1988 Mercury Cougar LS 3.8 from North America


Tolerates a lot without maintenance


After 317,000 there has only been very well deserved minor repairs... Nothing engine wise, just the fan belt at 300,000 miles..

General Comments:

This car has been the best car I have ever owned.. I put a lot of wear and tear on this car, it rarely got an oil change.. maybe twice...and the same with having it serviced... I bid farewell to my old friend.. My Cougar never let me down...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2002

1988 Mercury Cougar XR7 5.0L from North America


A nice toy to drive around!!


Changed out the brakes.

New radiator.

4 sets of tires.

General Comments:

This car had a very good performance level. It would leave most of my competition in my dust.

That was until Jan, 13 2000 when the streets were wet, I hit a puddle in the middle of the road. I hydroplaned and my car swept to the right. A Mazda hit me on my passenger side leaving my car totalled. But it's nice to know that my engine still lives, in my car today - a 1988 Thunderbird Turbo Coupe. It's still good on the gas, and still handles like before. Thank Jesus that all went well.

I am now in the process of trying to buy a 20th Anniversary Edition that I have my eye on. I love Cougars!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2001

1988 Mercury Cougar RX7 351 from North America


So far no major problems.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is like driving a Mustang without the price or notoriety. I would definitely recommend power lovers to buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 1999

27th Dec 2000, 12:26

I had a 1988 Mercuy Cougar V6 3.8 and it was a great car... lasting 170,000 miles until the transmission went out, or else I'd still be driving it. No major problems with it, except a head gasket at 130,000 miles which cost about $1,000 to fix.

1st Feb 2001, 13:24

I have a 1988 Mercury Cougar LS.

I LOVE this car, it runs great and can free up the tires at anytime.

I have beaten Mustangs in this thing.

Only problem is a couple weeks ago we met up with a telephone pole and smashed the hell out of the front end, but that's OK because I'm fixing it now. Hard to find right front fenders for this car (must be because they're so good people never junk em), found one yesterday, sending it to vo-tech to let the kids bang out the dents and paint it. I hope they do a good job, but this way it only costs 200 bucks instead on 2000 for this car shop guy.

If I could do it all again, I think I would do it all the same (except for the telephone pole thing).

1st Mar 2001, 20:27

First off it's an XR-7, not a Mazda RX7. Next how did you get a 351? Isn't it a 302?

27th Jan 2003, 12:23

I just got an 88 Mercury Cougar and I love that car. Plenty of passing power plus great handling equals a car that I'm proud to say I own.

16th May 2006, 00:44

I love my 88 merc it has been grate and has power low end and top. no one makes it past me so far.

Flaws I have went through many fuel pumps keep it above 1/4 tank and you should be good.