines must be American spec and totally strangled by emission laws because I have a U. K 1.8 auto and only last week saw 115mph on the speedo (only kidding Mr Plod) and I know that the U. K 2.0 will do over 120mph.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 14 reviews