1988 Mercedes-Benz S-Class Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 300 SEL 6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired245000 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles
Previous carFord F350

Summary:

Classic

Faults:

I have had no real problems with the car. I am at the point that I would like to put some cash into making it a daily driver. And would like to know of some ideas.

General Comments:

The car runs great for 20 years old. I am not looking for it to do 100mph. I would however like to make it stand tall once again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th September, 2008

26th Feb 2010, 16:58

I was born in 1988 and was looking up cars that were built around that time, and I took a liking to the SEL 300. It looks good, and have seen 1 or 2 still being driven around. I'm hoping once I get settled and get a job, I will buy one. Pheto Mongale.

27th Dec 2011, 15:24

I have one that I've reconditioned tremendously. I'm in southern California, if you are still looking for one, let me know.

Peter.

1988 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 420 SEL 4.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.2L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired236549 miles
Most recent distance236690 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Thank you Jesus!

Faults:

Nothing to complain about this car just drivers seat leans toward the door. and there is a sound of the vent doors closing when I start the car.

General Comments:

I am in love. I read about the timing chain and from what I see this car was well cared for. I am the second owner and I paid 2000 so if I get 50000 miles from it I made money. I look forward to driving this car for a long time. A/C works everything works on the car I know why people buy these cars will buy a another one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2008

27th May 2008, 18:14

WOW I am sold on the fact that your car has well over 200k on the odo. I'm looking at one of these to buy and have heard nothing but good...I'm going to take your recommendation here and join the 88 420S club! Thanks for a great review.

18th Oct 2010, 19:37

What a car, what a car.

1988 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 420Sel 4.2 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51796 miles
Most recent distance52049 miles
Previous carBMW 7 Series

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

To Date I have had no issues with this automobile.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable, quiet and long distance driving is what it's best suited for. I would recommend this car to anyone who was looking for a vehicle with long term running potential and a rock solid investment. Anyone interested in purchasing contact me at anthony8199@comcast.net.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th March, 2007

15th Mar 2007, 22:26

The only problem with these cars are the cost. They might run forever, but when something breaks it cost at least a grand. I put about $5000 a year in my 1991 560SEL to keep it going. I love the car so I keep dumping money into it. I have a 2003 S500 but I always end up driving the old one.

1988 Mercedes-Benz S-Class 560SEL from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

Wonderful Driving Car

Faults:

This is my 4th Mercedes, the others were a 380SEC, and 2 300 series diesels.

I love this machine, and it performs as to my expectations. However it does not get the fuel mileage of any of the other Mercedes Benz that I have owned, but it is a much bigger car. The only complaint that I have about the car and this has been true on most all Mercedes Benz is the driver's seat springs on the door side seem to break down. This only happens with the tex type seats rather than the full non perforated leather seats like the SEC and the later 560 SEL's have in them.

General Comments:

I would like to find a complete seat set in the 1990 560SEL in the tan color to completely replace the seats. They should be equipped the same and have the same frame and heaters much as this one have. This car is a very comfortable car and a pleasure to drive. It does not hug the road as my previous SEC did, but as far as a family sedan it is well worth keeping it around. All of the Mercedes that I have owned I did not part with them till they had at least 175,000 miles on them. Never any problems except a water pump on the SEC. They do need to be driven and run on the freeway at greater than 80mph occasionally to clean the injectors and power the oil through the engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2005

16th Mar 2010, 02:12

From a fellow owner of a 560 SEL... Thaaaaank you!

1988 Mercedes-Benz S-Class SEL 4.2 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.2 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carAudi 5000

Summary:

Best car I have ever owned!

Faults:

Noise is starting to develop from underneath the car. But I think it may be the rubber hangers from the exhaust system.

General Comments:

Performance and comfort are the two words that come to mind when I speak about this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2002

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 10 reviews