Mercury Marquis Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2007 Mercury Marquis LS from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired13750 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Good value for the price

General Comments:

The car has plenty of room and comfort.

I can walk away from most accidents.

The style does need to be updated. I am not an old geezer but I do see a lot more old people than younger people driving them. Most 20 year olds can't afford to buy the car or the gas for a big car. I usually see them driving a Toyota Corolla or a Honda Civic. These cars are cheap and you throw them away after a couple of years.

I tried a new Chevy Impala. I like the look of it but when I drove it on the highway, it sounded as though one of the windows was cracked open. Too noisy on the inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2008

9th May 2008, 18:51

Grand Marquis aren't exactly exorbitant considering a new one can be had for under 25K with rebates. I personally think the Grand Marquis and Town Car are long overdue for a restyle. None of the sources that I have seen indicate that the Grand Marquis will go on after this generation is completed around 2010. These cars are really losing appeal even among their customer base.

1985 Mercury Marquis Brougham 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1985
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired26000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

Super dependable!!

Faults:

Nothing but routine repairs and maintenance.

General Comments:

I bought this car when I returned home from military service in 1992. It has been a durable, reliable car. The fuel injected V6 is reliable and economical. The body and interior have held up great.

This is a mid size car with the comfort and ride of a much larger car. This has all the bells and whistles.

I recently slid on the ice trying to avoid a deer and impacted a guard rail at 20 mph. The damage to the car was minimal. I was able to repair it myself.

These are among the best built Ford products. True to their advertising that "Quality is Job One". This has been such a good car. I cannot stress it enough.

We have recently purchased a 1985 LTD Wagon that I am restoring. If you are looking for a vehicle you can trust you cannot go wrong with a midsize RWD Ford product.

I just have one question: Have YOU driven a Ford Lately?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2008

1983 Mercury Marquis brougham station wagon 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1983
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance84000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

I love it

Faults:

Intake manifold coolant tubes started leaking. Was replaced with salvage yard unit.

General Comments:

Still a good looking car that has it's original paint. The woodgrain sides are in good shape. Just a little rust on the door bottoms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2004

1985 Mercury Marquis Brougham 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance149500 miles
Previous carFord Fairmont

Summary:

A great, inexpensive older car

Faults:

The transmission was rebuilt at 124,000 miles.

My exhaust system, including catalytic converter has been replaced.

My starter was replaced twice.

My alternator and radiator have also been replaced.

Most recently, the car was involved in an accident. It sustained front-end damage, but still runs and drives perfectly.

General Comments:

This car is incredibly durable and rugged.

It just doesn't know when to quit.

It is the best used car I ever bought for $1,800.

Good gas mileage on long trips--22 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

23rd Mar 2004, 20:34

Great review for a great car. If you decide to sell, please email me at jaguarhop@yahoo.com with price and location.

30th Jan 2006, 21:38

At the risk of just duplicating what's been said...I've owned well over 50 cars in a lot of years of driving, and my 85 Marquis with a six cyl and three-speed auto was the most comfortable, best driving, most durable of all of them. I paid $300 for it at 95,000 miles and drove it to 132,000. Donated it because I just needed a car with working a/c to use for work and to replace the whole system was just too expensive. I'm looking for another one!

1978 Mercury Marquis 460 from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 460 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance158000 miles
Previous carLincoln Mark VIII

Faults:

Water Pump. (I replaced myself). A/C compressor. Hideaway lights vacuum belly. Carburetor.

General Comments:

I got this car from my Dad in 1995. He ordered it from Ford in 78. When he gave it to me it had 68,890 miles on it and I've put a few on since then. I recently bought another car for my wife, inherited her Escort Wagon for work, and was going to sell it. But I can't. Even though I think the carburetor is junk, it is big, powerful, and so comfortable. It is a real pleasure to drive. I can't say enough about the looks of this thing. It's 19' long, black and trimmed with chrome. It's an example of 1970's excess. I loved it as a kid and I still love it now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2003

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 14 reviews