1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E Sportline 3.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired184000 miles
Most recent distance187000 miles
Previous carMercedes Benz C-Class

Summary:

A superb car in every respect

General Comments:

Having always had newer model Mercedes Benz vehicles for a number of years now, I decided to purchase a Mercedes 300e which I saw on Ebay in September, and having covered three thousand miles in it, I can honestly say that it is absolutely superb in every way.

This particular model is a sport line car, and as such has only two seats in the back, which is no problem for me and looks really great.

Given that I paid very little money for this car, and that it feels more "special" than all the newer Mercs that I have had, I cannot recommend them enough.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2009

1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 300E 3.2 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.2 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance157000 miles
Previous carInfiniti J30

Summary:

Best car ever made!

Faults:

An ignition coil had to be replaced around 120,000 miles; however, it was a relatively inexpensive repair also, seeing as it was the only repair I had to make in the nearly 80,000 miles I put on the car... really, not too bad.

General Comments:

Timeless design as far as the exterior is concerned. It has a classic look to it and is still an eye catcher!

The interior is very utilitarian and lacking in some of the creature comforts possessed by other cars of its time. This car is very rough and tumble, it's built like a tank and truly embodies what it is to be (or used to be) a Mercedes-Benz.

I loved this car and every second of ownership, but unfortunately, I lost her in an accident, which could have otherwise been fatal in a newer plastic piece of junk.

These really are some of the best, strongest, most dependable cars ever built, I will most definitely buy another one should I find one in such pristine condition, as the one I have owned. If you're considering buying one of these - GO FOR IT! It's the best thing you'll have ever bought for the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2008

1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 E220T 2.2 petrol from Germany

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired233000 kilometres
Most recent distance271000 kilometres
Previous carAudi A8

Summary:

Rock solid car, very reliable and comfortable

Faults:

Generator voltage regulator: Coals worn out at 236000 km, regulator replaced.

Outside temp display too low by -10C - sensor replaced, temp display still too low, probably a problem in the display unit;

Front left window opener toothed rack lost a tooth at 239000 km, window stuck in closed position;

Precautionary repairs:

- Transverse control arm joints replaced

- Several rubber joints on rear axle replaced.

General Comments:

Rock solid car, very reliable and comfortable.

Almost no rust, only where the outer hull has been scratched.

Driving comfort is unbeatable.

Fuel consumption between 8.3 and 10 liters / 100 km, average 9.2 liters / 100 km.

Lots of space inside.

Turning circle surprisingly narrow, better than many eco class cars.

Air condition works perfectly, fuel consumption is even LESS with the air conditioning turned on than without - beats me why, but it's nice!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2008

1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 220CE 2.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.2 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance185000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great car, shame you can't buy this quality new any more

Faults:

Gearbox clutch began to slip at 75,000 miles. The Signature warranty paid up no questions asked, and the dealership couldn't have been more helpful.

The over voltage protection relay (?) failed inside the warranty too, again fixed no problem, but did cause some anguish as the car failed to start several times because of this.

General Comments:

The car is still on the original exhaust original head gasket (which have been known to go on the 2.2L engines) original pretty much everything.

It seems pretty much bombproof. I had a van use the car as a brake, didn't do the van much good (tow job) but the Mercedes was fine. A slightly bent (2mm) rear panel, not that anyone would notice, didn't even scratch the paint!

It's very comfortable quiet etc.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2004

1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 E 320 3.2 Litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2 Litre petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 kilometres
Most recent distance62000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

A class act

Faults:

Near side rear passenger door central locking not working ($200 installed for a new unit).

Driver airbag light constantly on. New switch (paid for by dealer).

Just general wear and tear items that were quickly and cheaply repaired.

CD player not working. Quoted $1000 to fix it. Got a new player for considerably less than that.

General Comments:

Plenty of get up and go.

Handles beautifully, even better with a few passengers.

Room for 4 adults without getting too squeezy.

Strong sound system (original speakers still in place).

Good size boot.

Built like a tank.

I think the car misses an overdrive on the open road. Would add considerably to fuel economy. A minor and academic point only.

Owned one of these about four years ago. Have since owned a 2000 model E320 and now drive a 1999 S320 but I still missed the W124.

So we bought this car as a second car for my wife (at least, that's what I told her). A much different driving experience to the Toyota, but she loves it.

We now have civilised fights about who is going to drive what car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2004

10th Jul 2006, 03:56

We have a '93 E320 cabriolet. Fuel economy on 3000k trip to South Is. was very acceptable at 10L/100km (accurately measured over all tank fills). This is exactly what handbook says. Not too bad fro 1700kg car and some v high speeds. Heard that latest Volvo 4wd's are getting only 18-22 L/100km, so E320 not too bad for a 13 yr old car.

1993 Mercedes-Benz W124 300CE 3.2L-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.2L-6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance110000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W114

Summary:

Why don't they still make these?

Faults:

After a 1200 mile trip, a strong gasoline smell forced a trip to the shop, where they found a leaking fuel line. There was no noticeable leakage, as the pan beneath the car contained the drip. New rubber hose solved the problem.

Original radio died, causing a current draw which killed a battery. New stereo solved the problem.

General Comments:

This is my second MB. (My other is a '72 W114, a 250C reviewed on this page which I still have). Purchase of this car was on the spur of the moment, but I'm happy; she gets looks and positive comments wherever I go. Comfortable and very quick. Easily a future collectible. As always, buy the newest and best-maintained and best-documented car you can afford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

26th Jan 2010, 20:45

I am considering looking for one of these. Although I'm a little iffy on the straight 6 in the 300's, I love the 124 body. Didn't really pay attention till I purchased my '93 400E in 11/09 but since, I've fallen in love with the 124. I guess the closest thing to the CE is the new E350 coupe. I hope they make it with the same quality as the 124's, but only time will tell.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 13 reviews