1998 Mercedes-Benz A-Class 160 Elegance 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good, but not up to Mercedes' usual standard

Faults:

On collection I found that the driver's seat was "crunching" underneath me. Returned the car to the garage under the Signature Warranty for repair. On collecting the car was told by the garage that they had pulled off and broken the seat adjustment handle and would have to order one for me.

One mile from garage seat collapsed again. Returned to garage for new seat and new adjustment handle. All now OK.

Approximately 500 miles ago rattling coming from under front of car. Took car to Mercedes dealer who said it was "torsion bar brackets" and will be repaired under same warranty in 4 weeks time. Car now rattles and rumbles constantly.

General Comments:

A nice car, a little firm on suspension, but a delight to drive. I have the Automatic Clutch System which is an attractive feature and definitely saves driver effort.

Leather seating and other trim of a high order with some well thought out features.

Would like a speed adjustment on the intermittent screen wipe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1998 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Elegance 160 ACS from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Damn good try at a genuinely new approach, but wait for the 2005 model

Faults:

Creaking dashboard and seats.

Rear trailing arms replaced under warranty.

Front discs squeaking horribly (new discs cured)

Paint is very vulnerable to scratches.

General Comments:

Incredibly practical car (excepting its 11 foot long) when all the seats come out.

Not however a blast to drive - nippy, yes, but steering is a let down; woolly and under geared.

Ride on poor surfaces is frankly terrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 2002

1998 Mercedes-Benz A-Class A140 Classic 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The benchmark of a small family (2 adults + 2 children) car

Faults:

Absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever owned. No complaints at all. Sure, all cars have their strengths and weaknesses (including the A Class) however, as an overall package, an excellent car and a pleasure to drive and own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2001

1998 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Elegance 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The only car you'll ever need

Faults:

Nothing. A complete contrast to our previous 2 years with VW! The car has a signature warranty and 4 years breakdown cover anyway if anything should happen God willing.

General Comments:

The car has proved itself over and over again. It is surprisingly comfortable, for the four of us, has a high seating position which is not only safe but easy to put the children in their car seats and the shopping in the boot.

The dealer we purchased from was pleasant and any others we've been in contact with have been excellent too.

A number of people have asked us about it and I could have sold it umpteen times over. Pity I'm not on commission!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

30th Jan 2002, 03:06

Personally I think you are on commission, this sounds like you may work for MB? If not, you must own the one good car in a million A-class'es.

The A-Class is a crappy little car, no leg room, always going wrong, my grandad has a Robin Reliant, I'm thinking of getting one as it's more reliable than my A-class!

From a very disgruntled MB owner.

30th May 2005, 15:10

I agree with the person who did the review and not with the one that commented. I have two A160. One has already 125000kms and nothing has gone wrong. The other one has 35000 and has nothing wrong either. These are very reliable and durable cars. At this point I am not even thinking about selling any of them.

21st Oct 2005, 14:18

My A-Class 160 is a great little car; cheap to run, and nice to drive.

21st Oct 2005, 21:01

My A-Class had 7 warranty repair jobs and a destructive engine failure before 67,000km. The W168 series had numerous engineering faults and common problems so I find it very difficult to believe anyone could drive one for over 5 years and have no problems whatsoever.

8th Dec 2007, 12:43

Well, I am the person who did the second comment two years ago. I still have both A-160s. One has 63,000kms and not a single problem, and the other one has 170,000kms and I haven't even changed the battery; just wiper rubbers and light bulbs (few) by the way. I drive at maximum speed with the same ease as when it was new. Nothing sounds unadjusted. It is a great car, as durable and dependable as the best.

3rd Jul 2009, 00:58

I have an A160 with 201,000kms in the clock and I have never experienced a problem. It is an amazing car. A joy to drive, and I can completely rely on it. It is actually still on the original battery! This is the most reliable car I have owned.

Cheers.

1998 Mercedes-Benz A-Class Classic 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Glove box handle fell off, bubbling paint finish on rear hatch, fuse failures.

General Comments:

I found Mercedes attitude to complaints highly patronising. Paint faults were nothing to do with them. I would advise purchasers to inspect their new vehicles very carefully and reject the car immediately if faults are found.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th February, 1999