1988 Mercury Tracer Hatchback 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Love this car, plan to see 500000 miles

Faults:

Bought used, basic wear and tear.

Live in the mountains of western North Carolina.

3rd gear went out at 210000, engine at 280000. Replaced both for 150; labor not included.

General Comments:

Very cheap to run.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2009

1988 Mercury Tracer 1.6 EFI from North America

Summary:

This car is a great investment.

Faults:

My T-Racer has burned a little oil since the day I bought it. I can smell the oil in the exhaust, so I know the rings must have dried out while it sat before I bought it.

The exhaust has a hole in it, which makes it loud inside.

The air-conditioning needs to be recharged.

General Comments:

This T-Racer is surprisingly quick for what it is. It's no mustang, but it's weight is light enough that a four cylinder is sufficient power.

This car is very reliable and is great on gas. My last truck got eight miles to the gallon, this gets thirty-five.

This car is just crappy enough to not draw attention, but solid enough to be a nice ride.

This car cost me five-hundred dollars and was worth every penny.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th February, 2005

10th Feb 2005, 07:28

Rings don't dry out. They do wear out. Valve stem seals harden after a while and stop sealing.

On your car, one or both of these could be causing your oil burning.

1988 Mercury Tracer 1.6 fuel injected 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

This is a very dependable hatch back

Faults:

The alternator stopped working at 184,000 miles. Also, the water pump went out around the same time.

General Comments:

I bought this car about 14 years ago. It is a gas saver that is why I have kept it this long. It still runs pretty good and maintenance is pretty cheap. I have driven it too many places, and it has not stalled or given me any problems. Mercury or Mazda, whoever made car, really did a great job with this low priced, dependable little hatchback. But at this time, Mercury, Ford, and Mazda have discontinued production of replacement parts. I have tried to replace the fog-lights or front side markers, but I cannot find new parts. They don't make them like they used to! Now the Mini Cooper has the qualities that consumers look for in a small car, but the price-tag is not appealing.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2004

1988 Mercury Tracer Station Wagon 1.6 fuel injected 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

This car is an excellent invention

Faults:

The engine went out at 205,012 miles.

The transmission went out at 208,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has to be the best car I have ever owned.

I really didn't like Ford at first, but this car did change my mind.

I only paid $800 for it, but it didn't have any major problems until I hit the 205,000 miles mark.

I have owned it for 4 years and truly I didn't think it would last this long.

And it goes pretty fast to be a station wagon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th September, 2004

1988 Mercury Tracer from North America

Summary:

The hatchback has spirit

Faults:

Struts and springs rusted badly

Fuel tank currently leaks

Radiator occasionally leaks

One fit of engine stalling

Wheel bearings went bad

Rusty exhaust system in the middle years.

General Comments:

My grandmother bought this car new and handed it down to me when I turned 16.

Some neglect and four years of rare use while I was in college took its toll, so in the last Minnesota winter I had to put $3000 into it to keep it from falling apart at the seams.

Overall, though, it's been a solid car.

Good fuel economy.

Fun to drive (fun like a dune buggy, not like a sports car).

It was once very reliable, and while frustrating at times, the little hatchback (with moving van-like trunk space) has charm and I'll hate to get rid of it, but I think the time has come.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2002

1988 Mercury Tracer 1.6 EFI from North America

Summary:

A very solid older car

Faults:

Timing belt was noisy when I got the car. I replaced it and it was solved.

Interior creeks.

Valve Cover gasket leaks.

General Comments:

I love this little car. I bought it in November as a winter beater for $1000 in colorado and it came with every option but power windows. I drive it from Grand Rapids, MI to detroit and back 3 times a week at 80 mph and it drives almost like new.

Ford/Mazda did very well with this little guy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2002