1992 Mercury Topaz Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1992 Mercury Topaz GS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance79545 miles

Summary:

Reliable and fun to drive

Faults:

Rear interior door handle (my fault)

Starter (happened this year). Not bad for a 10 year old car.

General Comments:

Great car, reliable and has good performance. Handling is pretty good. The V6 is a great engine for this car. Still runs and looks like new and it has been through bad winter weather. It's never left me stranded and has never had any major problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2002

1992 Mercury Topaz GS 2.3L HSC from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3L HSC Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired116000 miles
Most recent distance119000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

If you want a car that looks like a Thunderbird and performs like a Kia, then this is the one

Faults:

Mostly just a bunch of "used car wear".

I mean, like vibrations, stained carpet, etc.

The radiator went out two weeks after I bought it. I replaced that and a heater hose.

General Comments:

I think the car is somewhat quick. Though, with its weight, it slides all around on the road. The things I've done to this car is as follows:

K&N Filter charger

2.5 inch exhaust

Glass-Packed Free-Flow Muffler

High-Flow Super-Capacity Cat. Converter

Custom-ed Lift Kit.

I think the car would be real cool if it had the V-6. With everything I've done to it, it still lags in my opinion of power. This car is extremely dangerous at high speed. I caution everyone.

I've since then installed a stereo system:

Pioneer CD Player

6X9 rear Speakers

300 Watt Jenson Amp

450 Watt Jenson Sub-woofer.

It beats but not how I want it. The car's design makes it sound hollow.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th November, 2001

9th Jul 2002, 20:56

I have a 94 mercury topaz and want to know how you put the turbo on it, and what kind of turbo it was because I have been looking to put one on mine. please E-mail me to tell me how. slammedmercury@yahoo.com Thanks!

1992 Mercury Topaz GS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired35000 miles
Most recent distance74300 miles
Previous carChevrolet Citation

Summary:

It's reliable, and while it's not a Porsche, it performs well (with the V6) and handles well

Faults:

The rear inside door handle broke, but it was my fault.

General Comments:

This car has good performance. The four-cylinder Topaz, from what I hear, is a lot slower at acceleration.

I've never had any problems with it and it looks great. All I've done is what the manual says. I know other people with the same car and they all say it's pretty reliable too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

19th Apr 2001, 20:18

I wrote this review and I forgot something. Although the speedometer only goes to 85 (which isn't marked numerically) it has a top speed of 105 maybe 110. I suspect it is limited by the computer. But since it's a V6 it can't be much slower. The Ford Escort has a top speed of 105 (computer limited) and it's a 4 cylinder.

5th Jun 2001, 16:53

I bought my very first own car last year, and it's a used 1992 Mercury Topaz GS. It's in very good shape, except for the rust.. Well, rust is one of the worst enemies of FORD cars. So my exhaust system will have to be changed pretty soon because it really has a Porsche sound for now :oP.

That's pretty much it, so one word to every FORD car owners: Live with the rust or buy another brand :oP.

Berurier × |\| apki |/|

kanrabat@yahoo.com.

21st Jun 2001, 23:59

I wrote the original review. I read the second comment and I have to say I have had no rust and the car is 9 years old. I just polish and wax it. To many people blame the material on the car for rust, but they never wash polish and wax like the manual says. It only takes about 45 min. to wash polish and wax. I do it on the weekend. When it's too hot, take it to a touchless car wash.

27th Jul 2001, 18:43

Just an update. I wrote the original review. Just hit 76,050 miles and still no trouble. I had it taken in for an oil change recetly and had some new tires put on it. I plan to take a road trip in my Topaz in the coming week.

15th Aug 2007, 14:56

I used to own a 92 Mercury Topaz.

Though I did put a lot of money into it for repairs, I loved that car. It drove well and had great handling.

I drive a 94 Chrysler Concorde now, but occasionally miss the Topaz. I only got rid of it because of an accident (rear ender).

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews