1988 Mercury Tracer Reviews

1988 Mercury Tracer Hatchback 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired123000 miles
Most recent distance321900 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

Love this car, plan to see 500000 miles

Faults:

Bought used, basic wear and tear.

Live in the mountains of western North Carolina.

3rd gear went out at 210000, engine at 280000. Replaced both for 150; labor not included.

General Comments:

Very cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2009

1988 Mercury Tracer 1.6 EFI from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance128830 miles
Previous carFord F100

Summary:

This car is a great investment.

Faults:

My T-Racer has burned a little oil since the day I bought it. I can smell the oil in the exhaust, so I know the rings must have dried out while it sat before I bought it.

The exhaust has a hole in it, which makes it loud inside.

The air-conditioning needs to be recharged.

General Comments:

This T-Racer is surprisingly quick for what it is. It's no mustang, but it's weight is light enough that a four cylinder is sufficient power.

This car is very reliable and is great on gas. My last truck got eight miles to the gallon, this gets thirty-five.

This car is just crappy enough to not draw attention, but solid enough to be a nice ride.

This car cost me five-hundred dollars and was worth every penny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

10th Feb 2005, 07:28

Rings don't dry out. They do wear out. Valve stem seals harden after a while and stop sealing.

On your car, one or both of these could be causing your oil burning.

1988 Mercury Tracer 1.6 fuel injected 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 fuel injected 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance247000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

This is a very dependable hatch back

Faults:

The alternator stopped working at 184,000 miles. Also, the water pump went out around the same time.

General Comments:

I bought this car about 14 years ago. It is a gas saver that is why I have kept it this long. It still runs pretty good and maintenance is pretty cheap. I have driven it too many places, and it has not stalled or given me any problems. Mercury or Mazda, whoever made car, really did a great job with this low priced, dependable little hatchback. But at this time, Mercury, Ford, and Mazda have discontinued production of replacement parts. I have tried to replace the fog-lights or front side markers, but I cannot find new parts. They don't make them like they used to! Now the Mini Cooper has the qualities that consumers look for in a small car, but the price-tag is not appealing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1988 Mercury Tracer Station Wagon 1.6 fuel injected 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 fuel injected 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired160000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles

Summary:

This car is an excellent invention

Faults:

The engine went out at 205,012 miles.

The transmission went out at 208,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has to be the best car I have ever owned.

I really didn't like Ford at first, but this car did change my mind.

I only paid $800 for it, but it didn't have any major problems until I hit the 205,000 miles mark.

I have owned it for 4 years and truly I didn't think it would last this long.

And it goes pretty fast to be a station wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2004

1988 Mercury Tracer from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

The hatchback has spirit

Faults:

Struts and springs rusted badly

Fuel tank currently leaks

Radiator occasionally leaks

One fit of engine stalling

Wheel bearings went bad

Rusty exhaust system in the middle years.

General Comments:

My grandmother bought this car new and handed it down to me when I turned 16.

Some neglect and four years of rare use while I was in college took its toll, so in the last Minnesota winter I had to put $3000 into it to keep it from falling apart at the seams.

Overall, though, it's been a solid car.

Good fuel economy.

Fun to drive (fun like a dune buggy, not like a sports car).

It was once very reliable, and while frustrating at times, the little hatchback (with moving van-like trunk space) has charm and I'll hate to get rid of it, but I think the time has come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

1988 Mercury Tracer 1.6 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired159000 miles
Most recent distance172000 miles
Previous carSaturn SL

Summary:

A very solid older car

Faults:

Timing belt was noisy when I got the car. I replaced it and it was solved.

Interior creeks.

Valve Cover gasket leaks.

General Comments:

I love this little car. I bought it in November as a winter beater for $1000 in colorado and it came with every option but power windows. I drive it from Grand Rapids, MI to detroit and back 3 times a week at 80 mph and it drives almost like new.

Ford/Mazda did very well with this little guy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 6 reviews