1977 Mercury Cougar XR7 400 Cubic Inch V8 from North America


Love this car and I want to keep it for years!


Power steering pump and gear have needed replacement.

Alternator went out at near 240000 (after only being rebuilt once before).

Has needed two water pumps.

General Comments:

I love this car. It has been in my family since it was new. My parents went on their honeymoon in it and so did I and my wife.

Car runs well, even up here in the cold Iowa winters. Never have had to rebuild engine or transmission, although we have put bearings in it once as a precaution.

Still purrs like the cat it is. Even the paint has held up well. The seats well too, although I had the inlays redone a few years back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th January, 2004

20th Jan 2004, 06:16

I like the ideal of the homeymoon car for 2 generations. I just bought a 1979 Cougar. Great shape, 57000 miles. I am happy. Iowa here too..

16th Jan 2007, 14:14

I bought my 77 cougar for $450 and I love having it I have had to replace the carburetor, exhaust and today I'm getting new brakes and front tires its costing $750 but I love the leather interior and sunroof.

1977 Mercury Cougar xr7 5.0 from North America


Awsome car for old people


A/c compressor leaks.

General Comments:

This car is huge. It has been in Arizona for the past 20 years. No rust and starts everytime. It is like a brand new car. I am trying to sell it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th December, 2003

1977 Mercury Cougar XR7 400 6.6 from North America


Iron Horse Luxury


I bought my cougar for $500 bucks so I wasn't expecting a jewel, but I was wrong. The main lingering problem I've had is my dash lights don't always work.

I had to replace the alternator after about 8,000 miles.

The drivers door power window just stopped working a few days ago.

But besides that, I've had no other problems.

The car has a FMX transmission, but I've never heard of it--- could anyone give me some information on it?

General Comments:

I couldn't ask much more from my cougar. It Starts every morning rain or shine with no problems, and rides down the road like a dream. The 400 6.6 engine has plenty of power even though the highway gears keep it bogged down on the take off, but I believe this car has no top-speed. The FMX transmission pulls like a dream. The engine has 145,000 miles and still holds 50lbs. oil pressure. This car couldn't have been manufactured much better!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2003

13th Apr 2004, 19:52

Years ago my parent owned a 79 Cougar, and the same thing happened to it;s power window. As it turns out, water was getting to it, and shorted it out. They spent a lot of money and had it fixed, but water still got to it, and it stopped working again.


1977 Mercury Cougar XR7 302 from North America


I love my old Cougar


My air-conditioning compressor died at 75000 miles.

I have had to change the alternator.

The vinyl top is showing signs of abuse caused by a strong Arizona sun.

General Comments:

I originally bought this car because it was cheap and I was broke. I am no longer broke, but it is very hard for me to sell this car.

I have driven across much of the country, and I feel it is still reliable enough for a few more trips.

I was going to trade it on on something new, but every new car in my price range (Stratus RT, Sebring LXI) just didn't seem to have enough power to justify a car payment.

The engine still purrs like new and delivers smooth power, especially at freeway speeds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2001

9th Sep 2002, 16:33

How much would you sell the car for now? I live in Arizona and am interested in these cars

Please email voyuerrox@yahoo.com.

23rd Aug 2003, 21:18

I owned one of these cars, and I must say that the styling was nice, but the mechanical aspects of the car were not as good. I had so many leaks, so many electrical problems, that there are too many to list here. It is unfortunate that this experience turned me off to Mercury products. Late seventies anyway. Good Luck with yours.

16th Mar 2004, 23:43

Did you sell your car? I have a 1977 Mercury Cougar xr7, I am the third owner, first owner was an elderly couple, their daughter inherited it and sold it to me last year. It has only 28,400 original miles, really nice inside and drives like a dream. Just found out my husband is being transfered and I have to sell it. I hope I can get what I paid, $3000. It's all original except for hoses and belts and newer tires, it's been garaged all along since it's beginning. Hope to hear more about these cars.

13th Nov 2011, 20:43

I just purchased a 79 Cougar with 65,000 miles (actual). I have had other old cars, and don't expect all things to work as they should just due to the age, but it is in really good shape, and most things do work, but I do expect to replace seals and gaskets as they shrink and dry out with age. Low miles are great on a old car; just don't think it means "new" car.