2004 Mercury Mountaineer Reviews

2004 Mercury Mountaineer Luxury V6 from North America

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles

Summary:

The vehicle is terrible!!

Faults:

Transmission fluid recall @ 3,000k.

Power steering pump replaced @ 8,000k.

Friction stabilizer added to rear end @ 28,000 to correct a 'grabbing' in the rear end. I asked dealer what happens when I have more rear end problems 20k or so out of factory warranty, they assured me it would be covered because the previous repair would be in the computer. Well guess what, they lied!!

So I have contacted Ford about this problem and have learned there are NUMEROUS vehicles with this same problem! It is obviously a manufacture problem, so why isn't there a recall?! I was told by my dealer it's not a safety issue!! OK so if my rear end locks up & I'm hit from behind, at highway speed, it's not a safety issue? Yeah right!!! I travel with my 3 children to boot!!

I have to contact Ford again and see if they are willing to cover this problem, or at the very least help with the cost of the $1200 repair!!! UGH!!! Ford has came up with a 'special rear axle repair kit' because they have so many of these repairs being done!!! Get this, while on the phone with Ford, the rep mentioned that they have $2500 rebate on Mercury products right now!!! Can you believe that crap?!

General Comments:

I will never buy another Ford product!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2008

21st Dec 2008, 20:38

I have to say that I've been very happy with my 2004 4.0 AWD.

Fuel pump went out at 45,000 miles, but I have the bad habit of driving on low fuel, repair was covered by warranty and I even got a rental.

I've noticed a delay when I'm changing gear to reverse, but it only happens when I let off the brake too close to the gear change; I now give it a second of time.

Also steering wheel controls for radio act a little funny once in a while.

I run full synthetic and also have a K&N air filter, and have improved to 17 mpg city.

My driving is pretty laid-back most of the time, so I guess my Mountaineer has been good to me.

I recommend upgrading to Xenon headlights; the big lens really lights up the road, increasing visibility and gives the vehicle more looks.

27th Aug 2010, 13:22

I had the same delay in changing gears too. After months of ignoring it, it turned out to be the tranny. Got it rebuilt under warranty.

20th Apr 2012, 16:32

We are having the same exact problem with our 2004 Mercury Mountaineer V8 luxury AWD, North American made SUV. Rear-end shift differential problem, and this is after having to have the Lincoln Mercury dealer replace the transmission in 2008. Neither us, nor anyone we know, will ever buy another Ford ever again!

2004 Mercury Mountaineer 4.0L V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired42500 miles
Most recent distance44000 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

I would not have bought this SUV if I had known of the transmission problems

Faults:

Transmission hesitates before engaging from Park to Reverse, and Park to Drive, with a loud bang. When it does engage in Drive, the vehicle jerks forward throwing your head into the head rests. The dealership replaced the solenoid assembly, which solved the problem, however, many internet forums contain Explorer/Mountaineer owners experiencing same problem soon after repairs where made.

Check out: hhttp://www.carcomplaints.com/Ford/Explorer/2004/transmission/transmission_slipping_shifts_hard.shtml

For class action lawsuit go-to:

http://www.ford-problems.com/explorer-transmission-problems.htm

General Comments:

Besides the transmission problem (which is a BIG deal), we love the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2008

2004 Mercury Mountaineer Premier V8 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired3 miles
Most recent distance42000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Looks and rides well, but has me on edge waiting for a breakdown

Faults:

Rear end had to be completely rebuilt at 1,000 miles - factory assembly defect. Checked just before warranty expired at 36,000 miles - rear end fluid was dirty and was replaced, but dealer would do nothing further. Fluid dirty and replaced again at 40,000 miles.

Persistent rattle in rear door. Repaired by adjustment every few months until warranty expired.

Strange intermittent low whistle from rear - unable to determine source. Living with it.

General Comments:

For the most part, it's a good running truck, especially on long road trips. The ride is comfortable and it handles well. But I have lost confidence in the rear end and it seems like just a matter of time before it will need major (expensive) work again. My mechanic (not a dealer) says he's seen it before on this make.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th August, 2007

27th Jul 2008, 19:41

The rear differential whistling noise you have is caused by ONE THING, and one thing only.

Improper install of gears.

Whoever replaced the gearing in your rear end, didn't do it right. It's not a problem usually with the truck, but a dealer problem, take it somewhere else.

Gear whining is normal sometimes, if the gears go out of sync, but it should go away usually.

They can also whine while it's burning in for the first few thousand miles... go easy on the throttle, there IS a warmup period!!!

2004 Mercury Mountaineer Premier V6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired48500 miles
Most recent distance48900 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Gentle Giant

Faults:

Nothing. Only small thing is that Low Tire Pressure Signal comes on often. Dealer said no big deal as long as it goes out. Weather/Climate is the cause. Also neighbor had a 2004 Explorer and he alos told me that it happens often and it's nothing to worry about, but I will take to a tire shop to have the pressure checked. Also gas mileage is ridiculous. I am getting 11 miles per gallon. But that's to be expected. After all, it's not a Toyota Echo or a Ford Focus.

General Comments:

This truck is so smooth on the road. I do not feel like I am driving a SUV at all. I love all the features. People stare at this truck when I get out of it. In my opinion, this looks so much better than it's counterpart, Ford Explorer. I am hoping to enjoy it for many years to come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th May, 2007

2004 Mercury Mountaineer Premier AWD 4.6L from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.6L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance34700 miles

Summary:

Great job

Faults:

One failure, the A/C blew a seal which was repaired under warranty. No other issues.

General Comments:

This vehicle is the best in class and very comfortable. In the rocky mountains this vehicle shines in winter slogging through ice and snow without a hiccup, always in full control.

During the summer it pulls our 5200 lb boat with ease. Never fails to pull out of a steep slippery boat ramp without wheel spin. The truck has a very tight turning radius which helps in tight spaces.

I could not ask for a better performing 7 passenger SUV. If only for a few more cubic feet of storage, but that means stepping up to a full size SUV.

Best purchase of the past 8 vehicles owned, foreign or domestic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews