1994 Mercury Topaz Reviews - Page 5 of 5

1994 Mercury Topaz GS 2.3 liter four cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 liter four cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A reliable car that can take a beating and still perform well

Faults:

Consumes a lot of oil.

Some electrical problems.

Replaced both tie-rods.

General Comments:

In my opinion, this is a super-car. I have never seen a car that is never taken care of like it should be, perform so well.

It doesn't say much for me, but I haven't given the car an oil change for about a year. Although, it leaks oil enough that I have to put some in every couple of weeks.

For the length of the time that I have had it, I have never had the transmission fluid changed. Still, the car changes gears as well as the day I bought it.

I have even had the car airborne. It wasn't very high, but the car never bottomed out when I landed, and the only thing I had to replace were the tie-rods.

When it comes to performance, this car is no slouch. It accelerates well all the way to 90 miles per hour (I've never had it any faster than that, the speedometer needle may have broken off). I have also been around a few bends in this car, and never once did I think that I was going to slide off the road.

If you want a car that doesn't cost much, but performs well even after putting it through years of abuse, this is the car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th August, 2001

6th Jul 2003, 00:20

I have had my topaz up to 100 and the needle did not break ;). how ever my handling is very be the the car has a terrible pull and I always think I might slide off the road. also I have a terrible clunking noise when I turn sometimes. would I buy another one? in a heartbeat. this car is a rock it's always started, although it idles rough sometimes there is no rust and I beat this thing daily.

1994 Mercury Topaz GS 3.0 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired112000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Well performing car with the potential to be even faster

Faults:

The front brakes went out.

General Comments:

This car is quick to accelerate with the performance headers, tip, glass pack exhaust, and raised rear spoiler.

Very comfortable with power everything.

Reliable and wins many races with cars twice the price of the Topaz.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

1994 Mercury Topaz 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Build to withstand ANYTHING!

Faults:

A few minor things have been broken. Mostly by me, eg headlight, door handle, mirror... etc.

Arm-rest leather cracked because of the hot/cold weather.

Nothing major has ever gone wrong with this car.

General Comments:

I have had this car for a LONG time, and I can tell you that it's definitely not a very fast supercar.

But if you're looking for one that has more reliability than a tank, then this is the one for you! For the last two years I made the mistake of lending it to a friend while I was on vacation. He ran the hell out if it! He never changed the oil or the filter, never topped up ANY fluids. The thing had 1/3 of radiator fluid left! And you know what? I couldn't even tell the difference from when I bought it. This car was meant to have the heck beaten out of it and it will keep coming back for more! A cat might have 9 lives but this thing will out live anything you put it through.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th May, 2001

31st Mar 2005, 19:59

Great review, I'm getting a 94 four door mercury topaz tommorow 04/01/05. This review was very encouraging...

1994 Mercury Topaz GS 3.0 V6 Supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 V6 Supercharged Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired59000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Voyager

Summary:

Fastest Tempo/Topaz around!

Faults:

Nothing!! Great car!

General Comments:

Well let's say that this is one fast car!! I can beat the living hell out of Camaros and Mustangs, as a matter of fact I beat one last night!!

This car is blue with white GTS racing stripes and a Monza tip and gets to 60 in about 5 and a half secs. Any cars that WANNA RACE??? JUST BRING IT!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

3rd Jan 2001, 11:37

You are the coolest person in the world, I am a fellow Topaz enthusiast and hearing the specs on your car makes me cry in happiness. Where can I find a supercharged Topaz is my question to you though?

12th Mar 2001, 14:06

I am a mechanic and one day decide to have some fun with my 1993 Topaz. It used to have a 2.3 liter I-4 and was slow as can be. So I decided to drop in a Super charged 5.0 liter V-8 and on top of that nitrous oxide. I have to use old race car slicks on the front for grip and had to strengthen the transmission so I wouldn't destroy it. I estimate it runs maybe 640 horsepower from the front wheels.

27th Jul 2001, 17:20

That brings a tear to my eye.

4th Jun 2003, 17:58

I am also a huge Topaz fan. I currently own a 1986 Topaz GS and as old as it is, I've beaten every single car I've come up against (brand new Trans Am, Sunfire, etc.) and I haven't made any mods to it! They can take such a beating and yet it only seems to make them go faster! I love it when people are looking at my car laughing, until they catch up to me a block later with their jaws on the floor!!

29th Dec 2003, 06:55

WRT the above comments, hard to decide which is more ludicrous: putting a "supercharged" V8 in a Topaz or beating a "new Trans Am" with a 2.3 4-cylinder.

Apparently when you buy a Topaz you move into another dimension where the above might actually be possible.

30th Aug 2005, 23:53

I would like to know, first of all, where you found a front wheel drive 5.0? Also where you found the extra room for the conversion. Your engine bay must be different from mine. The topaz that I have is the 2.3 liter. It is incredibly slow, but also incredibly durable. Very dependable, but could use a front wheel drive 5.0liter v-8. COME ON, Really now.

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 18 reviews