1967 MG Midget Review

1967 MG Midget Mark III 1.3 Liter from North America

Model year1967
Year of manufacture1967
First year of ownership1967
Most recent year of ownership1973
Engine and transmission 1.3 Liter Don't Know
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles

Summary:

There are not words vulgar enough to truly express my opinion of this car

Faults:

Without a doubt the most unreliable car anyone in my family has ever owned. Purchased new, within 35,000 miles it had cost more in repairs than it did to purchase.

General Comments:

The best thing I can say about this car is that it is so lightweight, a small child could push it when it broke down. I know this for a fact because I was a small child when my father owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th June, 2005

6th Jun 2005, 08:37

A British car built in the '60's unreliable?

Imagine that...

5th May 2006, 20:29

Sorry to hear it. My '68 gets driven 70 miles a day for my commute, and I just finished an 1100 mile road trip with no problems.

6th May 2006, 10:18

I don't understand the review. Is the poster reviewing the car as it was in 1967 or as it is today? Makes no sense.

31st May 2006, 15:08

I don't understand the review either, I would like one of these little cars and after all they are a classic car now, and have far more character than the modern metal boxes with a wheel at each corner.

28th May 2008, 21:19

I have a 67 Midget - it runs great and works well in this age of high gas prices; it is a lot easier to fill up a 7 gallon tank after driving it all week... Bought it for $2500.00 and invested another $3000.00 - besides it is a fun ride!

3rd Jun 2008, 16:16

I have owned my 1967 Midget since high school... It's been about 23 years now... Except for when I took it apart 5 years ago for a total show car restoration job, the car had never seen a tow truck. It has honestly been one of the most reliable and fun cars I have ever owned. It is for these reasons that I can forgive a few drops of oil on the garage floor...

Average review marks: 1.3 / 10, based on 1 review