1997 Mercury Tracer Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Mercury Tracer LS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance229000 miles

Summary:

Mercury... why did you quit making this incredible car?

Faults:

Replaced timing belt at 50K as recommended by Mercury. No problems otherwise until engine blew at 229K miles!

Clothes hangers are plastic... replaced once.

General Comments:

Maybe it's just me, but this car has been unbelievably fantastic! Four kids, road rep over several states, towed trailers/boats!

Feels snug and tight. Mileage was 34 up until engine let go. NO overheating, oil usage, leaks... nada! Just incredible service.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th December, 2004

16th Dec 2004, 09:54

Well tracer lover mercury decided to stop making small cars.

19th Sep 2008, 16:03

Amazing how many Tracer's died at 229,000 miles.

23rd Oct 2008, 23:14

Lots of parts on this car are interchangeable, and have all the wiring and plugs for the optional features. I found out to add power mirrors, all you have to do is bolt them on and plug them in, then simply pop out the little circle shaped panel. You will find that it already had the plug for the power mirror control switch inside, just plug your new power mirror switch in.

As for power windows and locks; same idea as the power mirrors, bolt and plug them in. You will need to replace the interior panels thou, because they are a different design.

Great car; runs smooth 32 mpg est. No problems except the A/C stopped working. Found out it was a control module thingy located under the air intake (air filter holder thingy). A dealer only part; it's very common for this problem. And you can change the instrumental cluster that has the tachometer in it. Just find one made for a car that has a manual transmission.

1997 Mercury Tracer LS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A good economy car

Faults:

The first week I had it, it started making a popping sound when you braked while turning. My mechanic never did figure this out.

The stereo kept sliding out of the dash like it wasn't anchored right.

Bulbs burned out at record speed.

It was basically a pretty good car until the transmission went out at 98,000 miles and it was time to say goodbye.

General Comments:

It was a pretty nice little car, which I would still have if the transmission had not gone out. I paid only $2400 for the car, but a new transmission was $2800, so I had to trade it in for a Honda.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2004

1997 Mercury Tracer LS from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance76200 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

This car can easily compete with cars such as the corolla/prizm

Faults:

Ceiling light and horn don't work.

General Comments:

Very zippy car. this car is ridiculously underrated by those who put foreign over domestic. even though it has 4 cyl it still has a little pick up. Extremely reliable car except I heard the electronics are all jacked up. mechanically rock solid. ideal road trip car. oil change every 2500 and fuel pump change at 70k and you will obtain at least a running car 90% of the time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th February, 2003

1997 Mercury Tracer LS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

A cute little economy car

Faults:

There is a knocking sound if you turn the wheel WHILE you're braking. It doesn't happen if you're not braking.

That's it.

General Comments:

It's an automatic, which I despise, but I got such a great deal on it that I couldn't turn it down.

It had that incredibly ignorant design with the air conditioner controls built into the stereo, so just yesterday I had a Kenwood CD player installed and I have to say, the factory speakers sound pretty darn good, especially to be FORD speakers.

I mainly bought the car because my other car is a sports car and I needed a four door for my daughter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2002

1997 Mercury Tracer LS 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance100990 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Incredibly durable and reliable, a great buy!

Faults:

Internal windsheild wiper arm detached shortly after purchase. Out of town dealer fixed this promptly under warranty. I assumed this to be a minor over sight at time of manufacture.

General Comments:

Vehicle has consistantly performed well above expectations as compared with other compact cars and their reputations.

Fuel milage is commendable, averaging 600 miles per 12 gal tank of fuel, on long trips averaging 60 to 70 miles per hour.

I admit I've abused this vehicle more than most people would, treating it more like a commercial pick-up truck rather than a family sedan. However, with timely and proper user-level maintenance, this car continues to performs as if new!

This vehicle has been in three front-end collisions in which the air bags deployed. In each incident, the car was perfectly drivable from the accident scene, sustaining only superficial damage and no occupant injuries.

The Tracer also handles well in most any weather conditions, the front-wheel drive lending itself nicely to wet and icy conditions.

One of the most suprising aspects is power. Despite sporting a 4-cylinder engine, the vehicle has no lack of passing speed and climbing power, as demonstrated nicely on a 1000 mile trip through the Colorado mountains, while loaded with nearly 150 weight pounds of cedar tent poles jutting from the trunk, in addition to 300 pounds of tent canvas strapped to the roof (using a support rack).

Comfort is somewhat of a sacrifice for the long drive, most notably in the seat tending to limit circulation in the upper legs. Though given this is obviously a vehicle built for the commute to work, a twelve hour road trip is somewhat beyond the design intentions.

Overall incredible performance for its class. My insurance company has since deemed my Tracer as salvage, but given its resilence I'll never sell!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th December, 2001

2nd Mar 2002, 22:23

My Tracer has a salvage title too.

15th Sep 2003, 13:04

I love mercury tracers. We've had it for six years its been the best car. The gas mileage is great! It's a great first car for anybody.

5th Dec 2006, 18:15

I recently bought a 1997 Mercury Tracer with an automatic transmission with 114000 on it. I was surprised by how much power it has for the mileage. The price was cheap, but the quality is good. The body and interior are like new. I have primarily owned Toyota's, but would definitely bye one of these brand new if they started to make them again. I'm going to drive it as long as I can to see how many miles I can get out of it.

10th May 2007, 14:48

I have a '97 Mercury Tracer LS and only wish I could get 50 miles to the gallon like the first writer, unfortunately I only get 23!

22nd Jan 2008, 11:30

My 1997 Tracer is going back to the dealer this coming Saturday after 8 engine misfires since I bought it 12/01/07. This CAR STINKS!!

23rd Oct 2009, 20:29

After my 2007 Chevy Malibu was repoed last May... I got a 1997 Mercury Tracer LS with 181,000 miles on it and I couldn't believe how well it ran when I bought it!! I had to replace the steering bushings on it, but all and all it's been a real good car!!!

1997 Mercury Tracer LS 1.9 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.9 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles

Summary:

Great bargain

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car outside of my general maintenance.

General Comments:

I get excellent gas mileage from my Tracer.

It's not the most comfortable car for a long journey, but it definitely holds a lot of cargo.

Great standard sound system.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2001

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 14 reviews