2005 Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren from North America - Comments

9th Jun 2005, 13:46

I agree with the last statement. You people buy cars that are soo expensive, you shouldn't care if it even got 1/2 mile per gallon. Oh and speaking of fuel costs and speed, the old 1976 C-111 5-cylinder turbo diesel 230HP@4400-4600rpm got 14.7mpg doing 195.4 miles per hour (imagine the mpg at 55mph?!lol), with a top speed of 211MPH 0-60 in a little over 4 seconds.

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren

Top Speed 207.00 mph

Fuel economy EPA highway (mpg) : 18 and EPA city (mpg) : 13.

I thought technology was improving!

9th Jun 2005, 13:59

2005 Mercedes-Benz SLR McLaren

Coefficient of drag: 0.37.

1976 c-111

Coefficient of drag: 0.191.

-Oh and I got the C-111 facts from an old "Chilton's diesel guide book#6754" by James Joseph copyright 1980. The SLR stuff came from the internet.

19th Jul 2005, 10:21

If I was so wealthy that I could afford to buy a McLaren SLR, I don't think I would be putting a review of it on a car site like this one (as good as it is). Simply because I would be lounging about on my yacht in Monaco harbour surrounded by hoards of girls with a large cool drink in my hand.

24th Jul 2005, 11:18

I love bragging about cars I own.. i'd more than happily post here to brag...

29th Jul 2005, 22:52

Personally I don't think there are very many cars on this web site worth bragging about. This is the 21 century, wouldn't you think by now not only would cars be doing 0-60 in a few seconds and being very quiet, but also get like 500MPG (miles per gallon) The 1960's 190D got like 40MPG. The Mercedes E320CDI is good in all getting 38-40MPG while going from 0-60 in like 6 seconds with a top speed of 150MPH and being quieter than a gasoline, but they could do better, why not make them a little slower and get 100MPG? The 1978 and on 5&6cyl turbo diesels are actually very quiet and quite fast.

How many of you actually put your foot on the gas pedal and go fast with your fast cars and fast pickup when the light turns green? Um, nobody! Ha and people complain about diesels being slow. I have just about the slowest car ever made, a 1985 Mercedes 2.2L 4cly 72HP diesel (40MPG), and when the light turns green, I always leave those people 100ft behind me. Don't you people find that strange?! I know those peoples cars are at least twice as fast as mine!

The way I see it, if you want to go slow, just buy a diesel, at least you will be getting twice the fuel mileage.

3rd Aug 2005, 15:02

Man listen,

If I had the money I would buy every single one of those cars too, and I wouldn't think twice about mileage. While these vehicles most certainly attract attention, there is something about owning something exclusive with performance that is out of this world. These machines aren't built for practicality, if you want that get a Civic. These cars are built for people who enjoy ridiculously fast acceleration and race-car handling, unfortunately they are prices out of the reach of most people. Don't hate on the folks who have them for being proud of that.

8th Aug 2005, 19:58

I was one of the few fortunate that had the experience of driving a SLR on track and although I am very far from having half of the money it costs.

One thing I can say.

If I had the money I would most definitely spend it in a Pagani or an Ultima, or even in a Saleem s7, or some other really fast and efficient super car.

I can tell you that due to my profession I have driven over the years plenty of cars and the SLR seemed too electronic, too slow, too much of an s class compared to an Ultima GTR or even a simple caterham super 7,there are far more interesting cars to drive fast. If you are going for the looks, forget the SLR and custom order a small country. That will impress the ladies.

31st Aug 2005, 08:36

The owner has all his facts right. This probably isn't a fake. oh yeah and everyone has the right to say what they want about fuel costs so people LAY OFF lol.

6th Sep 2005, 07:45

I totally agree with that last comment... SLR slow???

It is the best car if you the money. It isn't a Mercedes for no reason you know... Pagani Zonda etc. are nothing compared to this. Good review.Keep up the great work.

28th Sep 2005, 09:25

I think most of the non-owners may have a reason to think that this car is a waste of money, but the real owners have the better word. Yes, this Mercedes is fast, and with the 0 to 60 mph in 3.8 seconds plus its top speed of 207 mph is pretty impressive. If someone says otherwise, then they do not know what they are talking about. This car is fast! It may be expensive too, but if you are rich, then I do not see why you would not want this baby in your collection. That is all I have to say.

8th Oct 2005, 15:14

He was comparing the SLR to other super cars, I think that's why.

For the one who said the review was surely real because facts are true... Is it difficult to get on google.com and search about the performance of a car?

Just type "0 to 60 mph SLR" and you'll see..

This review is totally ridiculous; it tells nothing good or bad on the SLR.

13th Oct 2005, 14:47

I'm really digging this thread! I WOULD say I'm 17 years old, and my dad bought an SLR for me because I promised to straighten up, but you all probably wouldn't believe me. And you would be right. I have a 30 year old diesel. I love my Mercedes, and, if they would put the V8 CDI Hybrid (0 to 62.1 mph in 7.6 seconds) in the SLR and sell it for about 60k, I would probably buy it after it depreciated a few years (if they made a four-door version to accommodate my three kids). For now, I'll just look at the SLR and think, that's a mighty fine car, even if it's not perfect...

19th Feb 2006, 00:53

I would take our Superamerica anyday, the SLR dosnt seem raw enough. I like the old cars because you don't have computers deciding if you can do everything.

21st Mar 2006, 10:50

People, the review is fake. I know because I wrote it!! Now all of you get back to work! No wonder none of you can afford cars like these, you waste all your time on the internet reading and writing pure crap when you should be working. It's not like I am any better although I do drive a brand new corvette.

PS. Let's get some lives shall we?!!

21st Mar 2006, 17:23

Of course the funniest thing about these "wundercars" is that they are a failure in the marketplace. Except for Jay Leno's and a few others, most sit on lots. Even in Autoweek a dealer is offering $50K off a new one and that's before you even negotiate.

If I was going to drop that type of money I'd be getting a Porsche Carerra GT no questions asked.

30th May 2006, 03:35

I think the best car out there now is the Zonda F. It can beat any car out there without a doubt. The whole car is carbon fiber. The engine is beastly. The SLR should not be used as a sports car. It is a cruiser because of its size, and can only really be played with on a track. The Zonda F and the Carrera GT are cars you can play with anywhere with out the fear of crashing. Incase you guys forgot an important player in this whole game or you didn't realize it was out there, the Maserati MC12 is also one of the fastest cars out there also beating the Enzo. This car is still made by Ferrari, and packs quite a punch. But for now, the Zonda F has to be the fastest, the best handling, one of the best sounding, and the best stylish car you can get now. The game is over and the Zonda F has ended it for now...