1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class 240 2.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance69000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

Appalling

Faults:

Air Mass meter.

Brake servo poor on start-up.

Gearbox (no reverse after braking to stop)

Suspension.

Water ingress in fog lights.

Poor paint finish.

Aircon sensor.

General Comments:

A very poor Mercedes. When I sold it the car needed over £2000 worth of work. I lost over £6000 in 12 months. Never again Mercedes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

29th Jan 2010, 07:02

To think an E class is a BAD BAD car... did you buy it new? I think you re the ONLY person with that much bad luck.. was it from the scrap yard maybe..? :-)

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class E320 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz E-Class

Summary:

Nice to look at, but fell apart at the end

Faults:

Electrical system was a minor problem which caused bulbs to burn out frequently (at least once every 3-4 weeks).

The air conditioner blower unit went out at 90,000 miles. It was expensive to replace (about $1,000 USD)

The transmission completely failed at 105,000 miles. The repair was $5,700 USD.

General Comments:

This car was a dream the first few years of ownership, but quickly became a major problem. I took care of it properly and only took it to the dealer for service. I found out from the mechanic that the years 1997-2001 are starting to have major transmission issues. I was very disappointed. I would be very hesitant to purchase another Mercedes model unless I am certain that there will not be major mechanical problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

8th Apr 2007, 06:58

I am starting to "enjoy" the faults that is now surfacing regularly and now budgeting about 2000 dollars per year towards the repair.

The next big repair would be fixing broken engine mounts, and the instrument panel starts displaying "Display Defective" notice. I just spent >$1000 in replacing the air mass sensor and broken rear electric window motor.

It is sad that a brand that has been perceived of being the peerless leader in innovations and over-engineering is now getting a lot of bad owners' reports. I have been used to the reliability of Japanese cars that frequent problems like these are not acceptable.

1998 Mercedes-Benz E-Class Avantegarde 2.4 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.7 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Previous carCaterham 7

Summary:

A good car

Faults:

Rear electric window fault, loose gear knob, beyond that it is perfect.

General Comments:

This is a good vehicle for general touring and getting from A to B in a comfortable manner. At 1.7 tons this vehicle is a dog at speed.

Due to the weight, the chassis seriously struggles to cope when pushed. The brakes do not instil confidence either. I have found that the ABS lacks 'bite' and that the brakes are prone to extreme fading at speed.

This is my first auto box, so I can't really comment as to how good or poor it is. my only gripe is that there is no real acceleration in the 0-30mph range which can be dangerous when pulling out of junctions or when trying to get out of trouble. Conversely 30-120mph is quite rapid.

Beyond these gripes, this car is not a sportscar it is a comfy sedan that is meant to waft you from A to B in comfort. This it does admirably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2003

10th May 2004, 13:46

I think the handling is great for a car of this size. Surly anything would feel sloppy after a Caterham 7!!!

4th Jan 2005, 20:36

Did you notice that the 98 mercedes benz e class has 4 spare slots for more speakers.

2 at the back and 2 for the front why?

13th Aug 2006, 14:44

We drove a '99 Mercedes E-class. Our car came with 8 speakers in total. 2x tweeters in the front doors, 2x speakers in lower front doors, 2x speakers in lower rear doors and 2x bass speakers behind rear seat. One of the better quality standard sound systems I have encountered in a car. Maybe your speakers were stolen?

10th Sep 2009, 06:29

I don't care how many speakers this benz has got in total. The vital thing is that this model is unreliable and costs a fortune to fix. Stay away from any Mercedes made between 1994 and 2006, as they are very poor quality cars.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 12 reviews