2002 MG ZR Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2002 MG ZR + 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5090 miles
Previous carRover - Austin Coupe

Summary:

Sheep in wolves clothing

Faults:

Side skirts coming loose.

General Comments:

Great handling.

Windscreen and window prone to steaming up even with the blowers on.

Tailgate spoiler too easy to steal and expensive to replace:- 550 pounds.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 3rd December, 2003

23rd Dec 2003, 04:43

"Windscreen and window prone to steaming up even with the blowers on" - this can easily be rectified by sliding the dials so it's not on recirculate. A friend of mine had that problem, and even the garage never picked up on this. Soon after sliding the dial to direct air from the outside, the problem was solved.

As for the "Tailgate spoiler too easy to steal and expensive to replace:- 550 pounds", I have to agree they are expensive to buy, but not easy to steal. You can't undo it without having the boot open, so you'd have to rip it off the car, and this is likely to damage it. It's no easier to steal than bumpers, or wing mirrors off any other car...

23rd Jul 2007, 18:08

I have an MG ZR 03. The head gasket always goes on them. I hate it, and I'm going to get shot of it.

17th Nov 2007, 10:32

Get the diesel version if you want better reliability, the head gaskets are prone on the K series (petrol) but not the L series (diesel), have a bit more poke and better economy to boot.

2002 MG ZR TD 3-Door 2.0 TD from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 TD Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance32200 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Polo

Summary:

A quick diesel, with superb looks and handling to match...

Faults:

The power-steering developed a leak after 1000 miles, which left me stranded at the roadside. The free AA cover came in handy here.

Driver's door lock failed, when the small metal latch fell into the lock.

Rear seat latch failed, meaning I couldn't fold the rear seats down. Because of a parts issue I had to wait 7 months for this to be repaired, and wasn't offered any compensation.

(All these were fixed by the dealer under warranty)

General Comments:

Despite breaking down only 3 weeks after I got the car, the car has been very reliable ever since. I've now found a good dealer too, so the small problems I have had have been sorted out.

The car is very quick, and handles fantastic despite the heavy diesel engine up-front. Although a little noisy for some people, it never uses any oil, and returns over 50mpg average so is very cheap to run.

Having a rapid 0-60 time of under 10 seconds is quicker than the 2.0L Golf GTi, which is very impressive for a diesel, and makes it fun to drive.

The seats are supportive, the interior is much better than other supermini's, and it's a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2003

22nd Oct 2003, 14:59

The TD Rover is a great car and it is quick. However my mum's 1.4 Metro will waste a 2.0 Golf GTI off the lights. The latter is an insult to the badge.

15th Apr 2004, 18:44

A mate of mine was wondering if there was any diesel up-grade's for the ZR without doing to much damage to the MPG. If so can anyone please tell me how high in terms of horsepower the L series diesel can go.

2002 MG ZR 105 1.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

A boy racers Rover 25

Faults:

Front passenger interior door handle fell off. I glued it back on.

Cotton stitching on seats started to wear after 10'000 miles.

Plenty of chips on the front of the car after many motorway miles.

Wind noise above 70 mph from the passenger side window.

General Comments:

Excellent fun to drive.

Tends to over steer on tight corners.

Don't expect to get above 90mph if the car is full.

Fantastic seats, but a little high.

Interior a little dated, but nice door handle.

The stereo is fine if you are a Master of Science or under the age of 40.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2003

2002 MG ZR 105 plus 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired17 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin 200

Summary:

Not impressed

Faults:

Wind noise from Sunroof windows and both doors problem not solved yet.

Radio is causing problems through the speaker system.

Driver door panel has come off & I have been trapped in car several times.

General Comments:

I have been impressed by the handling of this car at speed.

I have had a problem with my sciatic nerve since purchasing this car and wonder if it is anything to do with the seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2003

27th Jul 2003, 11:35

If you have medical problems with your back why buy a car with such a hard sports ride?

11th Nov 2003, 12:35

I disagree with your comment, about the mg zr 105,simply on the fact that you have not wrote about the good parts of the cart that I have yet to find in other 1.4 cars of a similar prices. If you wish to survey a car then a all round perspective should be given.

31st Aug 2009, 22:26

I had a Saxo VTR; great car, but the MG is such a nice car.

People concentrate on the bad bits.

Its insurance is pants for a 1.4; higher than the VTR, but mine was looked after, serviced regularly, and it's the soundest tightest running car.

Would love it to be a little faster, anyone know best shift point as some people say rev the nuts off it, but I'm not sure.

Great little engine, just LOOK AFTER IT.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 15 reviews