Mercedes-Benz V-Class Reviews

2001 Mercedes-Benz V-Class Ambiente 2.2 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 diesel Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance70986 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Overpriced rubbish

Faults:

Water entering around windscreen.

The very loud alarm has sounded for no reason more than 1,000 times. Five Mercedes dealers have been unable to cure this.

Gear selection problems. Dealers unable to cure.

Very poor braking caused by failed power assistance.

Central locking failed.

Very noisy, mainly tire noise.

General Comments:

A badly made vehicle made worse by unhelpful and incompetent dealers.

There has not been one day in more than two years when the vehicle has not had a fault of some kind.

Mercedes three year warranty is not worth much when dealers are unable to solve problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

18th Oct 2003, 12:44

As a (former) V-Class driver I can, assure you that the reported problems really exist. From model-year 2000 there seems to be a new problem: Corrosion.

I have collected loads of (german) comments of unsatisfied users. In the mentioned V-Klassen-Forum, German speaking drivers can find a lot of technical help.

23rd Sep 2008, 15:28

I bought my 99 T reg V-Class 220 CDI because I owned a perfect C-Class. It only had 40200 miles on the clock, but it really let me down on the first day I had it.

The car was so loud, the dealer checked it and found alternator was faulty. It cost me 580 pounds to put it right in independent garage (Mercedes dealer would charge me over 750 pounds).

Then the air suspension didn't work. I was told the parts cost more than 1000 pounds. What I was advised to do was just leave the air compressor, and use a foot-pump to pump my lovely V-Class up every 4-5 days.

I used it to travel from Scotland to Manchester, and on the way home noise came out from underneath. Mercedes charged me 67 pounds and couldn't trace the problem.

I have spent over 2000 pounds in it within two months. Very, very disappointed!

19th Jul 2010, 08:33

2 ECU failures in 2 months, £300 to put right each time. Rear suspension collapse, £1500 to put right. Heavy corrosion. Water ingress around windscreen. very noisy from road and wind. Basically a transit van with seats and Merc badge.

2001 Mercedes-Benz V-Class Ambiente 2.2 cdi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.2 cdi Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carRenault Safrane

Summary:

Buy one if you want a Mercedes, but do not expect Mercedes car quality

Faults:

On occasion the car refuses to start, it has been established that it is something to do with the automatic transmission, but a permanent cure has not been forthcoming.

General Comments:

The car is a van, a luxurious van, but a van nevertheless.

It has an enormous turning circle, making life difficult in tight parking spaces.

It is only the Mercedes badge that makes it the price it is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

19th Dec 2003, 04:24

V Class 2.2 cdi Ambieanti purchased from new August 99 and now on 300k mileage. Look out for drive shafts at 200k (cost £600.00) and replacement injectors at 250k (cost £2,000.00) Only other faults have been in the heating system and having to have the condenser on the climatic control replaced. Quentin.

1995 Mercedes-Benz V-Class V230 230 from Spain

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 230 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance99000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz 230E

Summary:

Buy a Vito instead

Faults:

Electronic central module failed in the first year.

Suspension.

Leaking roof.

Unable to load over 500 kilograms.

General Comments:

If you buy a Vito instead, you get the same car for half the money. Only difference: seats do not weigh over 245 kilograms, so you will actually be able to seat seven persons inside!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2003

25th Feb 2003, 15:36

Don't buy a vito either, it has the same control module, mine failed twice, my roof leaks too!

Average review marks: 4.9 / 10, based on 3 reviews