1994 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Mercury Sable GS 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired109000 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

An excellent family car that is economical, but not cheap

Faults:

All of the spark plugs and plug wires had to be replaced at 110,000 miles. I believe this is just regular maintenance, though.

The muffler fell off at 153,000 miles, but I think that was because my husband was drove it through a field.

The grille lights burn out frequently, and are difficult to replace.

General Comments:

The car handles very well in all types of weather, and the anti-lock brakes are a plus.

It rides comfortably, and is roomy enough for a family of four.

The trunk space is ample.

With periodic maintenance, I think my Sable will be good for at least another 60,000 miles (if not more).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2002

1994 Mercury Sable GS 3.8 OHV from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 OHV Don't Know
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

A high power and dependable car

Faults:

Just a starter and transmission as well as rust and a leaking driver side window and door.

General Comments:

I love the power and take off as well as the smooth ride and power options on the car. However, the 3.8L engine is a gas sucker and front alinement is easily messed up if you hit a curb or pot hole.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th April, 2002

1994 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10
Distance when acquired53000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Summary:

Good car, just bad transmission

Faults:

Just found out that the transmission needs to be rebuilt at a cost of $1600.

Water pump blew at 68,000 miles.

Passenger window will not roll up from passenger side. Driver's door must be open all the way to be able to roll it up.

Fuel cylanoid went out at 63,000 miles. Took over $300 first til we found the problem.

Hazard light switch has a short that makes the turn signals, cruise control and hazard lights not work.

General Comments:

Loved the size of the trunk. Couldn't ask for anymore room.

Wish the transmission wouldn't have gone out.

I really enjoyed owning this car.

Very comfortable to ride in on long trips. Even the kids agree.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th June, 2001

1994 Mercury Sable GS wagon from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired33000 miles
Most recent distance108000 miles
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A dependable, sturdy car at a reasonable price

Faults:

100,000 miles - water pump replaced.

Door seals worn (originals) and leaky.

Right front passenger door lock switch replaced once.

Have gone through lots of bulbs for the front "teeth" (running lights). Other bulbs last lots longer.

Steering wheel wiring must be faulty - since 50,000 miles or so cannot use turn signal if windshield wipers are on - the wipers will stop! Cruise control works intermittently - found out if a brake/tail lamp is out it goes out then too!

General Comments:

Love it. If they still made wagons that looked and ran this nicely, I'd buy another! This one has been through many miles and 6 kids and still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th June, 2001

1994 Mercury Sable GS 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance100400 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Very reliable if properly maintained

Faults:

Transmission went out at 80,000 miles - dealer had a new transmission installed and the car was back on road within 24 hours.

2 of 4 ower window motors and the power seat did not work smoothly (per the 1st owner's maintenance records) - dealer corrected.

Right rear power window motor went out at 90,000 miles - was very easy to replace.

General Comments:

The car is too heavy for this engine, but gets decent mileage.

Even with the transmission problem, this has been a very reliable car and I anticipate it will go another 100,000 miles.

Wish it had the 3.8L for the power, but otherwise a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2001

26th Nov 2001, 16:45

Our passenger back window went out too. Our drivers back door won't lock or unlock w/power locks. The looks on the door won't work anymore w/the key.

The drivers door hinge on the frame, moves around and around. It's been a good car, other wise.

9th Mar 2003, 12:41

I have 1994 Sable. Engine has gone bad at 64000 miles. It passed Arizonw Smog check 3 months ago. It had oil. Last night on 8th March 2003 it threw a rod in the engine. I got towed to Pep Boys. I wonder how can I get Mercutry to fix/replace engine. Engine came bad from Factory. I had heard 1993/1994 Ford Taurus/Sable had Engine problem. Please help at e-mail: sprasad@rbf.com.

29th Jul 2004, 02:36

I have a 95 Mercury Sable GS and let me just say that I have had nothing, but tranmission problems.

I will never buy another car made by that Manufacturer again.

22nd May 2005, 03:46

Oh... you don't wish you had the 3.8 liter.. head gasket problems aplenty. I've had relatively few problems with my 3.0 liter Sable other than rebuilding the tranny at 120,000. Oh, passenger side doesn't work w/key, and hinge on driver door is "loose".. door doesn't stay open on it's own unless the car is pointed downhill on a slope..

24th Aug 2009, 22:57

I love my 1994 Mercury Sable Wagon. It's 15 years old now, but still runs great. I only have like 85k original miles in it. Everything works well except for the keyless entry, which I really don't care if I have it or not.

I feel very safe when I am in this car.

I just love it!!!

26th Dec 2009, 23:50

A curse on the 3.8 liter V6! Many good cars are rusting in peace because of it... The 3.0 may seem underpowered to some, but it will drive forever. I love my Sable. It's just over 252,000 kilometers, and going strong. The only real major problem I've had was the steering rack. It had a slow leak for a while, and unlike other Taurus/Sables my parents have owned power steering sealer didn't fix it, and it eventually leaked like a faucet. 600 bucks to replace. Other than that, pretty tough, safe car. Even with the glitches that have come up, it's almost 15 years old. I don't care if a couple of power windows or power locks don't work.

1994 Mercury Sable LX 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carVolvo 240

Summary:

Looks nice, piece of crap

Faults:

Head gasket x2, 3rd time on rebuilt.

Transmission failure at 60k and on 60k in a used transmission.

Rotor problems, engine mounts, body mounts.

Short in cruise (could not shut it off).

Short in the A/C.

Body, leather interior and exhaust have been excellent.

MPG good.

If the engine and drive train were better designed, I'd keep it!.

General Comments:

Ford knew of the transmission problems and did little.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2000

11th Jun 2001, 19:00

I have a '94 Sable LS, and recently experienced seemingly similar transmission problems. As you state, Ford engineers knew of problems with AXOD/AOD-E transmission as early as 1986 - but did nothing!

I'm calling tommorrow to act initiate arbitration proceedings.

Drive safely.

Roger Crane

57 Forest Hill Crescent

Fonthill, ON

L0S 1E1 Canada

RogerWLR@AOL.com

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews