2000 Mercury Sable Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2000 Mercury Sable GS V6 OHV from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission V6 OHV Automatic
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance243000 miles
Previous carFord Bronco

Summary:

I love it and will buy another someday

Faults:

Coolant bottle at 100,000. Transmission at 150,000. Cooling fan at 200,000. Water pump at 235,000.

General Comments:

I love this car. I rented a mercury sable and after the first 10 seconds I liked it and after driving for 1 month I loved it. I bought one and seem to be obsessed with how far will it go.

Maintenance is the key. I do it all myself. If it runs different, sounds different or acts different I take care of it. I drive approximately 40000 miles a year and I can't afford to break down. I change the oil every 60 days or 5000 miles and air filter every other time. I also spray out the intake manifold (I also use a bottle brush to really get in there) with cleaner, the IAC and mass airflow sensor about 3 time a year. Changed plugs and wires at 125,000 and again at 240,000 (Spend money, use good ones). Additionally, I try to always use Shell gas, Castrol Oil and a gas additive called Sea Foam.

The biggest mystery to date was the heat. I had none. It had deteriorated over the passed 2 years to none. I flushed, but didn't help. Then after closer inspection I noticed a bypass over the heater core. I pinched it off with vise grips and flushed again from thermostat to water pump. (Take the hoses off first then flush from one to the other). Man the rust that came out. Once clear I reinstalled the hoses, topped off the antifreeze and fired it up. I have all the heat I need now. Pass this on, it seems to be a mystery to a lot of people. The bypass keeps the car from overheating even after the heater core is plugged.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2008

2000 Mercury Sable LS 3.0 DOHC from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired131130 miles
Most recent distance131400 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Had to have it, and I got it

Faults:

Manifold gasket set had to be replaced within the first week of purchase of the car.

Engine makes a rattling noise when you start, and sounds like an air leak when you go into drive after starting.

General Comments:

Love it, nice ride, comfortable, very good for 6 years old, but not worth fixing a week after you get it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2006

2000 Mercury Sable GS Wagon 3.0 Vulcan from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0 Vulcan Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance111520 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

This car handles like it should cost a lot more

Faults:

Nothing Yet.

General Comments:

All in all, this has been a great car.

We bought it used for $3,500.

It was well taken care of and does not leak one bit (which is unusual given the mileage).

We actually turned down a new Sable when my wife was looking for a new car. We settled on an Impala because the trunk on the Sable had a small opening and would not allow us to put our stroller in. This is not an issue with the wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2006

2000 Mercury Sable LS PREM 24v V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 24v V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles

Summary:

A ton of car for the money!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A ton of car for the money, all the features of a Lincoln for pocket change, great pwr, but still gets good mpg, awesome Mach radio, great 5 star crash test, nice ride, nice int... no "real" problems yet. People who post about bad battery are funny, its the cars fault that the battery failed ha! or I had to fix the brakes because the pads were worn...mmmkay.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th October, 2005

2000 Mercury Sable V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.4 / 10
Distance when acquired1000 miles
Most recent distance27000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

One of the worst cars on the planet

Faults:

I hate that car. One month later after I got it, the battery died. I had/ to take my wife's caravan to work for two days with me. I got a new battery on the Sable. At 20,000 miles it was hard to turn the wheel. My sun roof broke at 26,000 miles. I had to replace light bulbs six times. At 27,000 miles the engine broke down. The dealer could not fix it. It was still under warranty thank God. When it broke down I said good. That car is a dumpster on wheels.

General Comments:

I traded in a 1999 Camry for that Sable. My wife's 1998 Dodge grand caravan works and runs better than that Sable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th June, 2005

14th Jun 2005, 12:01

The steering problem you had might have been caused because you were running low on power steering fluid. As for the engine problem, I find it hard to believe that your entire engine failed at that mileage you described. Did you ever take in the car for maintanence?

2000 Mercury Sable LS Premium 3 liter 24 Valve from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3 liter 24 Valve Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2500 miles
Most recent distance89500 miles
Previous carMercury Sable

Summary:

Best kept secret for value and fun driving

Faults:

The wiper motor was recalled and replaced at about 25K miles.

The adjustable petals were adjusted.

General Comments:

This car is very responsive, has good acceleration and handling.

Leather interior, feel and layout is comparable to European luxury performance sedans.

Reliability has been favorable. I plan to put another 90K on the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2003

2000 Mercury Sable LS Prem 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Most recent distance5500 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A luxury yet sporty car that everyone will enjoy!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I feel they have done a great job on this model this year. The ride is quiet, smooth and the turning is precise.

I also like the safty features this year ie. side air bags, ABS and traction control.

The instrument panels are easy to use and convenient.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 11 reviews