1988 Mercury Sable LS 3.0L Vulcan EFI from North America

Summary:

Awesome car! With a price

Faults:

When I first bought the car, the power steering return line burst ($45, I replaced it myself) within one hour of driving it off the car lot.

Then I had to replace the front disk brakes ($200) at 115,000 miles.

The front drivers seat brackets that bolt the seat to the floor broke at 115,000 miles. So it rocked like a rocking chair.

Alternator went bad, had to be replaced ($175) at 115,500 miles.

Then I had to replace the speedometer ($500), it was five miles an hour ahead, that means that if I'm going 55 it shows 60.

For the last 3,000 miles it had an electrical problem, where the battery was not getting charged. So I replaced everything under the hood, voltage regulator, alternator again, battery cables, starter solenoid ($650). It still wasn't charging, I ended up charging the battery every night, and would only last three hours per charge. The whole problem was that my parts dealer gave me a bad voltage regulator!

After that the car ran great!

General Comments:

Very nice car for how old it is. I just wish the controls were better placed, and a little more power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2009

1988 Mercury Sable GL 3.0L OHV V6 from North America

Summary:

Will by another one without a second thought!

Faults:

Return line for the power steering was leaking when first bought it. 2008. Had that repaired for about $45.

Driver's side CV joint is bad, the CV joint boot is badly worn. 2008.

Had been fixed for $251.31.

General Comments:

This is much better than the Ford Taurus GL 3.0L V6 I had previously owned.

The ride is extremely comfortable, gas mileage is really good on the highway, the gas gauge needle barely moves!

The interior is very quiet for the age of this car.

Sure it had its problems, they were easily fixed, and what do you expect of a car this age?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2008

1988 Mercury Sable LS 3.8 Liter from North America

Summary:

Would not recommend, unless you have the $$$

Faults:

When I received the car, nothing except a new battery. Elder people owned the car, so, we all know how this story goes.

Took the car on a long trip to vegas, ran cherry before we left. when we got there, dropped coolant. on the way back it died in the middle of the freeway.

Had Rack and pinion replaced, Alternator.

Had to disconnect the horn, it was causing a short.

Alternator caught on fire.

Transmission blew.

Had to replace fuel pump, ($600)

Electrical shortages that caused blinkers to not work.

Went through 7 serpentine belts

3 alternators.

Cooling fan either didn't work or ran constantly.

General Comments:

I guess the only good things were it was great to drive when it was only cold, and first started in the morning, other than that it was sluggish.

Seats wore badly by the time I had received it, dash board cracked bad.

Spacious. comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th January, 2008

1988 Mercury Sable LE V6 3.0 from North America

Summary:

Could be a better made car

Faults:

Turn signals, alternator, steering leaks like crazy, transmission leaks, dashboard cracks, UV joints.

General Comments:

This car has pretty good acceleration and power, it has good handling and control. it's a pretty comfortable ride, the seats are nice and the suspension is good. I hate the transmission though, like accelerating while turning it will just "UN-hook" and rev like its in neutral.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

1988 Mercury Sable GS 3.8 V6 from North America

Summary:

Rock solid engine, but it'll do you no good

Faults:

Lets see, where should I begin? How about:

Stuff that has broken or had to be repaired/replaced: CV axles, O-2 sensor, fuel pump relay, tires, battery, alternator, alternator relay, power steering pump, oil pump, water pump, fuse boxes, etc, etc, etc.

General Comments:

It broke down again the other day!!! Not again, what a headache! The engine itself is still good, good acceleration, but the car has to start before it accelerates!!! Argh!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th August, 2002

1988 Mercury Sable LS V6 3.0 from North America

Summary:

For masochists and charity for Ford devotees

Faults:

First, electronics of ignition went off, one week after purchase.

Power steering pump needed to be replaced.

Power steering rack and pinion leaks to this day, but only occasionally the fluid must be added.

Water pump needed to be replaced.

Alternator needed to be replaced. New/Refurbished one went off after six months. Paid $140 for repair of the "new" one.

Starter needed to be replaced. Worn off.

Starter coil relay went bad. It costs only $10 but due to its role - it fried my starter coil before I replaced the relay (so $10 for the relay + over $100...)

Small stuff: Thermostat went bad. Spark plug cables. Both cooling water hoses. Its like routine maintenance, nothing serious, but adds costs.

Turn lights have problems, sometimes do not go on: need to shake ignition switch... :)

Automatic transmission was going more and more bad for the last year and finally failed completely. Only parking and neutral works.

General Comments:

The car is comfortable inside and engine is fair, but here ends its superiority. Its parts are bad. Replaced power steering pump soon became loud again, hopefully worked and did not cause more leak as the old one. Replaced alternator instead of helping things caused more problems - short circuit inside. Starters...eh. Coil relay gets jammed with costly repair consequences. Car lacked power probably due to weak transmission. Transmission: refurbished one costs $1,500, labor $400 = $1,900 total. Bye Sable, rest in peace with 142,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st July, 2002

1988 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

A slow, but decent family car that has a short lifespan.

Faults:

The radiator hose decided to disconnect; though it was cool to see the car emitting a huge cloud of steam.

The powerless V-6 gave no acceleration.

It handled poorly.

The rear window rattled.

You could turn the ignition without a key.

At about 140000, many problems started almost simultaneously:

Brakes died.

Transmission died.

Engine wore-out.

A/C died.

Lots of rust formed. Lots.

General Comments:

It was a decent family car for the short lifespan.

The seats were fairly comfortable.

The dash was well laid-out.

It could hold 3 car seats in the back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2002

1988 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 from North America

Summary:

If you can't afford a SHO...

Faults:

I have replaced the alternator and the battery.

General Comments:

I have owned this car for about 5 months. It is an excellent piece of machinery. The person who owned it before me was my cousin and the only problems he had were general maintenance and a couple of wiring problems.

It is underpowered for the size of the car, but it handles like a sports car.

I have only spent $90 in maintenance for the 35,000 miles I have driven it, which, in my opinion, is pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2000

1988 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 Litre V6:183ci from North America

Faults:

Other than general maintenance, at 140,000 miles the fuel pump, and the cruise control quit working.

General Maintenance consisting of belts, hoses, filters, tires and brakes. The car now has 142,000 miles on it.

General Comments:

I really enjoy the heated windshield, premium sound system, digital dashboard, and power everything! I have put 225 60 H/R 15" Firestone Firehawk SH30 tires on it and now it handles like a SHO! The only thing I dislike is the engine. I can't really complain though. Although it is underpowered, it's still strong at 140,000 miles. Very, very reliable engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 1998