1996 Mercury Cougar Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1996 Mercury Cougar xr7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

Comfortable and smooth running

Faults:

My electric cooling fan went at about 60,000 miles and the serpentine belt. Also, I had to replace both sides upper and lower ball joint bushings and sway bar link bushings as well. They are now made of neoprene a better rubber compound.

General Comments:

The car runs smooth and handles well. I upgraded to 18 inch rims with 245/45/18 which is the proper size for the car. its 26 and 1 half inches off the ground just like the stock 215/70/15 the car came with. the tires r wider and the car hugs the road great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2006

1996 Mercury Cougar XR7 4.6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Distance when acquired194355 miles
Most recent distance201655 miles

Summary:

It's a joyful ride

Faults:

When I had first received my car, my four catalytic converters were bad, and yet they still are.

My check engine light is on sometimes.

My door ajar stays on, even though the doors are not open.

And my tie rod (suspension in the front of the car) is not great.

Also I have a moon roof that decides to work when it wants to.

I have a leak when it rains, and I can't figure out where it is.

When I started driving my Cougar, the transmission shifted every 15mph while using regular gas, and then I switched to the highest type of gas, it shifts only at 50mph. It is now different car.

Other than that, there is nothing wrong with my car.

General Comments:

I have rode in a Cougar 3.8L before. Everything electronic with only 69,000 miles in it. My opinion is that I don't like the 6 cylinders in a Cougar; it's not meant to be except with the newer ones. I drive the 4.6L V8, and it's so smooth, I love that car.

The leather interior I have makes my seats feel like I'm in my own bedroom.

It definitely to me drives like it's brand new with over 200,000 miles on it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2005

1996 Mercury Cougar XR7 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 miles
Most recent distance107100 miles
Previous carMercury Cougar

Summary:

I haven't had it very long, but so far - so good

Faults:

Cassette player: tape became stuck, removed and now won't play tapes.

I don't recall other problems, since the previous owner had all the required maintenance well documented.

Starting to pull a little to the right, but it may just need an alignment.

General Comments:

Since my '94 Accord had too many service and repair needs, I recently bought this from my father who purchased it new (he's always owned Ford products exclusively).

Sharp interior (leather and "custom cloth"); paint job has held up very well. Very quiet ride and unexpectedly good highway gas mileage (26 mpg so far). I obtained it for my son to use to and from college, but I've had it on the road for a few weeks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2005

1996 Mercury Cougar XR-7 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired108000 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles

Summary:

One awesome underrated car!

Faults:

Nothing has went wrong with the car so far.

General Comments:

First of all, I want to thank the good folks at carsurvey.org, because after reading many reviews, I decided to buy the 1996 Mercury Cougar XR-7.

You people were right, this car is beautiful, gorgeous interior, power enough to spare, and my wife loves it.

The thing that sold me on buying this was that I like rear wheel drive, and I can't stand front wheel drive. I think I can trust this car to go across the country if I wanted to.

Everything still works really well on it, all the power stuff, which is pretty amazing, because it is a '96. I have the six cylinder, which still has plenty of power. I would recommend this car to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2005

24th Oct 2005, 22:45

I have a similar car. I just replaced the two Pins on the doors. My gear lever is loose and shakes a little. The mechanic says its normal. Is yours the same. Please email me on caje@rogers.com.

1st Dec 2005, 00:56

In my car it doesn't shake and I have over 200,000 miles on mine I think you should go to another mechanic.

14th Jan 2006, 16:58

I just landed a 96 Cougar XR7 for 400.00.

The car is great. The shifter is nice and snug, no feeling of looseness at all. If your shifter is loose, you might want to see if there is a screw loose on the inside. Also sometimes a loose shifter can be signs of a bad neutral switch.

I would most definitely take your car to another mechanic just to be on the safe side.

11th Sep 2006, 15:56

I just purchased a 96 XR7 which is my third on the same platform, the other two being a 91 T-Bird and a 93 T-bird 5.0 HO V8. I love these cars, the ride, the handling, the performance. I will continue to drive them as long as they are available. My 96 cat has 135k on the odometer and drive like a new one. It also looks like almost new with only minor paint fading due to the maroon color.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 8 reviews