Mercury Lynx Reviews

1986 Mercury Lynx l 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39450 miles
Most recent distance65590 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

A great car parts are cheap and very reliable

Faults:

Driver & passenger side roof leak, passenger side CV axle went out do to hitting a curb to avoid a oncoming car that was in the wrong lane, brakes had to be replaced (normal wear and tear) windshield washer resavair was busted when I got it and also the interior lights seem to not work, but mysteriously sometimes work, also headlight switch head to be replaced after breaking off.

General Comments:

Bought the car for 200.00 in 2004, the paint was faded, the dash was cracked from years of sitting in the sun and no being driven and I still think it's a great car and has worked every time I've cranked it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2006

1987 Mercury Lynx Sport 1.9 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Nice Dependable Car!

Faults:

At about 140,000 miles it would run a few miles and all of a sudden shut off.

Turns out it was a bad computer.

After replaced, never happened again.

No other problems with this car.

General Comments:

The car was cheap on gas and dependable.

I bought it for $1200. Worth every dime.

The body and interior were like new.

It drove and handled good.

But I needed a bigger car so I traded in on a Dodge Caravan... big mistake!

(I won't even go there, I will just say I regretted my trade.)

I would highly recommend the Mercury Lynx, though I never see any of them on the road today.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th December, 2005

1985 Mercury Lynx 1.6 litre from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired62000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carBMW 7351

Summary:

Divine intervention

Faults:

I had to get the front end rotors, calipers and disks replaced and new tires. All told $650.

The right front axle boot split and I hear the bearing clacking on sharp, slow turns, so I reach underneath every so often and pack the bearing with grease. The inside passenger door handle gave up the ghost shortly after I got it. As did the outside driver side door latch. Driver's door latch mechanism is getting funky, but I can set the pieces by hand and still close the door. There is some mysterious leak what allows rain to soak the driver side front carpet.

General Comments:

Despite all the above, I love this car.

Given that this is the Bic lighter of automobile, I am impressed. It was given to me when I was strapped for cash and after the initial investment hasn't given me a day's trouble other than the door handles. It just keeps going, getting great mileage all the way. We just got done with a cold snap and it started every morning, sometime when it was 10-below. I couldn't believe it. Front wheel drive in the snow is unstoppable. The bozo who owned this before me left it in the driveway for a few years. You feel a little like Cheech Marin driving it, but it's truly save my bacon my wife and moved to a new town with a new job and no money. The misses drives a 2000 Jeep Cherokee.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2004

1985 Mercury Lynx from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance213000 miles

Summary:

A good old car!

Faults:

Replaced steering column.

Clutch went at 213,000.

Rust spots here and there.

General Comments:

This was a good old car. I had very few problems with it, and I would still have it now had the clutch not went. It lasted a very long time, and I miss it so much. I have a Dodge Neon now, and it's a piece of junk! I'd never buy another Dodge product again!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2003

1986 Mercury Lynx L 1.9L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired162000 miles
Most recent distance162028 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

Only buy it if its made of gold!

Faults:

Well lets see, What didn't go wrong the 26 miles I owned the car?

The A/C went out.

The parking brake stopped working.

The trunk couldn't open.

The headlights where held on by chicken wire.

It had rust holes all over it.

The transmission was started acting weird.

But the radio worked!

General Comments:

I swear all this stuff worked when I test drove it.

The mechanics exact word were "She's not pretty, but she'll run forever" and of course me, being as desperate for transportation as I was, I bought it.

The manual transmission was tons of fun for 26 miles.

The car left me stranded 26 miles down the road, I was driving it down the freeway and the engine just stopped and I coasted to the side of the road. I called the dealership and they sent a tow truck, but when they where putting it on the truck they broke the front axle. But they gave me my money back. But I was left where I started, without a way to get to work.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd October, 2002

9th Jun 2003, 10:15

LOL, this is one of the funniest reviews that I have read! I like how you said the performance was a 6/10 even though half the parts on the car broke on the way home. it must have really had a kick to get a 6 in 26 miles.

11th Jun 2005, 13:02

What did you expect, it had high mileage on it...

24th Dec 2005, 14:20

I just bought a 1986 Mercury Lynx hatch with a 5 speed man. 1.9 litre for 35$ but... It has a no start prob. any comments? I was thinking the coil. do you think this car was an good investment??

30th Dec 2005, 15:45

A good investment? You only paid $35 for it, who cares?!

21st Jan 2010, 20:35

That's a great investment. I have a 87 GS, bought it three years ago, and it runs and drives like new, and is easy on gas. This is my second Lynx; the first one I had, I hit a deer with it, and I still drove it home. I had it two years before that.

24th Apr 2011, 17:22

162 K??? I'm surprised it was still running... did he give you a "taillight" guarantee? Guaranteed to run until he can no longer see your taillights down the road.

1986 Mercury Lynx XR3 1.9L HO from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9L HO Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired258000 kilometres
Most recent distance290000 kilometres
Previous carMercury Topaz

Summary:

Does the job

Faults:

Water pump went.

Fuel pump went.

New ignition system.

Transmission is going.

General Comments:

It's not a bad little car. It looks pretty good for a 15 year old econobox sport model. I like it, but the mileage is getting super high, and it's probably time for something newer.

I've got a lot of use out of this $1000 purchase, so I can't say anything bad. It's let me down a couple times, but repairs were never hard or complex.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2001

2nd Sep 2001, 00:49

Learned how to drive in it with manual transmission. Never any problems.

OK sound system, very quick and it had great handling. Synchromesh went out, speedo and tach went out.

I loved it. Got a newer car, sold the Lynx for $500. Engine blew about 3 weeks later.

29th May 2002, 06:22

I have a 1986 Lynx hatchback. The automatic transmission broke once, because of a seal, but other than that, it has been a great car to go somewhere with your friends. But the rear suspension is too weak, so you can't put too much luggage.

I love the design of the car, especially the hachback one, except that rust is a big problem.

Marat.

11th Jun 2005, 13:01

I think the reason why there aren't too many Lynxes out there is that Mercury probably didn't sell very much. After all, it's not much different from the Escort.

3rd Jan 2008, 12:35

I owned an '82. For 3 years- loved it. Rode nice, drove well, and the mileage was awesome. Was much better than the new all electronic rides. I wish Ford still made a cheap manual with no computer frills like this.

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 6 reviews