1984 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1984 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 280SE 2.7 CC from Cyprus

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 CC Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance78500 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Engineered like no other car in the world

Faults:

Nothing really just an exhaust blow and the rear door panel needed replacing that's it.

General Comments:

Great car to be owned, perfect cruiser and at high speeds it's very quiet. All the electrics work, and it has a lot, GREAT CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2007

14th Mar 2007, 10:35

Your Mercedes may be okay, but down buy a new one! The current issue of Consumer Reports does not recommend a single Mercedes model! Every model has worse than average or much worse than average reliability!

23rd Apr 2009, 10:39

Eh, it's a different story with the old ones. The reliability problems are due to Daimler Chrysler's cut in expenses during later years. So they are not as well made as the old ones. The old cars from Mercedes-Benz are the most reliable cars in the world. They were overengineered to meet high quality standards.

11th Jun 2009, 15:47

Oh, come on guys; new Mercedes are fantastic. I have an A class (A-160) from 2000 with 200,000kms and have never had a single problem; the car has almost 10 years and I haven't even changed the battery! Only regular service, two light bulbs and two -of 3- wipers! These are fantastic cars, and A class are low rated in many surveys. One wonders how surveys are done...

Cheers.

12th Jun 2009, 17:20

There will always be the odd one or two GOOD cars in a batch known for being reasonably troublesome. Mercedes from the '90s are not the indestructible over-engineered tools they were previous to it.

If you're a-class has been trouble-free, lucky you. You also probably have a manual. My neighbour downstairs works at a Mercedes dealership as a mechanic, and he just wouldn't touch one. It's surprising, but even at a dealership, they can overhaul a Mercedes automatic gearbox for an S- or C-class for NZ$4000, but the A-class costs $6800 because of the valve body which has a design fault.

Mercedes has made efforts in the last few years to bring its dependability back; that neighbour of mine did say that the latest ones haven't been coming back for warranty repairs anywhere near as frequent as the '90s ones, so here's to hoping. As is, they've already alienated a few customers.

1984 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 500 EC 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance160000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 1959 Ford Pickup

Summary:

My 1984 500 SEC is a very well build and innovated car that feels great to drive

Faults:

The first day the AC compressor failed. It was replaced with little cost and time.

While giving "her" a bath I noticed the sunroof leaks on the front corners.

General Comments:

I recently recently bought this car here in Kuwait. There were not many cars in the same price range to consider. I chose one that was heavy because there are many accidents here and I need safety when my wife is with me. This car, although 22 years old, has been garage parked and is in very nice shape, inside and out. Parts and repair is not expensive here in Kuwait and easily available. I have fell deeply in love with the feel of this car and the way it handles. There are many small detail problems to work on, none really needed, but it will bring me closer to a true understanding of this classic. Now I am very happy that my choice was a Mercedes Benz.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2006

1984 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 300 SD 3.0 turbo diesel from North America

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired318902 miles
Most recent distance330500 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Eclipse

Summary:

One hell of a car, with great looks

Faults:

-Air cleaner housing bracket broke, making the box rattle bad - changed $15

-Odometer didn't work when I bought it.

-Engine shock absorbers were gone when I got it.

-Sunroof didn't work

-Needed New glow plugs

-Glow plug relay went out about 6 months after I bought it. Simple fix, low cost $70 + labor

- #1 Injector leaked, needed new hoses and some adjustments $250 + labor.

- Tranny leak, just keep on adding Lucas.

General Comments:

A really awesome car!! The above problems, weren't really big deal. The Air cleaner bracket just needed to be replaced, relatively simple to do, if you can get your hands in there.

The glow plug relay blew, which made the car to turn over, but not start. I had it fixed as I couldn't find the problem myself. That plus the injector lines, all fixed, relatively inexpensive.

I haven't had any problems since, and the car ran perfect, looked perfect and a joy to drive.

I upgraded it a little here and there, and it was by far, My Baby! I loved it, cherished it, and finally let it go, as I wanted something else.

It's really a great car, which needs little to no exceptional maintenance. Change the oil and regular specified maintenance, and those lovely 300SD's run for 600k miles easy.

I would buy one again in the near future, as it is I might say, one of the best cars for that age on the road, that still hasn't aged that much, and looks fantastic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2005

28th Nov 2008, 14:31

I bought my 1984 300SD in 1992 with 157,000 miles on it. After a few months of flawless operation, I contacted the original owner and asked why he'd sold such a fine car. He answered that he'd become "afraid of the high mileage." Ha! It now has well over 300,000 (practically carefree) miles on it... with no major problems at all... This big car gets a shade over 31 mpg on the highway and between 24 to 26 mpg in town (I'm an ex-semi driver and retired commercial pilot.)

Aside from my son's nagging me to buy a new car,I love this car and intend to keep it until I "kick the bucket." I'm 78. Go Diesel!

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 14 reviews