1991 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1991 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.3 / 10
Distance when acquired171000 kilometres
Most recent distance259000 kilometres
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

This car costs more than my wife

Faults:

The back breaks seized. The drive axle snapped in two. The exhaust system fell off at the manifold. All the doors leak, and it rotted the wiring under the carpet, which left me stranded twice.

None of the windows roll down and the power door locks don't work. The speedometer bounces back and forth causing me to use the RPM gage to guess my speed.

General Comments:

The only thing I can really say that I like about my sable is it has the best heater in any vehicle I have ever owned.

Also it is really good on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

1991 Mercury Sable GS Station 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.8 / 10
Distance when acquired141000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi Colt

Summary:

The best renunciation you can ever make

Faults:

5 miles after I owned the car actually on the way back home from the dealer oil pump broke ($400).

My car stinks and smokes, because oil from the motor and grease from the drive shaft drops on the converter below.

My engine suspension broke. More oil came up. New axis and new engine suspension made $370.

Axis boot on the left side broke. Grease from the ball bearing flows on the brakes and radiators. Now it smokes after each break.

The engine makes screeching sounds creakings come from the suspension.

AC does not work from the beginning.

Corrosion is the best buddy of its body.

The car begins to vibrate by 70 mph.

General Comments:

This car's handling is worst then your mams sofa's.

Every time you accelerate, you think the engine will go flying.

However there is enough space for a surfboard and 8 people inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd October, 2002

14th Jan 2003, 22:24

I think you purshased a car that was unfortunately almost burned out and due for major repairs. My advice to you is to have any cars you intent to purshase inspected at your local garage. At your cost of course, but $60 to find out this car needs $1000 in repairs is a small price to pay.

Good luck from Canada.

3rd Jun 2004, 18:30

You might be.. a woman, not much of a redneck. The engine does NOT have a suspension, there is NO such thing as an axis or an axis boot, and that oil probably wasnt coming from the engine. The 3.0 is much better than that. Maybe the water getting in your ears when surfing is eating brain cells..

1991 Mercury Sable GS 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired93000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A definite full size luxury vehicle

Faults:

I recently purchased this car from used dealership. I traded in my Toyota which had over 225,000 miles.

So far I have not really noticed any major defects, the person that had it before has maintained the vehicle well.

That is the key to the performance and reliability of any car.

TheTtoyota interior fell apart quickly, where as this one looks to have held strong.

General Comments:

I know that my Toyota engine seemed to have held on for a long while, but the exterior of the car and interior was shot quickly.

It was never in a wreck, but seemed to lose its lustre on its own.

I am 6'1" and my 11 year old is 5'1", so it was time to get something with more space.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th January, 2002

31st May 2006, 08:00

Um... is this a review for a Toyota or a Mercury??? You said more about Toyota than Mercury.

1991 Mercury Sable GL V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V-6 Automatic
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Cheaply made luxury

Faults:

Head-gasket blew around 90,000.

Motorized mirrors work at times.

Brakes wear quickly.

Cheap paint job.

Rear passenger door is so loose, the bolt has to be re-tightened all the time.

"Check engine" light is on all the time, that it has become normal.

General Comments:

The Mercury Sable is a step up from the Ford Taurus. Mercury "tries" to impress. My mom drives a Mercury Sable. I thought I would comment on it, since I ride around in the car all the time.

The biggest gripe I have with the car is the fact that the car blew a head-gasket around 90,000 miles. I drive a 1986 Toyota Corolla. (I realize that Toyota Corolla's and Mercury Sable's are two different cars with two different price tags).

My 1986 Corolla has 201,000 miles at this time, and it has never had any major problems. EVER!

I find it hard to comprehend the fact that a nice looking car like a Mercury Sable, which our family uses all the time, would have such a major engine problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th February, 2001

8th Jul 2001, 16:49

After 42,000 big miles on my 1991 Sable back in 1997, I had to plunk down $1500 for transmission repairs. Granted, I do not drive the average 10,000 miles per year, but come on Ford - $1500 in repairs for a sable transmission with 42,000 miles - give me a break! No wonder the imports are scaring the American dealers - you can depend on them because the Toyota, Honda and other import people want to keep you happy. What a concept!

Average review marks: 6.1 / 10, based on 8 reviews