1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito Reviews

1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito 110CDi Panel Van from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired66000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

Poor

Faults:

Fumes in cabin / engine died / fault with breather pipe.

General Comments:

High cost to put right 14 months ago, and now the same thing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th February, 2010

1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito 113 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

You get hammered when servicing it

Faults:

Merc Vito 1998 2.0Ltr petrol engine 5 speed manual.

Apart from the usual problems this model has, most of them already listed on this website already.

My gear box has problems, I haven't been able to get fourth gear for the last 12 months, and in this last week I can't get third gear either.

Mechanics here don't know or just over quote to repair.

Any suggestions, or it may be a second hand gear box at a reasonable price.

General Comments:

The van drives and handles well, I enjoy driving it.

The floor pan is low; easy to load my motorcycle, and it has the convenience of the two sliding doors I personally need.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th April, 2009

1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito 110 CDI 110 CDI from Sweden

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 110 CDI Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired280000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carFord Galaxy

Summary:

Complete pile of junk

Faults:

Automatic gear box failed

Speedometer failed

Central locking never worked

Electric windows broken

Rust and more rust

Headlights broken

SRS light came on

Heat shield fell off

Seats broken

Interior loose.

General Comments:

I have never in my life owned a more unreliable car. An awful bus to drive, uncomfortable and every time I used it, something else broke. The feel of the car was cheap and plastic and frankly, an enormous letdown. I will never buy an MB again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th March, 2007

1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito 108D 2.3 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.3 diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Reliable from Day to Day, however expensive to repair and maintain

Faults:

2 front CV Joints (1st at 48,000 2nd at 60,000)

Drivers Seat (Cloth) started to wear badly at 45,000.

All round Brake pads Changed at 68,000 (£500 + VAT Mercedes Dealer)

All round Discs (Badly Scored) and Pads Changed (£700 + VAT Non Mercedes Dealer)

Exhaust Changed (Not Front Pipe) 70,000.

General Comments:

This Van, unladen is heavy and slow.

Steering is uninformative.

Motorway Driving can be noisy at speed.

Servicing Costs form Mercedes Dealerships are high.

Van still starts first time every time.

Drives more like a car than a van.

Driving Position is good, I find slight blind spot with driver side windscreen pillar, this is a minor point though.

Body work especially paint finish is poor, rust showing on sliding door runners and sills. Rivet marks visible around panels on side of van where glass would be fitted for Traveliner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th July, 2005

20th Aug 2005, 03:46

I have just loaded my 2001 Vito onto a stretcher truck for a trip back to the local Mercedes dealer because of another fuel pump failure. This is the third time that the pump will need to be replaced. The first two were under warranty, this time it won't be. Likely to be a very expensive repair job.

15th Jul 2007, 05:40

My son had a Volvo car with the same problem. It was traced to a carburetter freezing open. Good luck.

29th Apr 2009, 08:06

It sounds like a fueling problem, check the filter, if that's OK, there will be a problem on the fuel injection pump or fuel lines, try adding some fuel system cleaner (redex or something like that) and leave it to idle for a while so the cleaner can start to work.

28th Aug 2009, 08:23

Hi, it sounds like a faulty pintle sensor, it happened to my Sprinter, got a second hand injector and problem solved. Hope this helps, Robin.

1998 Mercedes-Benz Vito 108D 2.2 from Singapore

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance125000 kilometres
Previous carLand Rover Series 3

Summary:

Mega handsome MPV bully boy - Fast too!

Faults:

Clutch Cylinder leaks - no spares! $500

Expansion tank repaired - no spares!$200

Brake discs all replaced $200

Side Door fell off (Just a bolt)

Rear view mirror fell off ($6 glue repair)

General Comments:

Incredibly cheap 2nd car @ $11K for 3 years COE. Road tax is $500.

Very fast for van

Low consumption - on cheap diesel!!

Maroon Vito Van - registered in my sole proprietorship. Very easy for PRs and citizens.

Removed partition - Legally!

Just fitted on my Vito van some tasteful 16 inch alloy original Mercedes sports rims - formerly sitting on a Mercedes CLK - that has upgraded to 18" rims. Second hand rims with second hand sports tyres $700 for 4 pieces, including balancing etc etc.

Fitted rear external mirror. $35.

Fitted two 8" eletrical oscillating fans - quite ugly - but important in the back. 2x$25.

Now working on the 19" LCD TV with surround sound and DVD. $1200

Cars have wimpy 8" screens - on a Van - we can go the whole hog!!

Have to find 15-19"computer screen LCD with a 12V external transformer. This is cheaper than by an LCD TV with unnecessary sound and tuner.

Alternatively Shinco has a 15" TV with built in DVD player for $1200 - still with a 12V transformer.

In the back I have a plain black vinyl two seat sofa - Brand new from Turf City - $299 -- nicely wedged between the rear wheel arches - so perfectly legal since not bolted to the floor.

I have a nice carpet - from India on the floor.

Privacy window film for $45 was DIY fitted last evening.

I also pasted on my new 70kph sticker $2.50 and my "8 pax" sticker.

To be legal I paid NTUC $50 to insure any 5 workers in the back of my van.

... So now we are again, despite single impoverished income, a two Mercedes Family.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

5th Apr 2005, 14:27

Thank you for your very nice review. I must apologize, though, and say that I am extremely concerned for your safety, because of that couch you have in the back of your van, which is not bolted down. It sounds like your van is very nice, but no matter how nice it is, you are still bound by the laws of Physics. I am sure you know Newton's law, a body in motion will stay in motion...inertia. That is a formidable thing, that you cannot get around no matter what. If you get into a frontal collision, that couch is going to come flying forward, most likely flattening any passengers in the back of the van, before plowing through your drivers and passengers seats (momentum equals mass times velocity) and flattening anybody sitting there. I do not mean to rain on your parade, and/or discourage you from setting up your van the way you want it (it sounds like you have it looking pretty nice), but there are safe ways to do it, which are well worth the effort. I am very fearful that there might potentially be dire consequences from the way you are proceeding with things now. I do not like to butt my nose into other people's projects, but I happen to be an engineer, and I felt your safety was in jeopardy, which compelled me to speak up. I strongly encourage you to please think about it, and always make safety your absolute number one priority. Best of luck!!

Average review marks: 4.6 / 10, based on 6 reviews